We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, with an African ambience”

The Girls Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 30 Restaurants in Wilderness
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the heart of the Wilderness village, we are a multi award winning, Top 10 Restaurant on the Garden Route. Come and relax in a cosy, African inspired atmosphere highlighted by stunning artwork by local artist, Peter Pharoah. We have an imaginative menu combining high quality local produce with distinctly different flavours. Popular menu items include fresh linefish, succulent prawns, tender steaks and flavoursome curries all cooked to perfection in our open kitchen where you can see the chef at work. Our award winning wine list has been carefully chosen to offer a wide selection of local South African wines to enhance your dining experience. We have handmade crafts in our curio shop upstairs and free Wi-Fi available. We look forward to welcoming at The Girls
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food, with an African ambience”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Good local restaurant, with African inspired decor and a touristy curios shop upstairs. According to my wife, the fillet steak she had here was the best ever. The fish was also good, as well as the dessert (litchis stuffed with ginger, accompanied with ice-cream).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank tpepler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    979
    330
    78
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Imaginative and yummy”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The food is obviously made with love and care. My husband had tasty hake encrusted with bread crumbs, and a yummy artful mix of julienned, chopped, and diced wok-fried veggies. I had the veggie platter, a plateful of a variety of tasty and unusual combos such as a large mushroom topped with bleu cheese and pear slices and rambutan stuffed with bleu cheese. The malva dessert was amazing - tasty spices, and with a hard sauce on top. The service was friendly. Upstairs is a store with interesting crafts.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cats2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved it!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Great food, great value, perfect staff! We ate there four nights. We will definately go back when we visit RSA again.....................................

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank G N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best petrol station restaurant in the world”
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

The Girls restaurant is located next to a petrol station but that does not deflect any of their great assets....the quality of the food and beverage is outstanding and complimented with the warm hospitality that the 'girls' offer (who by the way are in the kitchen). Certainly well worth a visit

Helpful?
Thank Emma a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldwide
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Girls are better chefs than boys!”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The food was exceptional, well thought out and put together with care and attention. The service was brilliant with very knowlegable staff. The personal attendance of the chef, Roxanne, when the food had been served was the icing on the very delicious cake. It was so good we went twice in our short stay. Excellent from start to finish.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lov_leeWorldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Girls Restaurant also viewed

 
Wilderness, Western Cape
 
Wilderness, Western Cape
Wilderness, Western Cape
 

Been to The Girls Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing