We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gill & Eric Wells”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Trading Post
Ranked #20 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Gill & Eric Wells”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Having stayed at The Old Trading Post before, it was the natural choice to meet up with our brother and his fiance from St. Francis Bay. As always Mike & Harja were accommodating, friendly and relaxed. The rooms are great and the ambience condusive to a relaxing stay.
We barbequed both evenings we were there and the bouma provided us and some local friends with an ideal venue to socialise in the garden.
We will be back!!

Room Tip: For the wife and me the Garden Room is ideal but a family will prefer the Strelitzia Room, which has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    21
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
78
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

We were doing a trip through many parts of the country (South Africa) and stayed in quite a few hotels and guest houses. The Old Trading Post was all it promised to be (in contrast to a few other establishments), and more. The setting (close to The Lakes in the Wilderness area) is absolutely beautiful, as is the tranquil garden - sitting on the deck at sundown, I saw, in about 10 minutes, more than 10 different species of birds. The accommodation is spotlessly clean, very crisp and stylish. The hosts hit exactly the right spot - warm, helpful and very discrete. We will go there again, and I will recommend The Old Trading Post to anyone who is looking for first class accommodation. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afkemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

On our recent tour of the Garden Route with our Italian cousin, we stopped over in the Wilderness for two nights. Our accommodation at this charming guest house was a wise choice on our part! Situated at The Lakes, it offers a tranquil and serene atmosphere. The cottages are quaintly decorated with colonial style furniture and modern fittings. The white Percale linen on the beds make for a very comfortable nights rest. Mike was an excellent host, flying solo whilst Harja visited their daughter and new born grandson. I'm sure Harja would have been very proud of her husband! Breakfast was beautfully presented, scrumptious and plentiful. We highly recommend The Old Trading Post to anyone visiting the area. You are guaranteed a wonderful stay and excellent value for money! Thank you for an enjoyable stay. Best regards, Rob & Bronwyn Reynolds

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_Bron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

A little piece of heaven just before the Wilderness.
Each year we overnight here with our Show dogs on our way home from Grahamstown to Cape Town.
Fabulous cottage and ajoining room. Lovely garden for the dogs to run after 6 hours on the road.
Mike and Harja are wonderful hosts - thank you for always being so welcoming!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kassinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

What a lovely break from the bustle of the city, to this beautiful guesthouse nestled close the the river. With the pet-friendly option we were able to take our two border collie teenagers Bella and Coco with us, the two had a royal time patrolling through the fenced off section. Our privacy was respected and the room was lovely with heaters in each room and blankets to fend off the cold. We were a short drive from the beach (lovely long spacious beaches for the dogs to run)and the local small town of Wilderness or Sedgefield.
We had a great breakfast and were made to feel at home!
Thank you very much for a break well spent!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle_kleinhans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

If you looking for a comfortable, tranquil, luxurious stay with a scrumptious breakfast thrown into the mix then this is where you want to stay!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baxtachad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

The strelitza Cottage is a must if you are a couple with small dog. Its home from home and you have every thing you need.Wilderness, George,and Knysna right on door step ,lots of different resturants ,go for long walks on beach and the list just goes on.
Mike and Harja the best hosts you could hope for. Yes we will go back as its certainly a place you can go to more than once. Esther , Vic Cherry,and Sir Cuthbert (Poodle) Onrus River S.A.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cherry033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
4.3 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
1.4 mi away
Inn2Wilderness
Inn2Wilderness
#16 of 56 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Fairy Knowe Hotel
Fairy Knowe Hotel
#24 of 56 in Wilderness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
3.6 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mes Amis
Mes Amis
#17 of 56 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Trading Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Trading Post

Property: The Old Trading Post
Address: 1.7 km down Die Vleie / The Lakes Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Trading Post 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Trading Post is situated in a peaceful rural environment on the outskirts of Wilderness and surrounded by the lakes and wetlands of the Wilderness Section of the Garden Route National Park. The Old Trading Post. It is only a few minutes drive to the beaches, popular restaurants and village of Wilderness. We are conveniently situated 1.7km off the main N2 national road. Take the turn-off to "Die Vleie" (meaning "The Lakes") about 5 km east of the village. We offer cosy and unique accommodation with both Bed & Breakfast and Self-catering options. Accommodation consists of: Strelitzia Cottage - a one bedroom self-catering cottage which sleeps a family of 2 adults and 2 children with en-suite bathroom with bath and shower. The Garden Room - a double bedroom with kitchenette and en-suite shower. Lara's Room - a double bedroom with en-suite shower and bath. The tin Room - with 2 single beds and en-suite shower. Facilities include: Free wireless internet, swimming pool, barbeque facilities, bicycle hire, canoe hire (subject to river conditions) laundry facilities and sunny veranda / terrace and garden. Rooms are well equipped with bar fridges, tea and coffee facilities, television heating and cooling. All rooms are non-smoking but smoking is permitted outdoors. Nearby are walking trails, bird hides in the national park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Trading Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing