We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most magical and mystical place in wilderness. I have been here more than once and will advise anyone to visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Wild Farm Backpakers
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most magical and mystical place in wilderness. I have been here more than once and will advise anyone to visit.”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

The staff is amazing and very friendly. The views are so good you could sit and watch the ocean for days. Everyone that visits leaves with a smile and can't wait to come again. If you travelling the garden route be sure to stay a night or five you will not be disappointed.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LloydHughes83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    32
    18
    7
    15
See reviews for
6
36
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The first time I went to this backapckers I threw my boyfriends 30th birthday party. The staff was so accommodating and thrilled to be apart of a celebration. Everyone had an amazing time and started a trend of us going there at least once a month. It's our home away from home, with an amazing view, incredible people, and so in touch w nature. The rooms are comfy, the bathrooms are fine, and a great view if you just want to camp. MUST stop place in the garden route.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmcummings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

What a magical place, we booked and the staff told us that they will have a big new years party, we were glad as we were not sure where to go over new years eve, we arrived and it was breathtakingly beautiful, the views the weather the people were al just perfect. I must say I did not expect the party to be so good, there was different dj's and live music it was awesome. Thank you wild farm for the wonderful experience. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethesda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The best view ever
Such nice people and good vibes!
I planed to stay at yhe farm for a night or two and finally left after a week, and only because I was running out of time!!
Warm nice people
Great veg garden to upgrade your meals
Reasonable prices
B E A U T I F U L landscapes especialy sundowners and sunrises!!
I absolutely love this place
And wilderness in generally..!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maayan1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Amazing scenery, the little cabins were fun and the road wasn't so bad. A lot of areas in South Africa don't have tarred roads so it wasn't a big deal really for us. 4 of us stayed, it was inexpensive and watching the sunset was perfect

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Camp here and you will have the most stunning views over wilderness. Unfortunately the road up to the backpackers is horrible. Loud music late into the night and very limited bathroom and kitchen facilities. Spoil what could be great backpackers.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MattAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This backpackers can be such a gem, but bad management and not caring about the business & facilities makes it awful. Dirty (actually filthy) kitchen and bathrooms, cob webs everywhere in rooms, rude managers. They really need to go on Hotel (Backpackers) Nightmares / Hell...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank danellelr2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wilderness hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.1 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
644 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.5 mi away
Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge
Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge
#11 of 36 in Wilderness
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mont Fleur - Wilderness
Mont Fleur - Wilderness
#29 of 56 in Wilderness
87 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oakhurst Farm Cottages
Oakhurst Farm Cottages
#1 of 36 in Wilderness
132 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hildesheim Guest House
Hildesheim Guest House
#9 of 56 in Wilderness
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wild Farm Backpakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wild Farm Backpakers

Property: The Wild Farm Backpakers
Address: Whites Road, Erf 291, Uitsig, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Wild Farm Backpakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing