We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and lovely Haus am Strand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Ranked #8 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing and lovely Haus am Strand”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had a wonderful 2-Day stay at Rita's Haus am Strand! Nice sea view with direct access to the beach! Clean and cozy room! Very friendly and helpful host! Thanks a lot :) Hope we can be back soon!
Tina & Andi from Munich

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auerbach77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    35
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
63
246
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cape twn
2 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

A little peice of heaven on the beach is haus_am_strand in the Wilderness,
I spent a night in the Travellers suite! Beautifully furnished, bright and so comforatable!
It had been raining all week along the coast and this was the "pot of gold" at the end of the rainbow!
Cozy and warm!

Thank you Rita and Mike for a most enjoyable stay!
I will be back!
Excellent restaurants good food and friendly people was rel bonus!


Lynne Day

Room Tip: All are rather beautiful and grand!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glfchampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Würselen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great location directly at the beach. Amazing sea view form all partys oft the suite.
Furniture ist modern, luxury and more than nice. The suite could bei located in a really five star hotel like a Westin Grand.
Owner Rita und her husband are the perfect hosts. All together the guaranty für a faboulis holiday in South Africa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_rgen_A716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This is a fantastic place to stay! My husband and I traveled last December (2011) with our 2 teenage girls. The girls had the Garden suite and we had the mini suite. There was a full kitchen in the girls room that was fully equipped. Clean and comfortable all around. There was also internet access at no additional charge, something that is not the case in most of the places we stayed on our SA visit. Fabulous help and service from the managers.Parking is tight but that's not surprising considering the fantastic location for this property right on the beach. We walked just down the road to the Beejuice cafe- you've got to go there if you stay here. I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Thank you Rita for your hospitality, and making us feel so incredibly welcome. Haus Am Strand is right on the beach, very professional and friendly atmosphere. It was very clean and beautifully furnished. I was surprised that it was so well priced for the location. It can easily compete with all the best holiday places on the planet, in terms of setting and view. Its right in the middle of the Garden Route, and a 5 minute walk to town. It was safe, beautiful, makes you want to stay forever. If you were wondering if you should go there, well, we were absolutely blown away. Being a world traveler, I can say this with all of my heart. Once again thank you Rita and Haus Am Strand. Breathtaking and soul reviving.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ansophie_Wight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Things Tourists like. Genuine friendliness. Exceptional Character. Haus Am Strand is the place that we ourselves would always choose to return to on holidays.
Beautifully decorated with care and love.
Natural, unstuffy, humorous hosts, gardens, the artistic, the unusual. We just love this place. The host are doing her best and treat her guests like fellow human beings.
The sea is your big swimmingpool

Room Tip: All rooms have Sea View. Few steps to the beach. Higher floors with Wider Sea View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scholtz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2012

The perfect accommodation! The perfect surroundings! The perfect hospitality! Haus am Strand is literally a 'stone's-throw-away' from the beautiful and tranquil Wilderness beach. The accommodation was clean, spacious, 'homely' and beyond-friendly hostess, Rita, was always willing to help. Haus am Strand is a MUST-STAY (and the price is ridiculously cheap!!!). Thank you Haus am Strand for an incredible honeymoon

Room Tip: The Garden Room opens up onto the beautiful lawn and breath-taking view of the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.1 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 56 in Wilderness
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse
#6 of 56 in Wilderness
232 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 56 in Wilderness
402 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus am Strand - On the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus am Strand - On the Beach

Property: Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Address: 83 Sands Road | directly on the beach, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Haus am Strand - On the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, romantic Guesthouse directly on the Beach. Large exotic garden flowing right onto the beach, with sun-loungers and grill. All apartments are on suite with Jacuzzi/Shower. The rooms are nicely furnished and supplied with heaters, heating blankets, towel heaters, some with underfloor heating, gowns and extra blankets for your comfort. Sat-TV in all rooms. WIFI FREE ! Most of them come with kitchenette and Jacuzzis. Two have facilities to make a small breakfast only, i.e. fridge, toaster, kettle... but not a kitchen. We offer breakfast with free coffee in our Partner-Restaurants, 2 minutes walk. There are about 12 Restaurants, Supermarket, Bars, Doctors, Postoffice, Bars, Laundry and small shops in the village across the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Haus am Strand - On the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing