We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our overnight stay at Umbrella Tree House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Umbrella Tree House
Ranked #12 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Umbrella Tree House, because we were welcomed and shown our room in a friendly and personal way.
The room was neat, clean and cozy. The bedding was grand.
We liked the balcony, to watch the sunrise and the lovely breakfast on the deck.
We only stayed one night, but it was a lovely experience. Thanks!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

I am so glad you had a 'lovely experience'. It's what I like to hear from my guests :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Umbrella Tree House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 112 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great view, stunning room, Lovely host! We had the best time. The Umbrella Tree House really made us feel at home (in a good way). Very cosy, comfortable, modern and unique. Thank you for having us Lesley! xx


  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TarynC626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thanks so much for the review. It was a pleasure having you! Do come again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

A wonderful retreat into the suburbs of Umhlanga Rocks, Durban, SA
Exceptional service: being personally looked after by the owner, always a recipe for success!
Stunning views over the ocean from all the rooms all of which have balconies
Our unit was in tip-top condition, clean and neat, nice comfy bed.
5 min by car to the beach and amenities. Huge shopping centre (Gateway) 10 min away)
Only 1 minor hassle (not the owner's fault): security parking has steep, difficult access

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MikeO568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thanks so much for your lovely review. I am really happy that you enjoyed your stay. I loved having you guys stay here and thoroughly enjoyed the company. We had some wonderful chats :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The service and host were very nice and the breakfast very furnished.
Very good accomodation for a few days. Just the size of the room a bit too small for a long stay.
The location is perfect if you have a car.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Claire297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a pleasant stay at Umbrella Tree House. The view from the bedrooms are stunning and having the option of taking all three rooms and having a self catering unit was fantastic for our holiday. The only complaints we had were that the wi-fi only worked when hanging over the balconies in the rooms as the signal strength did not cover the accommodation section but was more for the main house. We didn't feel comfortable using the pool which was on the other side of the house and as such more a part of the main house.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaFamiliaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to do a review - very happy to hear you had a pleasant stay. Apologies for the Wi-Fi. We have tried moving the router and booster around to improve the signal which seems to have worked. It also depends on the device being used. Some guests had no problem with the signal while others did battle a bit. The pool is in the main part of the garden, but it is very much available for guests. Most of the year the pool area is unused by anyone, but in December we do tend to be around more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

A beautiful garden setting. The rooms are modern with great finishes. There is a view of the ocean and a pool. Wi-Fi is available. It is located close to the nightlife Umhlanga offers.Much better than an impersonal hotel room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dimitri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Umbrella Tree is everything you would want from a B&B, we were 3 couples who stayed in the top house which was self contained with the kitchen and a seating/relaxing area with TV. We had great views towards the sea! Lesley the was lovely and did a great breakfast (fab fruit platter!). She was really interesting and helpful, loaned us beach towels so we didnt have to buy them and gave suggestions for where to go. All rooms have air con and and were very clean. The B&B is in a good spot and we walked to the 'village' regularly, about a ten minute walk, to the bars, restaurants, shoops and beach.
Would thorougly recommend this B&B. Thanks Lesley!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree House, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thanks so muchf for the lovely review. I am so glad that you had a good time here. I really enjoyed having you guys stay. I must confess, I missed you all when you left! I shall always remember my poached egg eating ironers :) Do pass on best wishes to the whole crowd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.9 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
350 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,856 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
407 reviews
0.9 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manaar House
Manaar House
#3 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umbrella Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umbrella Tree House

Address: 37 Hilken Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $64 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Umbrella Tree House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely self-contained B&B, separate from main house. We offer a clean, comfortable and relaxed stay in the heart of Umhlanga. Close to all main attractions and business areas. All three en-suite bedrooms have beautiful sea views, TV, aircon and ceiling fans. Other perks include swimming pool, DSTV, laundry service, tea & coffee, secure parking, internet access, wireless hotspot. Delicious full breakfasts served. Separate 1 roomed suite has its own kitchen and en-suite bathroom with separate bath and walk-in shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Umbrella Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing