We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Umbrella Tree House
Ranked #12 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Atttractive, clean room with fantastic balcony with sea view; not huge but very comfortable. The communal areas were very pleasant - attractive lounge and access to kitchen. Excellent breakfast with hot choices and wonderful fresh fruit, all very attractive. The host was extremely helpful and personable. That said though you had to leave the room to make tea (situated in the lounge, not the room); the bathroom was a little dated. Overall though very pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amzeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thanks for the lovely reveiw :) You are quite right, the bathrooms need a facelift - I keep telling everyone it is going to be happening just as soon as I can figure out when I can close the rooms - obviously I forgot to tell you - hahaha! We didn't have much cash available when we set up, so the builder, bless his heart, chose the most budget fittings he could find. Anyway, will be happening in November. About the tea / coffee station. I absolutely loathe that fake, long-life milk and would rather die than drink it myself. So I provide fresh milk which has to be kept in the fridge and there just isn't space in the bedrooms for fridges. I'm keeping my eye out for those dinky little fridges that are the size of a cooler box, but they're wickedly expensive. Glad you had a good stay all the same :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Umbrella Tree House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 112 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

Friendly and welcoming service. Excellent breakfast. Lovely rooms with beautiful views. Good location. Amenities good. Personal interaction with hosts. Had a great time. Will make use of this guesthouse again,

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lietta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Hi Lietta, Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have stayed at Umbrella Tree House three times and find it convenient and comfortable. Lesley, the owner, is very friendly and goes out of her way to help all guests. The place is in a great location and feels quite relaxing and private, away from all the noise.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DeborahAremband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thanks for the lovely review Debbie. Always a pleasure to have you. See you same time next year :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Spent one night as a couple at the Umbrella Tree House in Umhlanga. The owner Lesley, was a wonderful dynamic host and personally cooked the breakfasts. Room was very comfortable with Satellite television and a balcony with lovely sea views. I can definitely recommend a stay at this establishment as it is close to Gateway Theater of Shopping, and bathing beaches.
Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLubbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thanks so much for the review! It was lovely having you. All the best with the little newcomer :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Comfortable and pleasant rooms opening onto a balcony and lovely views over Umhlanga Rocks and the sea beyond. A short drive down to the beach and shorefront promenades. The hosts are friendly and efficient. Price includes a delicious breakfast with fresh fruit and good coffee!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jeanette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I recently attended a conference in Umhlanga and stayed overnight at Umbrella tree. What a treat. I was just sorry the visit was so short . Lesley as very friendly and had a delicious brekkie. The view from the rooms was amazing with a lovely sunrise. Close to all needs. Even managed a walk along the promenade. Must visit again. But on a holiday.........Excellent directions.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thanks so much for the lovely review. Next time you will have to come for longer :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Whenever people form our company travel, Umbrella Tree house is always the first choice. The location is ideal and the owner, Lesley, always ensures that everyone is at ease and enjoying the stay. We will most certainly check in at Umbrella Tree house when next we travel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cornedejager1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you so much for the lovely review - my first corporate review, so that's great! I have so many corporate regulars and it's lovely now to have a review from one of my regulars. It's always a pleasure to have you guys - you are lovely easy guests :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.9 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
352 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,857 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
408 reviews
0.9 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manaar House
Manaar House
#3 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umbrella Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umbrella Tree House

Address: 37 Hilken Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $64 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Umbrella Tree House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely self-contained B&B, separate from main house. We offer a clean, comfortable and relaxed stay in the heart of Umhlanga. Close to all main attractions and business areas. All three en-suite bedrooms have beautiful sea views, TV, aircon and ceiling fans. Other perks include swimming pool, DSTV, laundry service, tea & coffee, secure parking, internet access, wireless hotspot. Delicious full breakfasts served. Separate 1 roomed suite has its own kitchen and en-suite bathroom with separate bath and walk-in shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Umbrella Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing