We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hildesheim Guest House
Ranked #10 of 57 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2010

As a family, that just wanted to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city life, we could not have asked for more. Even our teenage daughters were so impressed with the quality of our surroundings.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerickeFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
There are newer reviews for Hildesheim Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 320 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2010

My husband and I have just overnighted at Hildesheim ,en route to Cape Town and it was a great choice, as amongst other attributes for us, it is situated half way between Port Elizabeth and Cape Town.

The setting is so peaceful and it was a pleasure to get away from the bustle of the N2.

Tony and Vanessa are very attentive hosts without being overbearing.

Our accommodation was spotlessly clean and well appointed and had great views over the surrounding countryside.

Breakfast was a feast of fresh foods, well presented and prepared.Attention to detail and quality were uppermost.

We can highly recommend this establishment to the discerning traveller. You will feel extremely comfortable and your every need will be catered for.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We couldn't have asked for a more comfortable stay of four days. Tony & Vanessa were very attentive hosts & the cottage was beautifully appointed & had everything we could have needed. The deck, with the Knysna Turacos etc, feasting on the wild figs just meters away was a birdwatchers delight. We will definately be regular visitors.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary3033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We stayed in Hildesheim Guest House last July. (A couple with two children). A beautiful place with an amazing view with luxurious large rooms and excellent breakfast. The owners of the place are very nice people. They helped us a lot in planning our trip to Kruger Park and to the Garden Route.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank new_or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

I was traveling with some extremely picky customers who were never satisfied with anything. When I saw that Hildesheim lies up in the hills at Hoekwil, I thought my customers were going to do their nuts. They didn't!

They loved the quiet, peaceful atmosphere and the wonderfully appointed rooms. Tony and Vanessa gave me a place to myself where I could get away from their complaining for a while. It was marvelous. Even my customers were happier the next day!

Loved it.

Douglas Vale

Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
1  Thank Dougvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed 2 nights on our trip through the Garden route and found Tony and Vanessa very accommodating, friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The great full English breakfasts gave us a great kick start each day!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holyportgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We stayed in a Self-catering cottage and were pleasantly surprised by the space of the family unit. Everything is exactly as their website describes. Lovely position in the quieter part of Wilderness, nestled in the valley, yet very easy to find. Rooms were clean and the linen crisp. A pity about the lack of TV signal (very snowy picture), due to being in the valley, although with such lovely surroundings, it is a shame to spend the time in front of the TV!
Tony was a wonderful host and looked after us well.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
3.2 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
3.2 mi away
Wilderness on Sea B&B and Self Catering
3.1 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#2 of 57 in Wilderness
303 reviews
1.8 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
347 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Old Trading Post
The Old Trading Post
#20 of 57 in Wilderness
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hildesheim Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hildesheim Guest House

Address: 3 Kerk Street | Hoekwil, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $46 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hildesheim Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the peaceful village of Hoekwil, only 5km from the unique Wilderness beach, Hildesheim is a Guest House offering spacious and tastefully decorated rooms. Enjoy the panoramic views of the magnificent Outeniqua Mountains from your own private deck or from the large pool set amongst the tranquil gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hildesheim Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing