We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect choice for a Garden Route stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hildesheim Guest House
Ranked #9 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect choice for a Garden Route stay”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our 2 bedroom self catering cottage at Hildesheim was private, quiet, spacious, luxurious and very clean. Tony and Amanda have the hospitality gene, and couldn't have been more helpful - always available for advice on local sites, had all the maps and brochures we needed to plan our stay, and made us feel right at home. Their property looks over a beautiful valley, just above and behind the beach at Wilderness, and we so enjoyed coming back to the quiet and peace of Hoekwil after a full day hiking and beach combing. Local restaurants are delicious and kid friendly. Like everyone else, we wish we could have stayed another week! Thank you Tony!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    72
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
179
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hildesheim guest house for four nights as part of our holiday travelling the Garden Route from Cape Town to Durban with my Dad & his partner. We booked Garden Cottage 1. It was very spacious with 2 large bedrooms, sitting room and dining kitchen which was very well stocked with all the utensils you would need. There was also 2 bathrooms which was very important to us. We also had a very large veranda with a barbecue, which we used every day. The cottage was spotlessly clean. Tony & Vanessa are excellent hosts, Tony gave us lots of information about the local area. The scenery at Hildesheim and in Wilderness is stunning. I would highly recommend this guest house and would definitely stay again. Thank you Tony & Vanessa

Room Tip: We had Garden Cottage 1. Beautiful large apartment with large veranda and very private at the rear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vron-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildesheim, Owner at Hildesheim Guest House, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with the Trip Advisor community, we appreciate it. Your 'Room Tip' is great, all our guests that have stayed in Garden Cottage 1 love it . We hope you visit the Garden Route on your next visit to South Africa and that we will meet you again.
Kind regards from sunny South Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Thank you Tony and Vanessa for making our first stay at the South African coast one to never forget! Very friendly and helpfull hosts, neat accomodation, big swimmingpool (apparently not evident in SA :)), unique location with stunning view!
Lemmens clan

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicklemmens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildesheim, Owner at Hildesheim Guest House, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We are happy that your first visit to our beautiful coastline on the Garden Route in South Africa was a memorable one. We are privileged to have been part of your experience - Thank you for taking the time to share your visit with us, we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our stay at the hotel can be described in one word, Excellent. It is worth to stay there. The hosts are very friendly and open. Everything at Hildesheim was excellent. Room, service, location, etc. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gerhard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildesheim, Owner at Hildesheim Guest House, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us and leave such a friendly comment - we appreciate your interest and custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Hampshire, Uk
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a wonderful short stay at the Hildesheim. Our host was friendly and informative, giving us great tips on places to go etc. The breakfasts were a real treat both in quantity and quality! Our accommodation was very good with self catering facilities should we need it. It also afforded good privacy. The views were sensational. In the locality were some excellent restaurants. There was plenty to see and do in this area and we fully intend to come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our third visit! We enjoy the beautiful, peaceful gardens overlooking the Outeniqua mountains; our spacious room is always spotlessly clean; our hosts are friendly and welcoming and couldn't help more if they tried; breakfasts are delicious and freshly cooked; although the property is not near the beach it's only a short drive and there are lots of things to do in the Wilderness area; it's also not far from Knysna for boat trips, etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RandA23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildesheim, Owner at Hildesheim Guest House, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review. It's always a pleasure to have our Guests visit with us, we look forward to welcoming you back for your fourth visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We really enjoyed beeing at Guesthouse Hildesheim .

Our Guests Tony and Vanessa where very attentive and elegant...Trying to make our stay as relaxing and agreable as possible.

After two days enjoying the pool, the birds and the service, we booked one additional night.

It was the perfect trip to recover from urban stress. We will go back as soon as we can...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nicolas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildesheim, Owner at Hildesheim Guest House, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
It's great that you enjoyed your swims in the pool and our beautiful birds in the garden. Our location certainly lets you get away from it all and it is always a pleasure to be of service. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
3.0 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
3.1 mi away
Haus am Strand
Haus am Strand
#6 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kingfisher Country House
Kingfisher Country House
#14 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.8 mi away
Interlaken Guest House
Interlaken Guest House
#10 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
2.8 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hildesheim Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hildesheim Guest House

Property: Hildesheim Guest House
Address: 3 Kerk Street | Hoekwil, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hildesheim Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the peaceful village of Hoekwil, only 5km from the unique Wilderness beach, Hildesheim is a Guest House offering spacious and tastefully decorated rooms. Enjoy the panoramic views of the magnificent Outeniqua Mountains from your own private deck or from the large pool set amongst the tranquil gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hildesheim Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing