We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming B&B with beautiful garden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Garden Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 13 Underberg B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 31, 2014

They were very friendly and helpful. Rooms are very cozy and nicely decorated. Some rooms don't have enquire but most do. Just ask!

Do the day trip to the Sani Pass. They can set it up for you. You NEED a 4x4 by law! And the guide is useful to meet the local villagers.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 45 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

If you would stay again, it's always a good indicator! We were breaking a trip and needed an overnight stop - 4 adults and a toddler were easily accommodated in a family cottage that had all the comforts you could need. The quiet, beautiful garden, full of birdlife, was a bonus for all of us, especially our Granddaughter, as she could play after being closeted in the car for so long. With good restaurants near by and an exceptional breakfast supplied by Cedar Gardens themselves, we really felt we had benefitted from the break. It would be our choice to stop there next time!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GabrielaJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here for two nights between a long drive through the Drakensberg mountains and a day trip into Lesotho through the Sani Pass. The rooms are spacious and well equipped. It was cold while we were there and the only heating was a portable oil radiator, which we had to leave on most of the time. The breakfasts were good and guests could make use of the living room area which was a nice place to hang out. The hosts are friendly, helpful and seem genuinely interested in ensuring the comfort of their guests.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rsinghabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We arrived in Underberg early in February for a day trip to Sani pass. When we arrived we were greeted with tea and a very warm welcome by Monica, the owner. We had a nice chat and she gave us advice about good restaurants where we could go eat. For the next day Monica organized for us a 4x4 trip we will never forget. She even woke us up in the morning like a caring mum :-). Very nice place to spend some relaxing time.

Room Tip: Rooms are all very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Desmond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We had to make a long drive to get here from Addo Elephant Park but the Helga stayed up to wait for us which we really appreciated. They booked us for the Sani Pass Jeep ride the following day with Stewart who really knew his stuff when it comes to birds. The gardens were magnificent and breakfast was delicious. There was only one other couple there so we had the whole house to ourselves. The only minor problem was the lack of air conditioning. We tried to open the windows but there were no screens and being summer in South Africa there were a few too many mosquitos.

Room Tip: The master bedroom is large and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wernickejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Pictures on internet not the same as it looks. I do not know if the rooms look like that inside the house? We booked the three rooms in the cottage in the garden. Staying at a 4 star place the previous night(for the same price range),we were very disappointed. It was freezing cold,no underfloor heating, no electric blankets,no fire place. Very clean, but very basic . Bathroom and kitchen needs upgrading

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilsedv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polo452, Manager at Cedar Garden Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

The Cottage has been upgraded since the visit and photos are available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We were delighted with our choice of a B and B at Cedar Garden. It is very pretty and set very conveniently on the edge of town in the Underberg. The rooms are beautifully laid out and every need is conveniently taken care of. The service was excellent and the breakfast was an absolute feast. Our room did not have a shower so ask for one with if that is your thing. For me I enjoyed a long deep bath with the plentiful hot water. The garden is very pretty with wonderful views of the Drakensberg. Highly recommended.
We had dinner at the Manor Inn which was very very good. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen312659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Underberg
15.5 mi away
Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
8.3 mi away
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
5.6 mi away
Premier Resort Sani Pass
Premier Resort Sani Pass
#2 of 2 in Himeville
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Elgin Guesthouse & Farm
Elgin Guesthouse & Farm
#4 of 13 in Underberg
37 reviews
8.4 mi away
Umzimkulu River Lodge
Umzimkulu River Lodge
#2 of 19 in Underberg
315 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Douglas Drift Cottages
#9 of 13 in Underberg
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Garden Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Garden Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1 Polo Street, Underberg 3257, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Underberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Underberg
Price Range: $70 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar Garden is a spacious, well-appointed home set in a large cared for garden in the popular village of Underberg. Our centrally upmarket Bed and Breakfast is the perfect base from which to explore the Southern Drakensberg. Enjoy the heart of South Africa's most scenic dairy farming area with cool, snowy winters or the sunny, temperate days of summer, spectacular autumn colours and blossoms in spring. We invite you to come and enjoy this stately home and be rejuvenated by our magnificent countryside. The hustle and bustle of city life will quickly be forgotten as you make yourself at home in our tranquil and picturesque setting. Cedar Garden has 12 bedrooms, double or single beds are available and linen, towels and toiletries are provided. To keep the winter chill at bay, electric blankets, heaters and hot water bottles are available. The lounge has a fireplace and DSTV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cedar Garden Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing