We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most pleasant stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hildesheim Guest House
Ranked #11 of 59 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Quiet, peaceful, very good facilities. The hosts went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Lovely rooms, good attention to detail. Delicious breakfast. Would certainly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alba B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildesheim, Owner at Hildesheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for coming to enjoy our peace and quiet, and for sharing with the travel community. We appreciate your patronage and hope to meet you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 330 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

We drove up up and up and got to a little area known as Hoekwil. If you want accommodation in Knysna or Wilderness area and want good accommodation, with great hosts, that are eager to assist where-ever possible, feel free to contact Hildesheim!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Audrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildesheim, Owner at Hildesheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking time to review our Guest House, and especially glad that you discovered Hoekwil - a little gem in the Garden Route away from the hustle and bustle, but close enough to enjoy all the attractions. We look forward to meeting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our road trip started with a overnight in Hildesheim Guest Cottage (1/05/13). A warm welcome and a very classy Garden Cottage. This is no four star holiday destination--it should be classed as a five star venue. The beautiful birds and the trees are part of the restful atmosphere. Tony and Vanessa can be proud of their efforts. We should have stayed longer. Friends and family would find this a very good starting point to explore the many things nature has to offer in the vicinity.

Great place---Thanks once again Bill and Ia (Worcester, SA)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Psychoted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildesheim, Owner at Hildesheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we appreciate you sharing your experience with other travellers.
Should you do another road trip to the Garden Route we would be honoured to host again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We recently embarked on a road trip of discovery. We travelled through various places of interest and eventually arrived at Wilderness. We had no clue of where we wanted to stay ,but we knew it had to be a quiet place ,away from busy roads , and also self catering-I was very tired of B&B's . We found Hildesheim on the web ,called Tony ,and from then on knew that our proposed visit would be great. We arrived and weren't disappointed. Despite the fact that it was cold ,the cottage was warm and very comfortable. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated , the lounge comfortable ,and the kitchen well equipped. Tony and Vanessa were always there to answer questions,help with directions ,or just to ensure we were comfortable. The gardens are home to many bird species and the views of the forests and mountains superb. We will be back.

Room Tip: All cottages are well positioned on the property, private and enjoy the garden and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginia314Randburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildesheim, Owner at Hildesheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review us and to tell travellers about our "piece of paradise". The cottage with its views of the Outeniqua Mountains and visits from our feathered friends is a favourite, glad to hear that you enjoyed it. When next in the Garden Route we would like to host you again or just pop in for a cup of coffee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Mid road trip with 4 adults and a toddler we came across Hildesheim. What a relief. Tony gave us by far the best service I have ever encountered while travelling. What a legend! We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 55LauraF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildesheim, Owner at Hildesheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to tell travellers about us, much appreciated. We look forward to meeting you again when next you visit the Garden Route.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Hildesheim Guest House and will definitely recommend them to friends / family. The breakfast served was amazing and the owners were very attentive and hospitable. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TammrynM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildesheim, Owner at Hildesheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we appreciate it. It was a pleasure to have you visiting with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

For those who are asking themselves whether the lovely photo of a palm-fringed pool overlooking a valley adequately represents the rest of Hildesheim Guest House – we are pleased to confirm that it most certainly does. The self-catering cottage is private, spacious, comfortable and equipped with many thoughful details. The host, Tony, is always accessible but never intrusive. The location is near enough to the beach and yet also far enough from it to provide a tranquil restorative retreat. We loved it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiloho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildesheim, Owner at Hildesheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us and the special mention of the views. The pool, palm trees and beautiful Outeniqua Mountains in the distance do make it special - we do make every effort to ensure that what you see (on the Internet) is what you get.. Our cottages are certainly a hit with self catering guests, glad to hear you liked it.
If ever in the Garden Route again we would love to host you - or just pop in for a cup of coffee or tea and something fresh from the kitchen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
3.2 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
4.5 mi away
Hilltop Country Lodge
Hilltop Country Lodge
#4 of 5 in Wilderness
42 reviews
1.8 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Wilderness on Sea B&B and Self Catering
1.8 mi away
The Old Trading Post
The Old Trading Post
#21 of 59 in Wilderness
139 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fairy Knowe Hotel
Fairy Knowe Hotel
#22 of 59 in Wilderness
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hildesheim Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hildesheim Guest House

Address: 3 Kerk Street | Hoekwil, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $52 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hildesheim Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the peaceful village of Hoekwil, only 5km from the unique Wilderness beach, Hildesheim is a Guest House offering spacious and tastefully decorated rooms. Enjoy the panoramic views of the magnificent Outeniqua Mountains from your own private deck or from the large pool set amongst the tranquil gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hildesheim Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing