We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grind Cafe

The Grind Cafe
Ranked #4 of 10 Restaurants in Underberg
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Grind Cafe is a spacious, family restaurant, serving Illy coffee (for the greatest cappuccino), wood burning oven baked pizzas, home-made pastas & burgers, steaks, salads & light meals. With free Wifi for customers and an in-store DVD rental shop.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We did not expect alot passing through Underberg and was pleasantly surprise with the friendly service. The hamburger was one of the best I ever had.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johannes W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    39
    21
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East London, South Africa
2 reviews
“grind cafe visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great fun and people and the cuisine. It was also quite warm for older people with Winter coming on. Recommend for a visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank bernard w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unsung hero in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed near Underberg for four nights in mid-winter, and had dinner at a different place every night. The Grind is in a large strip-type mall, so we avoided it at first - our mistake. Delicious, simple food (we had pasta and pizza), cosy warm wood-oven atmosphere, reasonable prices. We went back the following night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PRPenfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midrand, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Easy eating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Lovely, freshly prepared meals. Perfect for easy eating, quick meal. The service was efficient. The restaurant is situated in a strange part of town and the ambience a bit odd. Overall a good experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZuZanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Food at the Grind Cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We often travel to the Underberg and tend to eat at the Grind Cafe whenever we go there. The food is always enjoyable and the service is good and welcoming.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grind Cafe also viewed

Underberg, KwaZulu-Natal
Underberg, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Himeville, Drakensberg Region
 

Been to The Grind Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing