We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilderheim review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hildesheim Guest House
Ranked #10 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Hilderheim review”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Tony and Vanessa are lovely hospitable and very accommodating hosts. the only comment I have is the bathroom in room 7 where I stayed. it is very cramped, difficlut to get to the basin. The rooms themselves are fine.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    72
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
179
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Hildesheim is located in the small village of Hoekwil, about 6km from the Wilderness Village, so a very good option when not wanting to stay over in the hustle and bustle of the village. The guest house in up in the mountains, in nature.

We stayed in the Honeymoon suite which was well furnished and very clean. The room is very spacious and has a king sized bed, bar fridge, ample cupboard space and a Jacuzzi with a patio door leading out to the pool/garden.

Breakfast is served every morning and one can choose exactly what you'd like for breakfast from a modest but adequate list of options.

The hosts are very friendly and helpful and can give information about restaurants and amenities in the area and will book for you.

Room Tip: B&B Rooms are very close to the swimming pool and other people around the pool may be a disturba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allenlarkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Thanks for the wonderful time we had, the place that we stayed in was very neat and the decor was beautiful, the breakfast was excellent, the welcome was done very friendly by the owner. We went to the beach one day when we got back there was lovely surprice there was roses on the bed with the word love that was really a surprice

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Beautiful and tranquil setting. Best service I've ever received in a B&B or similar establishment. We thoroughly enjoyed the service and attention to detail. Great mountain biking trails in the area! Will certainly go back there

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Corne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2014

There certainly is no better home away from home and warm hospitality. This is one of the best places you can stay while in Wilderness if you want a real quite rest, but close enough to the sea. Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RJ_Theunissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friedrichshaven
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The reception was very friendly by the owner. We got an upgrade to the family unit, but I think that the other unit is also good. Everything we needed was available the location in the country side is very quiet and you have an excellent view on the mountains. We can recommend it

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Manfred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Amazing stay at Hildesheim Guest House in the quite town of Hoekwil above the Wilderness village. The hosts Tony and Vanessa where very friendly and accommodating, the rooms are well looked after and kept immaculate, will definitely be visiting again when I come for next holiday along the Garden Route!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
3.2 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
3.1 mi away
Haus am Strand
Haus am Strand
#7 of 56 in Wilderness
376 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Boardwalk Lodge
Boardwalk Lodge
#2 of 36 in Wilderness
238 reviews
2.8 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
273 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 56 in Wilderness
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hildesheim Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hildesheim Guest House

Property: Hildesheim Guest House
Address: 3 Kerk Street | Hoekwil, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hildesheim Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the peaceful village of Hoekwil, only 5km from the unique Wilderness beach, Hildesheim is a Guest House offering spacious and tastefully decorated rooms. Enjoy the panoramic views of the magnificent Outeniqua Mountains from your own private deck or from the large pool set amongst the tranquil gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hildesheim Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing