We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant but be careful to stay here”

The Old Hatchery Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Underberg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $9
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Our lovely thatch rondavel restaurant has a country feel with a panoramic view over the waterfall that flows into our trout dam. Our signature dishes include the Fillet Ripini and Pollo Pizza on Pasta with our very own home made pasta. We also serve Rainbow Trout. Although some of our dishes have an Italian influence we also have some South African favourites like oxtail, lamb shank and of course steaks. We also have fish and vegetarian options.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Even though our stay here was terrible the restaurant itself was pretty decent. The service was ok and the food was pretty good too. I thought the bill was very reasonable. If anything the portions were somewhat over the top but we ended up eating some decent leftovers the next day.

1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NUDShellBell, Owner at The Old Hatchery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Robert
Thank you for your frank comments. I'm delighted to tell you that we no longer let out the unit that is right next to the restaurant. We took your comments into consideration when we made the decision.
Take care
Shelley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for The Old Hatchery Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 107 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

I had the ox tail and my husband had the eisbein. It was really wonderfully prepared and served. The only problem was no saurkraut with the eisbein. The staff were efficient and friendly. The setting on the river was ideal too. We'll definitely go again and I'll try the pasta stack next time. The prices were reasonable and the atmosphere in the restaurant was cosy and their was a Sunday braai outside on the deck on the Sunday we visited. I loved the lamb wrapped a blanket, that also added to the overall great experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Louisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NUDShellBell, Owner at The Old Hatchery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for your review Louisa.
Lambie has grown so fast so quickly. It won't be long now and he will be joining the rest of his flock next door. He has become so playful.
Take care
Shelley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Owners had come in from Johannesberg area originally to escape declining security and life style. They also run fishing trips off the coast of Mozambique. The restaurant had excellent food and wine at reasonable prices. Both owners and staff were very friendly and fun to talk to. Welcoming log fire place. Hatchery is set back off the road close by a stream- large "Zulu" style building for the restaurant and bar and several cottages for guests to stay in. About 20 minutes drive from Underberg in lovely setting. The Hatchery is equal to the best places to eat in the area- the other being the Moorcroft Manor.

Thank RobWoodbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NUDShellBell, Owner at The Old Hatchery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you Rob it's you, the guest, that makes our lives fun!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed one night and had a grand experience. The room was large and well kept and dinner was excellent. When I visit my daughter again, I will definitely stay here.
George

1  Thank Marylou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NUDShellBell, Owner at The Old Hatchery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

We're happy when you're happy. See you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Restaurant serve lovely food and the service was very good. The Oxtail was excellent, definitely highly recommended. I had feshly baked trout which was well prepared and served. Strongly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ZuZanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NUDShellBell, Owner at The Old Hatchery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you ZuZanna for your kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Hatchery Restaurant also viewed

Underberg, KwaZulu-Natal
Underberg, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Underberg, KwaZulu-Natal
Himeville, Drakensberg Region
 
 

Been to The Old Hatchery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing