We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“penwarn country lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Penwarn Country Lodge
Reviewed October 23, 2013

friendly and accommodating staff, fantastic rooms, clean neat and well located.
food is great and selection also good
Cosy bar area
Ruban and Cheri - great people and may our stay memorable
awesome venue and great surrounding areas with great views

Room Tip: room near dam
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rr1241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 80 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

Beautiful place with excellent walks and birding. Vulture restaurant interesting extra!
Bowman the chef and his ladies went the extra mile.
A place where you can really relax and chill out.
Management very helpful.
We will definitely return.
Mtini self catering lodge looked an excellent option.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the lake would be a recommendation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HambaEastLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Penwarn ticks lots of boxes. Cherrie the manager spent almost an hour at the start of our trip showing us the ins and outs of the estate and the farming operations and fishing facilities. This meant that from the outstart we knew what to expect, where to go and what to do. It may have been Samuel Pepys who said the man who is bored with London is bored with life. The same can be said of Penwarn. If you find Penwarn boring you are probably a bore yourself and I'm afraid I don't have anything to offer you. If on the other hand you still feel the blood pumping through ye olde veins there is plenty at Penwarn. I have never seen over seventy Crowned Cranes perched in a field. I have never seen two wattled cranes fly overhead with their awkward squawking noises like a querrolous old couple. And the dams hold big fish. So big I thought I had the QE II attached to my black woolly bugger at one point. I never found out what precisely it was that snapped my 3x tippet like it was a spider's web. Views of the berg are spectacular. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markkyle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Quite the most magical place to stay with excellent accomodation, friendly and knowledgeable staff and what must be one of the finest horse studs in South Africa. The setting of majestic views of the Drakensberg combined with a wonderful showing of some of the finest horses and wild game makes this a must for serious travellers in Quazulu Natal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

One of the most beautiful, tranquil places on earth. Uninterrupted views of the majesty of the Drakensberg mountains. Caring staff, beautiful, comfortable accommodation and loads to do like fly fish, walks, horse ride. The horses are the gentlest I have ever experienced. This place restores the soul!

Room Tip: Mtini is first prize!!!! You will not regret it, its truly one of the worlds most beautiful views. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alida P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We got here with a normal sedan but a 4X4 would be recommended. Once you get there you will start thinking of ways never to leave. You have to relax but if you are the energetic type there is plenty to do, paddle on the dam, walk go horseriding. Nicest horses ever and I am not a horse fan in general. And so photographic it is just beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adeleben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOMMETT, Owner at Penwarn Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for your review!
We are so glad that you found our horses as wonderful as we do!
As to the photography - we wish we could carry a camera at all times as the mountains are never the same and after all these years of living her, we are still spellbound by the beauty around us!
Hope to see you when you travel next to the Southern Drakensberg!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I stayed here with 10 other people in January and this was absolutely my favorite place during my entire 3 week South African adventure. After you get past the shanty dirt/rocky road down to the main house, it's no doubt that you'll be swept away by the serene beauty of this farm. On your way down, you'll see many of wild animals and if you're lucky you'll see the zonkey. Ya that's right half zebra, half donkey!

The rooms are immaculate! We stayed in the biggest farm house (to hold 10 of us) and I can't tell you how impressed everyone was. Spotless, clean, beautifully decorated and comfortable. There is a large BBQ out back too! The hosts are amazing and Teenis (sorry not sure if spelling) was very helpful to us and gave us a lot of information about the wildlife and the farm itself. He'll show you great fishing spots and with his quirky sense of humor, he'll have you laughing a lot! We also signed up for a farm tour and horse back riding!

If you're looking for a quiet, peaceful place to stay in Underberg, this is by FAR the best choice. I believe they even do weddings!

I hope you have a great time, I'd go back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greenkitty007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOMMETT, Owner at Penwarn Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for your review!
A bit of hostory: Manor House was restored in 2011. This magestic sandstone house was built in 1896 and the craftmanship has to be admired! The handcrafted windows(that definitely are straight!), the wooden floors and even some of the glass are all the original put in by the first settlers!
We do do weddings and welcome couples to visit to look for their perfect destination!
We are so pleased you had a wonderful stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Underberg
13.4 mi away
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
13.4 mi away
Premier Resort Sani Pass
Premier Resort Sani Pass
#2 of 2 in Himeville
97 reviews
8.1 mi away
Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort
15 mi away
Umzimkulu River Lodge
Umzimkulu River Lodge
#2 of 19 in Underberg
315 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Shed
The Shed
#17 of 19 in Underberg
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penwarn Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penwarn Country Lodge

Address: Bushmans Nek Road | Penwarn Farm, Underberg 3257, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Underberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Underberg
Price Range: $36 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penwarn Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penwarn Country lodge is situated on the edge of the Ukhlthlamaba Drakensberg Park in the Southern Drakensberg, Kwazulu Natal, South Africa.Both hotel and self-catering accommodation is available. There are 2 hotel lodges and 4 self catering units that can accommodate from 2 to 14 people.Many activities are on offer - horse riding; farm tours of the dairy and horse-stud farm; birding; hiking; fishing are merely a few. Sani Pass tours are arranged for the guests with the local tour companies.Warm hospitality, relaxed atmosphere, good country dining are our some of our specialities!We look forward to your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Penwarn Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing