We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful getaway, great food, great hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amazian Mountain River Lodge
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful getaway, great food, great hosts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at this lodge for 5 nights from 23 - 28 July 2013 and had such an awesome time. Every meal is something to look forward to as they are very creative and tasty. No wonder this couple had a restaurant for many years and other's can really take note of their creative dishes. It is very clear when you book that this is for dinner, bed and breakfast so that makes it nice, because during the day a person can go sightseeing and grap something to eat for lunch along the way. However the one night my partner and i couldnt stay for dinner as we were going out, but it was Oxtail evening - the owners were so kind to save the dinner for us and we had it for lunch the next day.
The room wasl very well equiped and we wanted for nothing. Parking was available right next to the units. Nice snacks and drinks available in room at very reasonable prices.
We will definitely go back, next time in summer to try the river tubing. Sani Pass 4X4 trip is a must and can be arranged by the owner at Amazian - collection before and drop off after the trip is at the lodge.
Thanks Brent and Trudie for making our stay great!

Room Tip: Room nr 5 is very private and has a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheJonesesJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brents874, Owner at Amazian Mountain River Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Pauline and Francois

Thank you for the lovely review, it was great having you guys here and I will definitely give you guys an archery lesson next time

King Regards

Brent and Trudie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    13
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
2
45
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I recently visited the lodge for a second time, this time for 3 weeks, and as before I found the experience most enjoyable!

Despite the terrible cold, being winter, Brent and Trudie's warm hospitality, along with the company of fellow guests around the indoor fireplace we kept the cold at bay. The warm air-conditioned rooms ensured a warm and pleasant night's sleep.

The gourmet meals, as only Trudie can, were 'out of this world'!

Thank you Brent and Trudie. You will most definitely see us again!

Kind regards

Annette Els

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnetteEls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brents874, Owner at Amazian Mountain River Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Hi Annette

Thank you for such superb feedback, it was great having you here to do what you did , Thank You.
Hopefully Piet can join you next time.
As you mentioned the berg can be very cold in winter and it somehow has its own beauty which is enjoyed by many visitors to this area. We still have not had any snow as yet, but I should not talk to loudly

All the best

Regards

Brent and Trudie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Amazian for 3 nights recently and had a very pleasant stay. We found the new tar road a pleasure to get to the lodge. What we did enjoy about the lodge was the privacy. We were well prepared for the winter with warm clothing. The rooms are well furnished with a new eco friendly heating/cooling system
The food was superb, I recommend that Trudie write a cookbook. I did recommend that Trudie should advertise her culinary ability more on the web
We did the Sani Pass excursion from the lodge, it was a full days excursion and worth while doing should you have the time
Hope to be back in summer

Room Tip: King rooms have a wonderful view onto the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brents874, Owner at Amazian Mountain River Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi Dan

Good to meet you folks and thanks for the great review, I will mention the feedback to our Sani Guide

Regards

Brent and Trudie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

If you are looking for some where to stay where you are treated more than just a walking wallet I strongly suggest a visit to Amazian. Brent and Trudy, the hosts and owners of Amazian, are some of the most wonderful people you will meet. They take a genuine interest in their guests, from engaging conversations around the fire place, to giving advice on activities, they always go the extra mile. A great example of this was when we decided to do some archery, which is an activity they offer on site, Brent not only set everything up but took the time to explain proper technique as well as offering advice on how to get into the sport if we where interested.

The food was simply fantastic, in addition to it tasting amazing the presentation was brilliant. There is no set menu and every meal feels unique.

The rooms are cosy, well furnished and have plenty options for keeping warm in the cold berg winters. They come equipped with a Jacuzzi and shower. The pillows and duvets are all down, so prepare yourself for a snug sleep!

There is a wine cellar on site with wine tastings being offered. I found the wine tasting to be more informative than any I'd been to while in Capetown on my previous holiday. I also enjoyed that they only stock wines that they can by directly from the estates, this means you will find wines there that aren't normally found in our local stores as most are ear marked for export or sold directly to restaurants.

I definitely give Amazian a try.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendon1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brents874, Owner at Amazian Mountain River Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi Brendon and Melissa

Thanks you for such a great review, it is such a treat for us to have such wonderful guests return.


Much Appreciated


Regards

Brent and Trudie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Yes we know it gets cold in Underberg, but I guess that is why you would like a warm and cosy room.
The room was freezing upon arrival (perhaps a bit a thoughtfulness could be applied)
The 'climate control' is most likely for a smaller room as it never managed to make a difference to the room temperature
The underfloor heating was not working either.
Mr Price Home finishing - paying for Boardman's

The food was fantastic - but that was it. We cut our visit short (wrote off the money as school fees) and moved to Sani Valley Lodge - WOW what a difference.

Room Tip: Try Sani Valley Lodge - the WoW factor was overwhelming
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Johan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brents874, Owner at Amazian Mountain River Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Sir:

We wish to express our sincere thanks for taking a few minutes of your time to send us your concepts regarding the presentation of our facilities and our service throughout your experience with us.

We also wish to convey our sincere apologies for the remarks that we did get, specifically with regards to our Weatherly’s furniture and our new eco-friendly heating systems.
We are taking into account each valuable comment which will help us to constantly improve our services and procedures.
Comments like yours are the most important reason to continue to refine and improve our standards of service to all visitors.
We further understand that you did require a smoking room, and as indicted we were unable to supply

We hope that in the future you will allow us another opportunity to show our friendly and efficient service.

Sincerely


Brent Snyman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were the only guests but enjoyed a relaxing few days at the lodge. The room was very comfortable with superb views. The food was delicious, it's presentation was amazing.
We had a memorable day trip to Lesotho arranged by our hosts with whom we had some interesting and amusing chats. Thank you Trudie and Brent for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brents874, Owner at Amazian Mountain River Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thanks you so much for the wonderful feedback, its truly rewarding to have such great guests

Regards

Brent and Trudie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent two nights at Amazian. We were the only guests and had a very comfortable room with great views over the river. The breakfast and dinner were absolutely superb both in presentation and taste; this lady can cook! We enjoyed the tubing on the river and the Sani Pass tour organised for our second day. Yes, as some others have remarked, there are indemnity notices in abundance but I ignored them! We drove past the well known hotel nearby and concluded we had made the right choice as we enjoy solitude. I thought the price was right for the quality of the food.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roulade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Underberg
15.8 mi away
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
22.0 mi away
Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
12.4 mi away
Premier Hotel Sani Pass
Premier Hotel Sani Pass
#2 of 2 in Himeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Umzimkulu River Lodge
Umzimkulu River Lodge
#2 of 19 in Underberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
23.7 mi away
Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages
23.7 mi away
Khotso Adventure Farm
Khotso Adventure Farm
#3 of 19 in Underberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amazian Mountain River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazian Mountain River Lodge

Property: Amazian Mountain River Lodge
Address: Coleford Road, Underberg, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Underberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Underberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amazian Mountain River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Break away to Amazian Mountain River lodge in a Malaria free area, escape from the hustle and bustle of the city life and get pampered with personalized service in the ultimate tranquil surroundings at Amazian Mountain River Lodge. Amazian Mountain River Lodge is a privately owned lodge situated in the Southern Drakensberg, near the uKhahlamba World Heritage Site and Sanis Pass. the lodge is situated on the Umzimkulu river in a pristine valley Amazian Mountain River Lodge has a soft unobtrusive African theme taking rustic to the luxury levels. We pamper and spoil you. Amazian is the perfect place for a romantic Honeymoon. Escape to be de-stressed and recharged. We don't allow children, as this is a haven in order to rekindle your relationship with your partner or to just have a romantic "Spoil Yourself" break-away. Become one with nature and take timeout for yourself! Amazian Mountain River Lodge has seven rooms with ensuite spa baths The lodge in conjunction with its partners offers tours up the Legendary Sani Pass Have fun at night by meeting on our deck for sun downers. Amazian Mountain River Lodge offers a variety of activities from Aromatherapy Treatments, Romantic Horse Riding excursions, Quad Bike Picnics, hiking trails, walks and tubing on 4 KM river frontage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Amazian Mountain River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing