We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hildesheim Guest House
Ranked #11 of 60 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Beautiful and tranquil setting. Best service I've ever received in a B&B or similar establishment. We thoroughly enjoyed the service and attention to detail. Great mountain biking trails in the area! Will certainly go back there

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Corne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 332 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

There certainly is no better home away from home and warm hospitality. This is one of the best places you can stay while in Wilderness if you want a real quite rest, but close enough to the sea. Thanks!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RJ_Theunissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The reception was very friendly by the owner. We got an upgrade to the family unit, but I think that the other unit is also good. Everything we needed was available the location in the country side is very quiet and you have an excellent view on the mountains. We can recommend it

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Manfred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Amazing stay at Hildesheim Guest House in the quite town of Hoekwil above the Wilderness village. The hosts Tony and Vanessa where very friendly and accommodating, the rooms are well looked after and kept immaculate, will definitely be visiting again when I come for next holiday along the Garden Route!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Hildesheim Guest House. Tony and Vanessa were very helpful, friendly and accommodating. The breakfasts were also very nicely presented and tasty. It is situated in a really beautiful area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Calvin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is a lovely B&B set in the hills up above Wilderness in the village of Hoekwill. We were booked in for two nights and arrived in pouring rain and Tony was there to meet us with umbrellas to show us to our rooms. Two of the couples with us shared an interlinking room by the pool, but each had their own en suite facilities, and me and my husband had a garden room, which was really roomy. There was plenty of storage in our room, a big fridge, tea and coffee facilities, fresh milk, rusks. There was a lovely touch of fresh hibiscus flowers on our bed and in the bathroom, and bougainvillea the next day. The towels were the fluffiest we had in the two weeks we were in South Africa.

The breakfasts were really filling and a good choice was available and to ensure you got exactly what you wanted you gave in your order the night before.

Tony had lots of suggestions of things to see and do in the area.

We would certainly stay here again if we were ever in this area. The town of Wilderness itself is a couple of miles away, but the mountain view and the peace and quiet at Hildesheim make it a perfect spot to stay in.

The weather wasn't brilliant, but we managed a few dry hours on our second day and did a canoe and hiking trip (through Eden Adventure) to a waterfall. We are all in our 60s and this wasn't too difficult. If you didn't fancy the river, the board walk starts just outside Wilderness National Park entrance and goes all the way up to a waterfall. The whole area around Wilderness seems to have lots of opportunity for walks by lakes, rivers and on the beach. I wish we had been able to spend longer here.

We ate a lovely meal at The Girls restaurant in Wilderness.

Room Tip: All the rooms our party had were lovely, the ones by the pool may be preferable to some but the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ordinary-folk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildesheim, Owner at Hildesheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for finding us! We appreciate that you chose to visit with us at Hildesheim Guest House while travelling along the Garden Route. If ever you are in the area again, look us up even if only for a cup of coffee or tea.
Your time to give us the wonderful review is appreciated.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Service was Family and very nice. Tony and his Wife Vanessa were very Kind and helpful. Great Location to stay. The Breakfast was perfect. From the Poolside you can see the montains. You can drive also in a few minutes to the sea and the nice Restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Manfred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildesheim, Owner at Hildesheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with the Trip Advisor community, we appreciate your custom. Should you be in the Garden Route again we would welcome a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
3 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
756 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
4.5 mi away
Hilltop Country Lodge
Hilltop Country Lodge
#4 of 5 in Wilderness
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Wilderness on Sea B&B
Wilderness on Sea B&B
#17 of 60 in Wilderness
148 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 60 in Wilderness
462 reviews
3.1 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hildesheim Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hildesheim Guest House

Address: 3 Kerk Street | Hoekwil, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $55 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hildesheim Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the peaceful village of Hoekwil, only 5km from the unique Wilderness beach, Hildesheim is a Guest House offering spacious and tastefully decorated rooms. Enjoy the panoramic views of the magnificent Outeniqua Mountains from your own private deck or from the large pool set amongst the tranquil gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Hildesheim Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing