We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too many rules, but otherwise pleasant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Trading Post

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Trading Post
Ranked #20 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Too many rules, but otherwise pleasant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stopped at the Old Trading Post just for a night on the way from PE to Cape Town. The Wilderness is an ideal overnight stop with great beaches and enough good restaurants.

Our night at the Old Trading Post was perfectly fine. The price wasn't bad and the online booking was painless. It is located a little out of the way fairly far from the beaches and the town proper.

Our room was pretty hot when it was opened up - flat iron roof concentrates the sun during the day. The notices up on the walls explaining this and instructing very clearly on how many different ways we shouldn't use the air conditioner was a little curious.

Breakfast is normally only available form 7.30 to 8.30 - a pretty narrow range to my mind, but not something we knew when we put down time breakfast requested as 9am without comment from the proprietor. At 9.10 in the morning we were scolded and told to get to breakfast. I guess we were late and maybe we caught them on a bad day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 11Skarab11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your comments regarding our location are appreciated. Wilderness is indeed a good stop-over along the Garden Route. Although we are not situated on the beach there are several lovely beaches withing 5 - 30 minutes drive from us, namely: Wilderness, Flat Rock, Kleinkrantz, Victoria Bay, Gerickes Point, Swartvlei, Myoli, Buffalo Bay and Herolds Bay. The popular local restaurants within 3 - 7 km include: Zucchini, Salinas, Sails, Pomodoros, The Girls, Blue Olive, Serendipity, Joplins and more. All major attractions of The Garden Route and Oudtshoorn are within one hour's drive. These make Wilderness the ideal base to explore the area.

The Old Trading Post situated amongst the wetlands and lakes of the National Park affording our guests a peaceful stay in a beautiful environment, yet close to everything, (For those not wishing to drive around a lot, our pool is enjoyed by all, we have bikes for hire and the nearby hiking trail is popular. We also provide dinner on prior request, whilst there are barbeque facilities for B&B and self-catering guests) All these fact contribute to why many of our overnight guests regret not staying longer.

The reviewer arrived late afternoon on a hot mid-summer day, the room was warm as it had been closed since the morning cleaning, but the air-con cools it within minutes. We have guidelines in order to be environmentally friendly and save electricity and avoid mis-use of the machine, also so that we can keep our rates as reasonable as possible.

Our breakfast (arrival) times are from 07h00 to 08h30. These times are a guideline which assists us in ensuring our freshly made fruit salad and cold buffet are still fresh when the last guests arrive and the cooked breakfast made on order. Late breakfast affects our daily routine, though we accept guests arriving earlier or up to 09h00 if requested and our schedule allows. On this particular occasion the reviewer requested 09h00 and only arrived after 09h20. Our check out time is 10h00 allowing 4 hours to prepare the rooms for the next arrivals. These are normal practices in our industry. Being a small B&B, and owner run (husband and wife team) with no assistance it is neccessary to have these guidelines for the effective management and to be ready for new guests expected after 14h00, though many guests arrive as early as 10h15. We apologise if the reviewer was offended that he was requested to attend breakfast (when already late for the agreed time!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    21
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
78
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wilts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

But the word is already out - see all the existing 5 star reviews. The Old Trading Post is a charming B&B, full of character & I suppose what equates to a historic building in South African terms.

It is perfectly situated off the main N2 road & overlooking the lake. Very good for birdwatching (including in the garden itself) & I believe Mike is an enthusiast. It is convenient for all the walking trails in the Cape Nature Wilderness reserve.

The rooms are delightful & individual. We selected the Garden room, but any of them would have done equally well.

Mike & Harja were perfect hosts.

The breakfast was not quite the best we had in SA, but it was very close to it & there is the option to eat either indoors or out.

If we are ever in Wilderness again this would be an automatic choice.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank tether_end
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and for the positive comments. Much appreciated!!We love sharing our guest house and all that the surroundings offer - the views, scenery, birdlife and the peace and quiet .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed here with Mike and Harja for two nights on my trip up the N2 Garden Route. They have a beautiful property in a beautiful setting. This was by far the best guesthouse I stayed in during my 3 weeks in South Africa. Mike's breakfast is excellent. Especially enjoyed the cozy living area to mingle with other guests when getting in from my days excursions. I will definitely stay here again if I am ever lucky enough to return to Wilderness!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BryanClinton524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Good to hear it was the best Guest House experienced on your trip. Thanks! We are lucky to have had several similar comments from guest recently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at The Old Trading Post and would stay again if we were ever back in South Africa around the Wilderness area. The hosts were very hospitable and were always willing to help whenever. Not only did we have a lovely breakfast we also came back for their evening meals which made for a relaxing evening after a tiring day. Thank you very much.
Rita and Malcolm Preen from England.

Room Tip: It is a small establishment so doesn't really matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, much appreciated! Glad you enjoyed your stay, and the meals. It was our pleasure!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

During our 2 week treck from PE to Cape Town, we had the good forture to stay at The Old Trading Post for 2 nights with 2 other couples,(we're from the US, with friends from France, the other from Norway). All three of us agree that the stay was one of our best. Accomodations were so clean and intimate. Breakfast was great, and Mike and Harja are such lovely hosts! Location to Knysna and restaraunts was most convenient. Loved their gardens and little dogs. Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thanks for the kind remarks, we are glad that the group enjoyed their stay. It is our pleasure to have happy guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this guesthouse in October for 1night as part of our honeymoon in South Africa. We really enjoyed our stay on this unique and calm place. It is a great place to relax and enjoy the surrounding wildlife.the service and amenities are excellent and the rooms have a high standard. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. The hosts Mike and Harja are very kind and welcoming, we even were able to rent their canoe to paddle down the stream into the lake which was a nice little adventure. Great value for money and really recommendable stay! We only regret we didn't stay longer than 1 night.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisi1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Harja R, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thanks for the kind remarks and compliments, much appreciated. Gald you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was a perfect place to stop on my way through the Garden Route. Rooms were comfortable and have very nice furnishings and fixtures, plus everything else you'd need: free wifi, board games, TV, a garden & common areas, and more.

I should also note that the inn is very close to several hiking trails and other portions of National Park. If you like hiking or picnics, its all right around the corner.

The owners are extremely warm and welcoming, and breakfast was excellent. It was really a perfect experience with no exceptions!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Incoherent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harja, Owner at The Old Trading Post, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thanks very much for the positive review, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
4.3 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inn2Wilderness
Inn2Wilderness
#17 of 56 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hildesheim Guest House
Hildesheim Guest House
#12 of 56 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Oakhurst Farm Cottages
Oakhurst Farm Cottages
#1 of 35 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kingfisher Country House
Kingfisher Country House
#13 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
5.1 mi away
Clairewood
Clairewood
#31 of 56 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Trading Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Trading Post

Property: The Old Trading Post
Address: 1.7 km down Die Vleie / The Lakes Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Trading Post 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Trading Post is situated in a peaceful rural environment on the outskirts of Wilderness and surrounded by the lakes and wetlands of the Wilderness Section of the Garden Route National Park. The Old Trading Post. It is only a few minutes drive to the beaches, popular restaurants and village of Wilderness. We are conveniently situated 1.7km off the main N2 national road. Take the turn-off to "Die Vleie" (meaning "The Lakes") about 5 km east of the village. We offer cosy and unique accommodation with both Bed & Breakfast and Self-catering options. Accommodation consists of: Strelitzia Cottage - a one bedroom self-catering cottage which sleeps a family of 2 adults and 2 children with en-suite bathroom with bath and shower. The Garden Room - a double bedroom with kitchenette and en-suite shower. Lara's Room - a double bedroom with en-suite shower and bath. The tin Room - with 2 single beds and en-suite shower. Facilities include: Free wireless internet, swimming pool, barbeque facilities, bicycle hire, canoe hire (subject to river conditions) laundry facilities and sunny veranda / terrace and garden. Rooms are well equipped with bar fridges, tea and coffee facilities, television heating and cooling. All rooms are non-smoking but smoking is permitted outdoors. Nearby are walking trails, bird hides in the national park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Old Trading Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing