We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“such a great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

beautiful surroundings, friendly staff with free coffee/tea in a building that is almost 200 years old :) a great place to camp out even in the rain! clean bathrooms and a nice bar/lounge area. many outdoor activities allow for great day trips and a cool way to see the beauty of wilderness

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Yolande D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 164 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

this place is very big so you have alot of space in the compound and it has it all...
it is very well located not far from the beach and kagoon and many activeties to offer

above all, the owner is very nice and helpfull, will help you with information and any other thing...

defenatly a place to stay for a couple of days!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here only 2 nights but would love to return. Hidden away in a lovely quiet town of Wilderness, there were some gorgeous hikes to do, and we took the canoe down to one spot and hiked the rest up to a waterfall.
The owner was very friendly and what a great cook, we had a massive breakfast that filled us up till tea time and at only 35 rand very good value.
The owner dropped us off the next night in the little town down the road so we could eat out and see the village.

Rooms were basic but comfortable and had hot showers which is always a bonus.

Thanks for a great stay.

Charlotte and Marc

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Beautiful setting, Excellent staff! Kirsty and Brendon were extremely friendly and eager to help with ideas on what to do in the area. Am upset i didn't have time to do the hikes. The bar area in the evenings is such a great vibe and an awesome place to relax and take in your days experiences. Will definately be going back to stay again soon. Close to shops and restaurants which made things alot easier! Would definately recommend it to anyone from couples or groups of friends looking for a special getaway! Must also mention that the breakfasts are delicious and excellent value for money! Keep up the great work Fairyknowe. :-)

Room Tip: The Double en - suite rooms are a must if you are a couple staying.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

stayed 3 nights in the dorm. first night the lodge was very full, lots of drunken noise from the bar and not very pleasant. also there is not really enough bathrooms close by when the place is full. the other 2 nights were a delight. very quiet and it was possible to enjoy the beautiful setting of the place. the staff/owner digby was fantastic. he really went out of his way to help, give information and make sure everyone was happy. free tea and cofee was very nice too. the place has a beautiful natural setting and the hike to the waterfall was lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JasminaSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Digby was so helpful when we arrived by showing us around, giving us information about Wilderness and its attractions and hikes, even though we aren't tourists and were only staying a night. The double en-suite was a lovely, clean subdivided cottage and the bed and linen was high quality. The breakfast in the morning was also delicious and good value for money! I highly recommend staying in WIlderness and particularly at Fairyknowe Backpackers.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Fairy Knowe Backpackers is a little heaven in Wilderness, hidden in the forest, with great atmosphere, well looked after facilities and helpful staff. I’d stay there for weeks if I could. The bar air is cozy and there is also free wifi! Ask staff for advice on what to see in the area, they'll set you up with the best!

Room Tip: The en-suit rooms are fantastic!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kl3tk1na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.3 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
680 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
4.6 mi away
7 Passes Tented Camp
7 Passes Tented Camp
#4 of 39 in Wilderness
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Wild Farm Backpakers
The Wild Farm Backpakers
#23 of 39 in Wilderness
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairy Knowe Hotel
Fairy Knowe Hotel
#22 of 57 in Wilderness
511 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mont Fleur - Wilderness
Mont Fleur - Wilderness
#29 of 57 in Wilderness
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge

Address: Dumbleton Road, Wilderness, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Wilderness
Price Range: $22 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing