We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wilderness Beach house
Certificate of Excellence
Orangeville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Can't beat the view!”
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Gorgeous location. We had a double with ensuite which was lovely but the most expensive we have had on the garden route (500 R) and then we had to pay 20 R extra for towels which seemed silly to us. Very enthusiastic, lovely owner and generally friendly staff. The views are so stunning, you could spend your whole time just gazing out at the sea.

I would not want to stay in the dorms though - either a room with tons of beds or a room with 7 beds which everyone walks through to the kitchen.

The kitchen is really small...and it was not that busy when we were there and not that fully equipped compared to many we have stayed in so far.

A long walk to Wilderness Park if you wish to visit.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLAOrangeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    47
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
10
49
37
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2010

It's a nice place to stay. comfortable & clean double rooms, very friendly service.
In the evening they made a small fire in the garden to sit there and have a beer.
We liked our stay, got a lot of extra information what to do and where to go. We recommend it for a stay on the way to/from the GardenRoute-Cape Town.
The location is a liitle bit difficult to find, better ask in the village or call them, that they can explain you the street/place where to go.
But the location is so close to the beach/ocean, and having breakfast on the terrace with the amazing view to the ocean - it's beautiful. Sometimes you will get luck to watch Dolphins and Whales...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantiomagnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2009

Someone I met on the bus said they had stayed here and they couldnt say enough about it, so I noted the name. When I got here it lived up to it. From the dorm you can see (and hear) the waves on the coast, the cliffs to the side and a great walk along the train tracks around the cliffs. I was choosing hostels carefully as my mum was over at this time and this hostel was perfect, that is to say it was not a non-stop party place but equally there was a bit of life with a nice bar and a good vibe.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EoinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

I have been to the Wilderness Backpackers last week and it was the best backpackers that I 've seen in South Africa.

It offers a breathtaking view from your room ( Mountain, Beach and ocean). It is so calm, you will just sleep with the nice sound of the waves. The bar is really nice, play pool, drink bear, talk with the other travellers.

There are all kind of travellers : a lonely young student, a 50 years old couple who are travelling around Africa for 10 months, 4 German guys, one south African traveller. You can make you own cooking in there full equipped kitchen in front of the sea ( check my pictures !).

You can sleep for R90, with a wonderful breakfast ( R30 : Fresh fruit, Muesli, Yoghurt, Fresh baked muffin, Toast with butter and Jam).

The staff is really aware and open minded. They drove us for free to Victoria bay to see surfers, 8 dolphins, and a big whale ! We walk on the old rail road line along the coast : wonderful. They are not here to make business but to make you enjoy South Africa.

Of course, if you're looking for a luxurious hotel, it is not the appropriate place to go but if you want to share moments with local people that will show you the interesting places that are not mentioned is you travel guide, you should try The wilderness Beach house.

  • Liked — The view and the staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
0.4 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.5 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
659 reviews
0.3 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Boardwalk Lodge
Boardwalk Lodge
#3 of 36 in Wilderness
243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
2.7 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Beach house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Beach house

Property: Wilderness Beach house
Address: Western Road, Wilderness, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Wilderness Beach house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing