We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serendipity - a little gem in Wilderness”
Review of Serendipity

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Serendipity
Ranked #11 of 56 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Serendipity - a little gem in Wilderness”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Elsabe and Phillip share their home, with just 4 guest rooms for visitors. Each room is individually decorated, with the accent on comfort and style. Relax on the balcony outside the bedrooms, overlooking the lagoon. Wander down to the garden and take out the canoe, to row across the lagoon. Just walk downstairs to the dining room for an eating extravaganza. Local food is prepared to haute cuisine standards, with wine to match. This beautiful, welcoming guest house is all you could wish for and more. Elsabe and Phillip are the perfect hosts, that is why we return again and again. Finally just a 5 minute drive into Wilderness and you can stroll along the most breathtaking beach with hardly a sole in sight. Fabulous. Pat & John.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    28
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
160
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
429 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 495 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Nicely appointed, four room, guest house on lakeside in Wilderness.

Rooms are not huge, but are nicely furnished, with all the things you come to expect in a 5 star graded venue. Secure garage parking for guests.

Bathrooms are small however, with in-bath shower (our room, not true for all) and very little room for cat swinging. Bathrooms need a refurbish, or at least ours did.

Balcony and deck outside the room is shared, but huge and very attractive, with views of the lake and wildlife. We liked this feature! No pool onsite, but beach - miles of it - is three minutes away. Canoes on the lake - for the adventurous - are available.

Breakfasts were great, with lovely fruit and delicious cooked options. Owner lives on site and is ever helpful.

Breakfast room and lounge transform into a fine dining restaurant – optional, not included in room rate and open to public - 6 days a week, run by owner's daughter and her husband. Minor Glitch: Can be noisy in your bedroom whilst the restaurant is operating!

We liked a lot about this place, and we will likely use it again next trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Our second visit in three years. Standard still perfect and the owners attentive to your enjoyment and satisfaction. The evening meal tasting menu and wine pairing gave so much pleasure. Attention to detail and guest requirements was the joy of our South African Stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the same level with balcony and river view - nothing to choose between them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtravellerplus72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead,Berkshire,UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

It was an absolutely joy to stay in this superbly run B&B. It has the great advantage of having an exceptional restaurant on site which is run by the daughter and her husband of the owners. Our two dinners there count amongst the best meals of my life and I have been fortunate enough to eat in many Michelin starred restaurants. We felt at home as soon as we arrived and nothing is too much troubled. Everything is done in an exceptionally welcoming and efficient manner. The rooms are well equiped and have lovely views of the peaceful lake.I can not wait to return. Ensure you book for dinner in advance as the restaurant has a great repuation and is nearly always full.

Room Tip: Book very early as there are only four rooms. At the same time reserve a table for dinner as the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RGBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I am writing this review as I am sitting in the restaurant.
This place is an absolute gem.
I am in the garden route on business for a one night stay over. I decided to take two roads I have never taken before in the GR. I travel here regularly so had this air of arrogance around me about places to go and places to see in this phenomenal area, aagh I know it all I have seen them all in this area ..... how bout not. Two gems in two random stops
First place I stumbled upon was a place to sleep in Victoria Bay , review to follow ...
The second place is a place for dinner, this incredible restaurant called serendipity. Almost sorry I didn't stay at this b and b after my first impressions with the restaurant. Seriously a class place with awesome awesome menu and brilliant service filled with personality and charm.
Pity I am here alone writing on trip advisor at the table (using the restaurants wifi which was pretty cool of them to sort out) instead of sharing this place with my loved one.
For a special occasion, do yourself a favor and get here.
Rooms are also very reasonable.... dinner i fear not so cheap :) (but definitely worth it in my book).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graemec1CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Right by the lagoon with boats for to guests to borrow and canoe around. Excellent and personal service. Delicious breakfast. Sorry we didn't get a chance to eat at the restaurant because it smelled SO good!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I’ve travelled all over the world and stayed in various B&B’s and big hotels, Serendipity is the only B&B I ever encountered that felt like home but still like a enchanted holiday! That alone is unique; don’t forget about the amazing restaurant. The staff is all very helpful and good mannered. It really was an unexpected pleasure to stumble upon this little heaven in Eden.

Room Tip: Ask for room nr 1 if you intend on usesing the wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5starjetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.9 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
644 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 56 in Wilderness
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 56 in Wilderness
231 reviews
1.3 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moontide Guest House
Moontide Guest House
#5 of 56 in Wilderness
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendipity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity

Property: Serendipity
Address: Freesia Avenue | Garden Route, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Serendipity 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serendipity Wilderness, a 5-Star Restaurant and Guesthouse, is a sprawling multi-storey residence with serene and graceful double volume public areas, with fireplaces, situated in a manicured garden on the banks of the Touw River Lagoon, managed by academic and professionally trained owners. Dining at Serendipity offers superb cuisine, friendly and professional service in a graceful setting. A five course South African inspired menu, experienced in a refined atmosphere, is the benchmark of Serendipity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Serendipity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing