We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Umbrella Tree House
Ranked #13 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Room with a view”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

A beautiful garden setting. The rooms are modern with great finishes. There is a view of the ocean and a pool. Wi-Fi is available. It is located close to the nightlife Umhlanga offers.Much better than an impersonal hotel room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dimitri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    47
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
48
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Eltham
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Umbrella Tree is everything you would want from a B&B, we were 3 couples who stayed in the top house which was self contained with the kitchen and a seating/relaxing area with TV. We had great views towards the sea! Lesley the was lovely and did a great breakfast (fab fruit platter!). She was really interesting and helpful, loaned us beach towels so we didnt have to buy them and gave suggestions for where to go. All rooms have air con and and were very clean. The B&B is in a good spot and we walked to the 'village' regularly, about a ten minute walk, to the bars, restaurants, shoops and beach.
Would thorougly recommend this B&B. Thanks Lesley!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree House, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks so muchf for the lovely review. I am so glad that you had a good time here. I really enjoyed having you guys stay. I must confess, I missed you all when you left! I shall always remember my poached egg eating ironers :) Do pass on best wishes to the whole crowd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwijndrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Umbrella Tree House B and B is a very nice accomodation with a beautiful view over the Indian ocean.Lizley, the owner is a wonderful host, she provided great advice on near by restaurants and places to visit. She twice made a very nice cooked breakfast and gave us a idea of the life in South-Africa. It was a very comfortable stay and we would recommend Umbrella Tree House B and B.
Hans & Linda

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindavg v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Wonderful accomodation with great views and beautiful clean room. The management were extremely helpful and attentive with great advice and recommendations for the area. Wonderful breakfast - they even had marmite!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laura2526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesPats, Owner at Umbrella Tree House, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. And thank you for taking the trouble to do a review on Tripadvisor - I really appreciate it. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

The Umbrella Tree is a truly personal experience. Our host, Lesley, is a marvel. Apart from serving up a wonderful breakfast she is a mine of information on the local area and will fix anything that needs fixing - guides, restaurants, and everything you need to know She really is a star. The accommodation is very clean and tidy and we felt very much at home including TV if you need it and wi-fi. The Umbrella Tree is about a 15 mnute walk from the beach, the shops, restairants, the lighthouse and The Oyster Box, a local colonial left-over that is definitely worth a visit. We enjoyed our visit and wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAJDOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

This small, very personal hotel is very nice indeed. It is situated some 15 minutes walk from the beach area with beatuful view of the Indian Ocean. The rooms are very clean and well designed
and the public areas are roomy and comfortable. Breakfeast is generous served at a time you decide, cooked by the lady of the manor. We have only very good words to spread, and are very happy to recommend this small intimate hotel to anybody who wants a good place to stay in very nice area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kattensvenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I was passing through Durban twice in the past month and stayed at the Umbrella Tree House B and B both times. Not only is it very convenient to the airport, but the accommodation is very comfortable and Lesley is a wonderful host. She provided great advice on near by restaurants, arranged for taxis both to/from the airport and locally and made a very nice cooked breakfast. It was a very comfortable stay and I would recommend Umbrella Tree House B and B without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizR02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
270 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,757 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#8 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,026 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gateway Country Lodge
Gateway Country Lodge
#11 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umbrella Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umbrella Tree House

Property: Umbrella Tree House
Address: 37 Hilken Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Umbrella Tree House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely self-contained B&B, separate from main house. We offer a clean, comfortable and relaxed stay in the heart of Umhlanga. Close to all main attractions and business areas. All three en-suite bedrooms have beautiful sea views, TV, aircon and ceiling fans. Other perks include swimming pool, DSTV, laundry service, tea & coffee, secure parking, internet access, wireless hotspot. Delicious full breakfasts served. Separate 1 roomed suite has its own kitchen and en-suite bathroom with separate bath and walk-in shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Umbrella Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing