We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic setting”
Review of Serendipity

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Serendipity
Ranked #10 of 60 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

An idyllic setting on the lagoon - very peaceful.Relax on sundeck at the waters edge. A breakfast worthy of the 5-star status.Abundant birdlife on the property-i.e.Knysna-Turaco.Great hospitality. Whish I could have stayed longer

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anton A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 237 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

Six of us went to this great restaurant for a birthday celebration on 28 March. The food, wine and hospitality was faultless.

What makes it extra special is that the menu is brought to life by an enthusiastic description of each course by your host - making it very difficult to choose!

We will certainly be returning again on our next trip to South Africa.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I took my wife here in part because of the great ratings on tripadvisor. We were completely blown away. We've never experienced anything like this before. Every part of the evening was done to perfection. It was fun, romantic, surprising and the quality was excellent from start to finish.

I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a genuinely South African quality evening. Just don't come expecting anything "normal"

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have just returned from a two week holiday in South Africa, we traveled from Cape Town to George and along the way stayed at serendipity, we received a lovely welcome from the very friendly staff. The owners we met later and they also made our stay very relaxing, we had a lovely 3days with them, but the icing on the cake was the food!! The serendipity has a fantastic reasutrant the owners daughter is the chief and has been recognised with lots of awards and recognition being the best on the garden rouite, we ate their twice and both times was given first class service. The food is an evening experience, the chief coming out to talk us through the menu and making our choices the right ones, we all commented in the beautiful food and great wine, which was recommended to us by the chiefs husband. Would love to return and would deffenetly eat there.thankyou for a lovely experience and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zinny57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

As part of our Honeymoon in Wilderness we wanted to experience quality dining. We definitely went to the right place. The food and overall hospitality of the owners are world class. The location is very romantic, the staff very knowledgeable and professional. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pieter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our third stay at this lovely B&B although we've eaten here for the last six years. Everything is top-class. Stylish, welcoming, peaceful, wonderful hosts, delightful unusual dinners and great breakfasts. Booking for 2014 already in hand!!

Room Tip: All four rooms are identical, all walkout to a lovely, large deck overlooking the water where you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benhol007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

we have just spent 4 days at this family run guest house and it was truly beautiful. incorporating south africas several times award winning chef, the dining experience, because thats exactly what it is, food heaven at very resonable prices. there are 4 bedrooms, decorated beautifully in the guest house itself, a huge decked outdoor terrace which overlooks a river, ideal for bird watchers, not my cup of tea but apparantly incorporates several rare varieties. lovely little town down the road with fab bars and restaurants. we used this a a stop off whilst travelling playing golf and sightseeing on the wine route, which we also managed to do lots of, ha! wine and golf. severl courses nearby all amazing, its a must.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louise h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
1.3 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
415 reviews
1 mi away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 60 in Wilderness
507 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 60 in Wilderness
331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cloverleigh Guest House
Cloverleigh Guest House
#24 of 60 in Wilderness
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendipity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity

Address: Freesia Avenue | Garden Route, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $114 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Serendipity 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serendipity is a place where to celebrate life. Best environment (on the banks of the Touw River Lagoon, ensconced by the Indian Ocean and the Outeniqua Mountains. Relaxed in a manicured garden. Enjoy world class fine dining. The ideal from where to explore the Southern Cape Region from Plettenberg Bay to Mossel Bay to Oudtshoorn. To enjoy the world class golf courses. To actively enjoy the Wilderness and Garden Route National Parks. To explore the watery ways of the Ramsar water bird sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Serendipity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing