We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Trading Post
Nearby Hotels
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Wilderness Hotel(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
$70
$67
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pine Lodge George(George)(Great Value!)
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
StayWell Hotels(Gaborone)
$278
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveler rating
119
24
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
24
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomb beco boatone nightcape towngarden routehomely atmospherefruit saladfriendly dogsbreakfast was deliciousbrilliant staywilderness areathe main housebeautiful gardennice guesthousequiet locationnational park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 147 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The people were wonderful, the food and service and attention was fabulous. Beautiful setting and grounds, especially the four footed Dashchunds.......our favorites. They made us feel right at home. I hope we can return again at some point and recommend it highly to anyone going through the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrscapttom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thanks for staying here and taking the time to write a review. Glad the dachshunds made you feel at home. They are just as special to us and enjoyed by many guests. Hope you had a fantastic SA holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We've never been to Wildernis and it is a beautiful place. When we arrived at the Old Trading post, we were greeted by lovely owners, friendly and helpful. This place was really clean and neat and taken care of. We stayed in a lovely room which have everything you expect from a bed and breakfast.

The next morning breakfast was a delight, made by the owners themselves. Lovely atmosphere before going on your next trip. I would really not think twice returning here again in the future!
Thanx for a lovely experience of Wildernis!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thanks Bennie for taking time to write a review, glad you enjoyed your stay, especially that as it is a while since you stayed here and can still remember what you enjoyed most. We hope you will return one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We really enjoyed Wilderness. Lovely walks, a superb beach and good food at the 2 girls


The B&B is a lovely older building very well maintained, well positioned in a beautiful area with a superb garden. The owners were professionals and delivered.

There is one negative. We stayed in the honeymoon suite and the large en suite bathroom is essentially an alcove off the bedroom. I am be old fashioned but when I defecate I do like to have the privacy of a door between the toilet and the bedroom.
max

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank max4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thanks Max for the review and compliments. Nice to know you enjoyed your stay as well as the good food in Wilderness. Regarding the bathroom, after much consideration and advice some years ago we decided not to partition the bathroom as it will detract from the general cosy atmosphere of the room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Simple, relaxed and closer to the dam than the beach....this little place was good value for money. Helpful staff and close to everything (not that anything in Wilderness is far). Clean and breakfasts were good. Overall a nice place to stay for a few nights if you want to check out Wilderness and don't want to pay the high prices for the beachfront places.

Wilderness itself is just plain amazing! One of my fav places on the garden route - and I think it has better food than Knysna!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HopelessWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Glad you enjoyed the stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had one night in the Trading Post and only wished we could have stayed longer. It is a really delightful place full of character. We stayed in the old tin room which was charming and very comfortable. Our only criticism was the very small wash hand basin which my 6feet 4 inches tall husband found challenging!. Our hosts were extremely welcoming. The breakfast was superb and beautifully presented. The best we had on our trip to South Africa.The Trading Post is in a beautiful tranquil setting and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thanks Anne for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. It is our pleasure to share our guest house, Wilderness and surrounds with our guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews