We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed and Peaceful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Relaxed and Peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We had a very relaxed and quiet stay at Lake Naverone. the cottages are all secluded and private, clean and well-equiped. We did not have time to enjoy all the Camp facilities (fishing, biking, horse riding) as we used our weekend to go up Sani Pass. We did realise that Lake Naverone is located quite far from the main Sani route, but it was still enjoyable and we will plan a return visit to enjoy the camp attractions. It was wonderful for young children as there was a nice play area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bernice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esme N, Manager at Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
We do appreciate your review very much. We are relying on your intention to spend more time in the resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    129
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
262
253
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Midrand, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

What a wonderful place to visit. The accommodation was fantastic, the surrounding area was picture book perfect. All the staff from reception to the cleaners were very friendly. Will revisit as soon as we can. Value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esme N, Manager at Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review. Trust to see you back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Brilliant for a family holiday or a divine couples retreat. It's a quiet lake, the perfect place to unwind and relax. Not the sort of place for loud parties or drunken behavior. Could be a beautiful honeymoon destination. Lots to do for the kids.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Drene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esme N, Manager at Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
We do appreciate you sharing your enthusiasm for Lake Naverone on this website! Thank you for that. As regular visitors here we do so enjoy having you here and spending your birthday here with all your lovely friends was special to be a part of. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillcrest, South Africa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have just returned from our 4th visit to Lake Naverone where I celebrated my birthday with a family week-end away. We stayed in cottage 14 Cuckoo (my favourite cottage so far) and ideal for 2 couples. The veranda has beautiful views of the lake and mountains. The cottage is serviced every day and very well equipped for self catering. It was like home-away-from-home, we had everything we needed. A cozy log fire creates the prefect ambience on those chilly mountain evenings (extra wood can be purchased from reception for a small price).

There is plenty to do at Lake Naverone if you prefer an active stay rather than a relaxing one. We hired mountains bikes (R20 per hour) and cycled down to the bridge across the river near the Castleburn Hotel, a 7 km round trip, an easy cycle and loads of fun.
Oars are provided by management free of charge (a small deposit fee ensures the oars get returned). Boats are attached to each cottage jetty. Horse rides can be arranged, and I have friends who stay at Lake Naverone on many occasions just to experience and enjoy fly fishing for trout.

There are plenty of walks available, from a casual 1 hour stroll around the lake perimeter to more the more strenuous 3 hour walks to the river or pools and waterfall close by.

We adore everything about Lake Naverone and will continue to visit as much as we can.
My favourite time to visit is in summer when everything is so green and lush.

Highly recommended for a relaxing stay in the Berg!
Susie Bishop, Hillcrest.

Room Tip: We prefer the thatch cottages on the lake facing reception side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esme N, Manager at Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review of Lake Naverone! We always look forward to your stays here and then the beautiful photographs you take all over the resort. Lovely that you introduce family to the resort as well! Here's to many more returns!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed for about 5 days in one of the larger cottages (? Ibis, no. 7) on the smaller lake. We were a party of 3 families and extras, including children aged 1 - 11. Everyone enjoyed it! Cottages are well equipped, well spaced out. fronted by the lake. Small rowing boat for each cottage. Beautiful setting. Good walking locally. Staff friendly and helpful. Two things to remember: If like me you like sharp kitchen knives, take your own sharpener! We were there in summer, I did wonder if heating would be adequate in Winter.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petercot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esme N, Manager at Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do apologize about the blunt knives you had. We have since acquired a knife sharpener and are in the process of correcting that! Hoping to host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Lake Naverone is one of our favourite places to for a weekend getaway. Exquisite setting on a pristine lake. Easy access to hikes and waterfalls in the majestic mountains. Crackling logfires and beautiful cottages make it an ideal place to relax

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We spent the most wonderful week at Lake Naverone with our family. the cottages are well equipped, very clean. the staff were wonderful and friendly. the setting is world class and the activities just perfect for an outdoor family break. peaceful, quiet and tranquil.
thank you, we will definitely be back!
Rosie Aboud :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosanne800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Underberg
12.9 mi away
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
1.5 mi away
Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
9.6 mi away
Khotso Adventure Farm
Khotso Adventure Farm
#3 of 18 in Underberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort
21.0 mi away
Umzimkulu River Lodge
Umzimkulu River Lodge
#2 of 18 in Underberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Old Hatchery
The Old Hatchery
#2 of 12 in Underberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages

Property: Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages
Address: Drakensberg Gardens Road, Underberg 3257, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Underberg
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Underberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a valley at the foot of the Southern Drakensberg Mountains in a World Heritage Site, we offer top-class self catering serviced cottages situated on our 2 Lakes with Magnificent views of the Mountains and Lake. The mountain peaks create magical dimensions to the breathtaking outcrops. We offer Swimming, Tennis,Boating and fly fishing in the dams which provide hours of entertainment for young and old. Walks, hikes (varying in difficulty, mountain biking and our un-forgettable horse-riding which takes you out on a 1 hr out-ride down to a river and into the Mountains.We have restaurants and a Golf course within a 3km drive or walk. We offer a place where dreams become reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing