We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highest pub”
Review of Sani Pass

Sani Pass
Book In Advance
More Info
$318.89*
and up
Sani Pass and Lesotho Private Day Tour from Durban
More Info
$66.27*
and up
Guided Sani Pass and Lesotho Day Tour from Underberg
More Info
$226.11*
and up
Sani Pass and Lesotho 4x4 Experience from Durban
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Underberg
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Highest pub”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

A must. In Canada the trip would not be in a jeep but a good hike so taking a jeep it was fun. The switchbacks ....really we are going to make it right....
The view on the way is beautiful and well worth it
The pub at the top was great. A brew at the highest pub in Africa...oh yah!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank KHRMLWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    115
    16
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Come still this year”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Unfortunately this highlight of a mountain trip will be closed for 3 years due to progress. It will be tarred and loose its charm for every. So hurry. A hair-raising adventure only for the not so easily frightened people. Beautiful scenery, animals and takes courage in winter. Come and enjoy this wonderful place

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank pzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great excursion- but some advice!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

As everyone else has said, this is a wonderful experience not to be missed if you're in the Drakensburg region. However, a couple of things I wished someone had told me before I went:

1. If you have any back problems sit as close to the front of the 4x4 vehicle as you can get- you get chucked about in the back and although I'm fit and healthy my back ached the next day!

2. If you're female don't wear shorts or a shortish skirt in the village at the top. Nothing actually happened but my friend and I felt uncomfortable and wished we'd taken some trousers to change into.

3. Be prepared for how different the Besotho people look - no-one told us and we found them a bit of a shock and quite sinister at first. However, they're all friendly. I'll try and upload some pictures I took.

We were told the road is being tarmacked in April, I thoroughly recommend you do it before that happens as the road is part of the experience! Enjoy!

Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrs J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A must see!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Going up the Sani Pass is an adventure in itself. However, being up in Lesotho and watching the life of the Basotho living in this remote area will give you a long-lasting impression.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank planetbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Sani Pass 4 x 4”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stay at the Sani Pass Hotel and hit the road at 09h00. Reached the SA border post.at 10h00. We travel up the mountain in 4 x 4 and at very slow speed, the road in very bad condition after good rain. The vegetation lush and the scenery very picturesque. We had something small to bite and drink at the highest pup in Africa, unbelievable, this is a must on the bucket list. The decent much easier and faster.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bhejanespecialevents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sani Pass also viewed

Underberg, KwaZulu-Natal
Underberg, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Underberg, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Sani Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing