We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Dream”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Ranked #8 of 59 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2012

this is one of the distinct few places that you really get what you see and the friendliest place on earth the apartments are huge and the decorating and everything that matters was done with care and thought for the person staying there this is truly "Heaven on Earth" and the Breakfast on request option is Gr8 and convenient..

Room Tip: all the rooms are with a sea view to die for so take any one you get and keep going back cause one h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinav619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 392 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2012

We could not have found a more lovely, professional, clean and spectacular place to celebrate our honeymoon. Huis am Strand's owners really went the extra mile to make us (and all of there guests) comfortable, relaxed and at home. The rooms are beautifully decorated, designed to meet your every need! The location is beautiful as the house sits directly on the beach- with the ocean views from your bed and a private direct access to the beach. The house itself is well maintained with manicured gardens and plenty of areas to sit and relax. With the peaceful sounds of waves crashing- this is the PERFECT getaway for couples, young and old.

Thank you for making our honeymoon so memorable! We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MvdMale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We where on 3 weeks holiday & stayed here for 2 nights in beach bungalow,it was very roomey with a 32" tv nice lounge & kitchen.The garden was very nice with lots sun loungers,the beach was also very big,but you could not go in the sea as the currents very strong,so with no pool you could not swim.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank pinnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Great location, owners very friendly. Definitely worth our money. We will go back.

Room Tip: We preferred the ground floor, easy access to the garden and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We had a wonderful 5 nights stay in the ocean suite. The rooms are decorated with love, the view is just stunning. We know when we are back in Wilderness we want to stay there again. Rita was such a sweet host. Thanks again, hope to see you again. And last but not least, the price was very friendly, too.

Room Tip: They are all nice, equipped with all you need for breakfast, but I would go for the ones upstairs (o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marit I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hausamstrand, Owner at Haus am Strand - On the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2012

MANY THANKS to all guests who have been to HAUS AM STRAND - GUESTHOUSE in WILDERNESS, South Afrika!
Thank you for the great reviews that we have received. Its wonderful when guests are happy and give us feedback. We appreciate all comments and are grateful for the effort you make to write into Trip Advisor.
We are continously renovating and decorating the house and upgrading our standards to make your holiday experience even better and hope you visit us again!
Thank you all, Rita and Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

This was our second visit to Wilderness during our four weeks in South Africa and we had previously stayed in a nearby guest house, which was wonderful. However, there were no vacancies on our return trip and so we booked in at Haus am Strand on a self catering basis - we were not disappointed!
The location is stunning and the apartment was clean, well equipped and very comfortable. A great place to come and chill out after a hectic day's exploring.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian_lane802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Words cannot describe the beauty of the ocean visible from your bed! We had an amazing stay in the Ocean Suite; a beautifully decorated haven that brings about happiness and tranquility - so much so that we were very sad to leave! Rita and Mike are the perfect hosts, always friendly and helpful to ensure the best holiday experience possible! We can definately recommend Haus am Strand as the perfect spot to indulge your every sense with a lingering feeling of nostalgia that will have us coming back in the very near future!

- Angela Voulgarellis & Jason Horseman

Room Tip: The Ocean Suite - the view and sound of the ocean makes for the best rest possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngVoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.2 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
699 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 59 in Wilderness
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
374 reviews
0.8 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#7 of 59 in Wilderness
369 reviews
0.1 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 59 in Wilderness
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus am Strand - On the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus am Strand - On the Beach

Address: 83 Sands Road | Directly On The Beach, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $88 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haus am Strand - On the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ON THE BEACH ! Beautiful, romantic Guesthouse directly on the Beach with large exotic garden flowing right onto the beach offering sun-loungers and grills. All rooms are nicely furnished and supplied with heaters, heating blankets, towel heaters, some with underfloor heating and gowns. Sat-TV in all apartments. FREE INTERNET! All bedrooms have SEA VIEW and are en suite with Jacuzzi/Shower. Special is the fact that we have kitchens in most apartments and you can make your own small meals anytime you want and eat right on the beach on your balcony, terrace or garden with such a view! The Mini and Traveller Suites have facilities to make a small breakfast only, i.e. fridge, toaster, kettle... but not a kitchen. Breakfast we offer with free coffee in our Partner-Restaurants ! There are about 12 Restaurants, Supermarket, Bars, Doctors, Postoffice, Bars, Laundry and small shops in the village across the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Haus am Strand - On the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing