We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a Kind”
Review of Sani Pass Tours

Sani Pass Tours
Ranked #3 of 18 things to do in Underberg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once, the Sani Pass was a rough mule trail descending the Eastern Highlands of old Basutoland into Natal. Tough drovers brought wool and mohair down the Pass on donkeys and mules to be exchanged for blankets, clothing and maize meal, the essentials for life in a remote, impoverished country. And a young man had a dream of operating a motor vehicle service up this fantastic Pass, using the 4-wheel drive vehicles he had seen on service in World War II. His name was David Alexander and he founded this Company in 1955. It has operated on the Sani Pass ever since.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One of a Kind”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My wife and I went up Sani Pass into the Kingdom of Lesotho. The trip up the pass is really bumpy and quite enjoyable. Its sad that soon this wild bumpy road will be replace by a tarred road. This is wounderful place is so peaceful and full of culture. The village that we visited was so welcoming and friendly even the police at the boarder post (both S.A. and Lesotho) were so friendly. The Pub at the top is an ideal place to get warmed up. We will certainly do this trip again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Darren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    13
    8
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sani Pass Tours”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

A great rough road trip to a little-known country up a really tough, rough road. This is an expensive tour, due to the rough road necessitating 4WD and a careful driver. Supposedly a full Day trip, but started late and was curtailed by a faulty Land Rover which was unable to make the grade, so didn't get to see the full extent of Lesotho, returned early too, although the LR was OK going downhill.
Notwithstanding all this, we still enjoyed the shorter tour, meeting locals and having a beer at the highest pub in Africa.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shirker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“African Massage”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Wilson our guide greeted us with the words " When we leave the tarmac road you will have an African Massage".
We found out what he meant as the Sani Pass road is very bumpy and curvy. Wilson was very imformative about the things we saw in Lesotho.
We would highly reccomend this trip with Sani Pass Tours. Don't try it on your own.
It was a great day out and as we were in a minibus only a few folks to share with.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
251 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Enjoy as long as you can”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This road is the ultimo of an adventure. Thaba Tours offered good service and the guide s are knowledgeable and careful drivers.Unfortunately they will close the road this year for 3 years to make place for a tarred road and a commercial enterprise up in the sky. Pity but his progress

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank pzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome views..”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

it was awesome and our tour guide from thaba tours made the trip up the mountains memorable .
will definitely go up there again the experience the beauty of nature was alot for just 1 visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ragz16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sani Pass Tours also viewed

Underberg, KwaZulu-Natal
Underberg, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Underberg, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Sani Pass Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing