We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amazian Mountain River Lodge
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were the only guests but enjoyed a relaxing few days at the lodge. The room was very comfortable with superb views. The food was delicious, it's presentation was amazing.
We had a memorable day trip to Lesotho arranged by our hosts with whom we had some interesting and amusing chats. Thank you Trudie and Brent for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brents874, Owner at Amazian Mountain River Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thanks you so much for the wonderful feedback, its truly rewarding to have such great guests

Regards

Brent and Trudie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    13
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
2
45
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent two nights at Amazian. We were the only guests and had a very comfortable room with great views over the river. The breakfast and dinner were absolutely superb both in presentation and taste; this lady can cook! We enjoyed the tubing on the river and the Sani Pass tour organised for our second day. Yes, as some others have remarked, there are indemnity notices in abundance but I ignored them! We drove past the well known hotel nearby and concluded we had made the right choice as we enjoy solitude. I thought the price was right for the quality of the food.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roulade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Trudie and Brent were very hospitable, the food was good but too rich for our party of 4.Once we told Trudie we preferred simpler food, the quality stayed the same but the menu changed accordingly.Her muffins were excellent, a different flavour every morning at breakfast. Dont stay here if you want plain,simple food!
They arranged a trip to Sani Pass with Rudi and his 4x4. It was the highlight of our trip and can't recommend it highly enough. The views from the top in Lesotho were spectacular. A must! The views from our rooms were also great, with a very large bed and the only noise were from the birds singing in the morning. As another reviewer commented there is only one channel on the TV but that wasn't a priority for us. The downside for us was the toilet in the bathroom with no door or wall to the bedroom, just hidden by a screen. Also even with the lights on it was very dull in the room at night. Apart from this we had a lovely stay at Amazian

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eatoutgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Good food, lovely accommodation, excellent hosts. Meticulous attention to detail. Well done! Close to all attractions e.g. the Sani Pass into Lesotho. AND a room with a view. AND even gym facilities. Will certainly make a point of returning.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VvdW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

The good:
- Superb food. Hearty meals that are impressively presented
- Wonderful hosts who you can spend hours in conversation with
- Nice TV lounge, outside boma/games lounge & pool area

The not so good:
- TV in room only on one channel
- Rooms a bit cramped, and walls a too thin if you have neighbours
- Felt more like a B&B than lodge at times
- Was on the expensive side for the overall experience

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LordUlli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brents874, Owner at Amazian Mountain River Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Sir:

We wish to express our sincere thanks for taking a few minutes of your time to send us your concepts regarding the presentation of our facilities and our service throughout your experience with us.

We also wish to convey our sincere apologies for the remarks that we did get,
We are taking into account each valuable comment which will help us to constantly improve our services and procedures.
Comments like yours are the most important reason to continue to refine and improve our standards of service to all visitors.


We hope that in the future you will allow us another opportunity to show our friendly and efficient service.

Sincerely


Brent Snyman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We visited Amazian Mountain River Lodge in July 2012 and hoped for a relaxing get-away. We experienced that, and so much more! The scenery was absolutely breath-taking, the hospitality was warm and the food was exquisite! The rooms were very comfortable and had a lovely view of the mountain and river. Brent and Trudie were the perfect hosts and made us feel more than welcome. Trudie's food was divine!!! We really enjoyed the wine tasting afternoon with Brent. Our experience at Amazian Lodge was food for the soul, and we will most definitely be planning a return visit. Tiaan and Michelle.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

We had a good rest and were ready for the New Year and its challenges. The view was picture perfect and the food divine. Brent and Trudie handled us like royalty and nothing, no matter how small, was too much effort for them. The rooms were of high quality and very clean and comfortable. The variety of wine from which we could choose was extensive and the price was excellent. We strongly recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Underberg
15.8 mi away
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
22.0 mi away
Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
12.4 mi away
Premier Hotel Sani Pass
Premier Hotel Sani Pass
#2 of 2 in Himeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Umzimkulu River Lodge
Umzimkulu River Lodge
#2 of 19 in Underberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
23.7 mi away
Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages
23.7 mi away
Khotso Adventure Farm
Khotso Adventure Farm
#3 of 19 in Underberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amazian Mountain River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazian Mountain River Lodge

Property: Amazian Mountain River Lodge
Address: Coleford Road, Underberg, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Underberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Underberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amazian Mountain River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Break away to Amazian Mountain River lodge in a Malaria free area, escape from the hustle and bustle of the city life and get pampered with personalized service in the ultimate tranquil surroundings at Amazian Mountain River Lodge. Amazian Mountain River Lodge is a privately owned lodge situated in the Southern Drakensberg, near the uKhahlamba World Heritage Site and Sanis Pass. the lodge is situated on the Umzimkulu river in a pristine valley Amazian Mountain River Lodge has a soft unobtrusive African theme taking rustic to the luxury levels. We pamper and spoil you. Amazian is the perfect place for a romantic Honeymoon. Escape to be de-stressed and recharged. We don't allow children, as this is a haven in order to rekindle your relationship with your partner or to just have a romantic "Spoil Yourself" break-away. Become one with nature and take timeout for yourself! Amazian Mountain River Lodge has seven rooms with ensuite spa baths The lodge in conjunction with its partners offers tours up the Legendary Sani Pass Have fun at night by meeting on our deck for sun downers. Amazian Mountain River Lodge offers a variety of activities from Aromatherapy Treatments, Romantic Horse Riding excursions, Quad Bike Picnics, hiking trails, walks and tubing on 4 KM river frontage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Amazian Mountain River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing