We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views and exhilirating drive”
Review of Sani Pass

Sani Pass
Book In Advance
More Info
$325.09*
and up
Sani Pass and Lesotho Private Day Tour from Durban
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Underberg
Certificate of Excellence
Pinetown, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great views and exhilirating drive”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We have up here 3 times over the last number of years. Twice in winter and once in summer. Each times it was awesome, especially in winter when the waterfall on the pass ices over and looks like a beautifully iced wedding cake. So wonderful going to the highest pub in Africa to have a meal and a warm drink and look at the fantastic views from there. I would highly recommend everyone going up when you get the opportunity so don't forget to take your passports when you going to the Southern Berg

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank YvonneMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    114
    16
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
202 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“not for the fainthearted!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

we did this trip with 3 couples , it was a 50th birthday weekend away, staying at Bushmans Nek. it was worth the trip going up the pass, but luckily we have a 4 x 4 Visited the highest pub and had a drink up there. We had a fun day with a picnic included on the side of the road.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank beverley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
176 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Absolute must do”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Do yourself, family and friends a favor and go up the Sani Pass. Use a tour company of drive yourself with your own 4x4 or rent one. The road is much improved as the SA roads dept have made major improvements and continue to do so.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Trip to another world ...”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We did the bumpy ride up to the pass during our trip to South Africa. Despite the spectacular drive on the steep but very well maintained dirt road you get the change to glimpse into another world. The vast plateau you reach gives views over a meager landscape you just cannot imagine when coming from the green hills around Underberg. If you've liked places like Mongolia this definitely is worth the ride.

The pub in the top has a rustic comfort and some Ok food, along with a large choice of (cold and warm) drinks.

You should, however, not wait too long to go since the pub is going to be replaced by a 5* resort in the future. In 2013 some of the new buildings were already under construction.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank bremer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
328 reviews
145 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“This is a most amazing trip”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We booked our tour through Sani Backpackers Lodge. Our driver and guide was Etwell and the vehicle a rather ancient Land Rover Discovery. However Land Rovers are a great British institution and nothing stops them. The drive up the pass is an amazing succession of hairpin bends and rough roads so we got what Etwell called the "African Massage". At the top not only are you another country but it is like another world. Immigration formalities are minimal and you arrive in a country that is mostly stony desert. Etwell was a great source of information and spotted a Bearded Vulture for us - these can be very difficult to see. We also saw a great variety of lichens, all within a small area. Beware - the wind is icy at the high altitudes.We had had this trip recommended and we were glad we took the advice.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank OceanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sani Pass also viewed

Underberg, KwaZulu-Natal
Underberg, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Underberg, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Sani Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing