We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place, highlight of our tour!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilderness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Bushcamp
England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Amazing place, highlight of our tour!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

We stayed in no.6, and I want to go back and live there!!! I can still picture the view in my mind. It was out of this world. I LOVE THIS PLACE!!!
The help we had from our host was great. We just couldnt fault it. I would have expected it to be double the price.
Just note that once you have made the drive up the road, you might want to stay in and just make the most of the views, and you have everything you need to self cater well. the supermarket in town is quite limited so maybe stock up before you get here, or at Timberlake Organic Village.
Book it, you wont regret it. I would be back tomorrow.

Room Tip: Go for no. 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SarahWyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Best value ever when it comes to Wilderness and its perfect for those wanting views, spacious rooms, high up on the ridge ovelrooking Indian ocean,. saw lots of dolphins from our balcony, and the place just ooozes with potential.
Mrs Pfaff is a private, quiet lady, ( whom we udnerstand lost her husband recently) so we totally respect her way of being uninvolved with the guests, and this is the sort of place where you go to and do your own thing, and self catering is really what it it suited for.
so as a whole we reall think this place is a best kept secret if you want to have your own world and do your own thing. wilderness has alot to offer, and is a quaint village, and an easy 3 minute dirve down a steep hill into the village. the beach is great, the canoeing on the lagoon is great and you spend double at most other places for the same view.

Room Tip: rooms 5 and 6 are the most spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank girafino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

What a find!
We stayed in unit 4 and had a wonderful time! The cottage is very spacious with wonderful views of the sea, very high up so no noise from the road. It is also really tastefully done with lovely attention to detail. We had plenty of privacy and wished we had stayed there longer. It is also excellent value for money and Ann and her husband were so warm and helpful and made us feel so comfortable.

Wilderness is not everyone’s stop off at the garden route but it is worth it just to stay here, enjoy the views, spend a morning or afternoon in wilderness and then continue on with the journey!


Highly recommended

Stay in unit 4, the honey mooners cottage, wonderful privacy and a gorgeous cottage in the woods with great great views!

Room Tip: Unit 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank holidaygreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

Stayed at the self catering Wilderness Bush Camp in February 2011. What a gem of a place. The accomodation is fabulous, catering for all your needs from a self catering perspective with amazing views of the sea and very private. Rates are excellent value for what you get. Close to all shops, restaurants, activities such as canoeing and the forest boardwalk and the beach.
Management very friendly and accomodating but allow you to do your own thing.

They also have an amazing tree-house type cabin, I think its their honey-moon suite, which is slightly smaller than the other cabins but is secluded in amongst the bush with breathtaking views.

Really worth checking out

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank onelifecarpediem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010

My husband and I spent 4 days in Cabin No 3. The location high on the hill above Wilderness could not be better. The view from our cottage was really special, and we felt 'away from it all' and so nice and private. Ann & John were very welcoming. We have already recommended Wilderness Bush Camp to many of our friends, and would love to go there again.
p.s. We might have liked a microwave - there wasn't one in our cottage, and the chairs and couches in the lounge area were a bit hard - but otherwise everything was fabulous.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pollyfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

The service at Wilderness Bushcamp was exceptional. John and his wife is amazing and ensured that everything was ready for us (thank you for the roses!!!). Our room had a wonderful view of the ocean, the birdlife was exquisite and it was very secluded. Waking up to the sounds of the ocean is amazing. Everything was clean and neat, and just what a newlywed couple needed to unwind from all the stresses of of the wedding day. There were some lovely hiking trails that weren't too hard to hard. And all other places of interest wasn't too far to travel to. I loved the bedroom and the bathroom!! I want one just like it in my own house!!!

I would suggest this place to anyone looking for a quiet getaway, with lots more to do should you feel the need to.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Blissful_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.1 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.3 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
3.3 mi away
Oakhurst Farm Cottages
Oakhurst Farm Cottages
#1 of 36 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Boardwalk Lodge
Boardwalk Lodge
#3 of 36 in Wilderness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Haus am Strand
Haus am Strand
#5 of 56 in Wilderness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge
Fairy Knowe Backpackers Lodge
#12 of 36 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Bushcamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Bushcamp

Property: Wilderness Bushcamp
Address: Beacon Road | Aloe Heights, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wilderness Bushcamp is tucked away in 9 hectares of indigenous vegetation on the very top of a hill overlooking the Indian Ocean. Our self-catering units are uniquely positioned to enjoy the peace and seclusion of our hilltop location while also enjoying the best views in Wilderness. Each of our units has a private patio with breathtaking views of Wilderness lagoon or the famous Wilderness beach, and it's just a short walk down the hill to Wilderness itself where you can enjoy all that this beautiful village has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Bush Camp Hotel Wilderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing