We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice for family with kids” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Underberg
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice for family with kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Lovely setting at the foot of the mountains. Lots to do for children from pony rides to feeding the goats. Breakfast buffet was lovely but supper buffet could have been better. Management overall could be better to make sure everything from checking in to paying bills run better. The rooms need an upgrade, our first room had a broken glass strip in the door which wasnt good cos we had a child and second room was missing the fridge. Needs a bit of a fixer upper.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clawrieross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    78
    52
    24
    14
See reviews for
71
101
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
durban South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

we spent a few nights at the berg and have always stayed at the drakensberg gardens hotel.checking in was a breeze and the winter had set in. Our room was welcoming as the heater and the underfloor heating was on. Dinner was a la carte and breakfast was self service with a whole range of food and one can order omeletes. The staff are a friendly lot and a few recognised us from our previous visits. The clouds low over the mountains is a sight to behold. Tennis courts,putt putt and u can hire horses for riding.. Love this place for the peace and serenity that prevails.there is a wellness spa with hot spring waters, very rejuvinating,also they have a beauty salon.

Room Tip: The riverbend rooms are nice as its close to the wellness spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatima A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Ok, so it caters for more of the self catering crowd. We reached on Fri night at 7pm - our only choice of food was the buffet! At R150pp. After making a fuss, the manager eventually organised us toasted sandwiches and chips at R55 each!
The "hotel" bit if the resort is like the Sun City cabana's.
Breakfast was good.
The buffet dinner was good.
But if you don;t eat by 6pm, your choices are the buffet at R150pp or the al la carte restaurant - which were fully booked on the Fri and Sat night! Oh and they close at 930pm!

Hotels rooms were lovely - beds huge - huge bathrooms - all clean and neat.

Our tea and coffee were not refilled daily.....neither was the courtesy lotion and shampoo etc.

It was a fun weekend with awesome friends - but the drive back to Jhb was about 6 hours!

The R617 was ok - but the last 30km to the resort - lots of potholes!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeszn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gauteng
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

superb scenery of the mountains, very child friendly lots of activities organised for kids all day long, golf course a bit tricky for dad, the spa is lovely for mom, nice short hikes to do, have a drink at the golf club overlooking a dam, staff very friendly and accomodating, overall a lovely week-end
Will defernately go back
Bit far to drive fron jhb , but it is worth it.
Cold at night but the fire in the lounge makes up for it , days are nice and hot
Chalet is well equipped with everything you need including heaters.
Sorry there was no snow, maybe next time, all rooms face the mountain

Room Tip: all rooms face the mountain, you will have sun all day In winter maybe take an electric blanket , i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josette216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed in the Kingfisher building which is about a 300 meter walk to the main reception.

Beautiful location of course, but the rooms are very basic. I will concentrate on the rooms as many other have commented on the surrounds. The room was very dated with no power adapter, very old style hand basin with very little room to put your toiletries, and shower over bath. Basin has separate tap for hot and cold water so you either get super-hot or freezing cold and nothing in between.

There is a small heater on the wall which is useful for drying socks etc. However it gets pretty cold here and the heater is barely sufficient. The TV is the old style analogue set with about 12 channels. No safe in the room.

There is no free water even though the information booklet tells you not to drink the tap water – very poor indeed.

Internet is not free – get with it guys this is the 21st century – next you will be charging for electricity!

Room Tip: Everything extra cost money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ozitravel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The good is, the resort is in a stunning location and has a wealth of facilities and activities to cater for all ages and tastes. My family stayed in a family room which was clean and comfortable, but basic. We had 2 separate bedrooms, bathroom with shower and bath and a separate toilet, door did not close properly. There was only 1 TV in the main bedroom, no bathrobes or hairdryer (deposit paid at reception for one) and no room service. There are three restaurants on site, however families with younger children need to consider eating times as there is no food service between 5 pm and 6:30 pm for some reason which no one could explain, quality and range of the food was ok. There is also no kids club or crèche type facilities that resorts elsewhere have so mum and dad can have a few hours down time, knowing their children are being looked after. We hired a nanny through reception but we ended up cutting short our spa treatment (which was average) to look after our kids as the nanny did not really know what to do.
Being autumn and the outdoor pool having renovation works carried out we went to use the indoor pool only to be informed, children under 16 were not allowed to use it, upon further inquiry with the duty manager he said it was a health and safety issue as there was no life guard and said there was an outdoor pool, when we asked if there was a life guard for that he said the hotel does not employ lifeguards, interesting take on health and safety. We also had to point out the outdoor pool was under renovation and could not be used. Good that the staff know what is going on. Overall it was ok, food and spa need improving on. The potential for this location is truly amazing and I hope the management take on board comments discussed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel to some degree is better visited in the Winter. Its got delightful rooms which just exude warmth. Its cold in the Drakensburg in winter, and you will need all your winter woolies. Its a long drive on sand roads to get there, but a 4 x 4 will get you there easily. We found it was really a honeymooners delight. We were relatively isolated, and there isn't much to do, except play tennis, table tennis, or stay in your cottage and read. We loved, it,, would we go again, I doubt it, as we have so much of South Africa to explore that we haven't been to. But if you are from somewhere other than South Africa. Give it a go, you wont be sorry.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, so its difficult to say which room is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jedanna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Underberg
14.3 mi away
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
38.0 mi away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
6.5 mi away
Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairways Gold Crown Resort
Fairways Gold Crown Resort
#3 of 12 in Underberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
11.1 mi away
Khotso Adventure Farm
Khotso Adventure Farm
#3 of 18 in Underberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Drakensberg Gardens Road, Underberg 3257, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Underberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Underberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Resort in the Drakensberg mountains with breathtaking views, set on 860Ha in a World Heritage Site, our aim is to ensure there is always something to do. Activities include an 18 hole NGU rated golf course, full Wellness Centre and Spa, Mountain biking trail and BMX tracks, horse riding, hiking, bowls, tennis, squash, Adventure golf, Discovery Park and flyfishing. Our Entertainment program runs all year round, day and night, for all age groups, from facepainting to bowls competitions, to quizzes and karaoke. The 5 restaurants open at various times, giving you options from light Bistro meals, to A la Carte variety and buffet/carvery Dinners. The bars range from sports type with big screens, to epic golfing views over the dam and mountains, and relaxed cocktail lounge experiences. We have 3 Conference venues, and beautiful gazebos or venues to plan that Wedding in the berg, a memorable location. Recently built is a zipline, Archery range and adventure park for all ages. A waterslide for the kids and a heated pool, "The Cove" provides extra swimming facilities all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Leisure Hotel Underberg
Drakensberg Gardens Golf And Leisure Resort
Drakensberg Gardens Hotel Leisure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing