We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warmth, Hospitality, and Perfection - Highly Recommended”
Review of Serendipity

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Serendipity
Ranked #9 of 59 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We stayed for two nights at Serendipity during late September, which stay turned into one of the highlights of our travels in the entire Garden Route. While we came in on the spur of the moment, we were taken care of exceptionally well, and given the most gracious and respectful treatment. The reasonable prices requested for our stay at this season - prior to the high season - made our stay a real value for money. But there is more. We found our rooms, and the entire Guest House, the most well appointed rooms we had anywhere in all of S. Africa. Our children, who had their own room, were treated like the mature young people that they, at times like this, can be. We thoroughly enjoyed the lovely restaurant, which went to considerable lengths to split a meal portion between our kids, and made sure to cater to our special dietary requests. The owners were very attentive, and gave us considerable advice about the remainder of our itinerary for the remainder of the week, even taking the time to make calls for us to obtain reservations for the next few days. The owners spent time with us in conversations that made our stay personal and meaningful. Our breakfasts, personally prepared by our hostess, were a work of art - each plate set as though we were serious restaurant critics. Our hostess really knows hospitality, and found the right balance between the correct amount of personal attention and service, while also affording us a needed measure of privacy and family time. We planned to stay only one night, but just did not want to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZachD60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 236 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2010

Well let me say if you are going to visit Wilderness South Africa I can tell you the top three places you need to stay. #1 Choice Serendipity Guest House, #2 Choice Serendipity Guest House, #3 Choice Serendipity Guest House. No those are not typos. Serendipity is a fabulous experience. From the owners Phillip and Elsabe to their awarding winning restaurant where their daughter serves as Executive Chef, the experience is splendid.

Each room has a veranda and view of a small bird sanctuary that comes right up to spectacular views of Island Lake and mountainscapes. The room appointments are incredibly comfortable for Western travelers that might be less than familiar with guest house accommodations.

While dinners are gourmet down to the finest detail don’t let that lull you into thinking breakfasts might be second rate. Elsabe, gets in the fray for the early meal, and no wonder her daughter became a chef, she is a fabulous host and cook with hospitality gifts oozing from her pores.

If you are the canoeing type they have those available right there for you to hop in and paddle 7k away to some waterfalls. For me I was content to run the mountains and enjoy the vistas of bays filled with surf and mountains shrouded in mist.

Let me just say Serendipity will not disappoint, I wouldn’t think of staying anywhere else when I am in the area again in a few months.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronmartoia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

The Chef is amazing - the dinner was a superb experience. Room was nice, however, the restaurant noise is loud, but only until 10-10:30pm. Great views from room, however it is spoilt by the noice of the N2 highway on the otherside of the Estuary - all you want to hear is the birds - and unfortuneately you hear the loud highway!! We woudl stay elsewhere in Wilderness away from the highway, perhpas further down the estuary, and would go back to Serendipity for another meal.

The owners are lovely, we used their Canoes and went up the estuary then hiked to the Waterfull, very peaceful. They recommended a fabulous local Italian restaurant - best Pizzas I have ever had! Wilderness definately worth a visit - Serendipity for the evening meal - make sure you book in advance!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

We stayed at Serendipity for two nights on our tour of the Garden Route. This was an excellent B&B with good rooms and great views. The service and friendliness was of a very high standard. Nothing was too much trouble and the breakfasts were exceptional.The restaurant was even better. We had two incredible meals. They were not cheap, but they were worth every penny (or cent!)!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulpur1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

We stayed at serendipity for one night on our way along the Garden route.we did not think the B&B was of five star quality or service. The evening meal we thought was good but overpriced.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FenmanCambridge_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

We found the restaurant by chance - and enjoyed our stay so much , we returned for the B&B the next year. The house is beautiful, feels like you're staying with friends. the owners know, how to make you comfortable, especially the chef de cuisine ! she does a great job, her meals are fantastic!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

we had a fantastic experience staying in serendipity for three nights.
they just have four rooms all with a stunning lagoon view.
rooms are clean and big enough,well furnished ,with tv/dvd/tea/coffee/fridge and so on.
about breakfast just one word"perfect".
the b&b position is on the road of the park and very close to a beautiful beach.
the wilderness village is 1km far away.
wilderness is very close to many attractions as knysna,the montegua pass,oudtshoorn and obviously the wilderness national park.
CHAPTER TWO:THE DOWNSTAIRS RESTAURANT...
we are used to visit the best restaurant in all the area we spend our holidays and we have been three times in south africa.
for us Serendipity has been the best southafrican experience,no dubt.
we have been there two times and we can just tell you that they repeat the same menu.
it means you have few choices but they cannot do it better!!
we think the serendipity restaurant is a must on the garden route

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefano_and_debora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
1.3 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 59 in Wilderness
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 59 in Wilderness
327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moontide Guest House
Moontide Guest House
#5 of 59 in Wilderness
778 reviews
0.3 mi away
Xanadu Guest Villa
Xanadu Guest Villa
#7 of 59 in Wilderness
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendipity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity

Address: Freesia Avenue | Garden Route, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $102 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Serendipity 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serendipity Wilderness, a 5-Star Restaurant and Guesthouse, is a sprawling multi-storey residence with serene and graceful double volume public areas, with fireplaces, situated in a manicured garden on the banks of the Touw River Lagoon, managed by academic and professionally trained owners. Dining at Serendipity offers superb cuisine, friendly and professional service in a graceful setting. A five course South African inspired menu, experienced in a refined atmosphere, is the benchmark of Serendipity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Serendipity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing