We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best peri peri chicken in the world!”
Review of Angelos

Angelos
Ranked #23 of 131 Restaurants in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best peri peri chicken in the world!”
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Been going to this restaurant for many years. The service is great, atmosphere warm and welcoming and the prices are fair.

I've never been overly impressed with their pizzas but their meat dishes and wine selection are great.

The best thing on the menu is their peri peri baby chicken. Mouthwatering!!!!

Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre d, Owner at Angelos, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Thank you for your review David

Very pleased you enjoy our Peri Peri Chicken.

Kind regards,
Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    78
    18
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza and pasta”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Our family was in umhlanga and decided to try Angelos. What a surprise we got. Very good pizza and pasta and the service was excellent. Highly recommended

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cornél E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre d, Owner at Angelos, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Thank you for your recommendation.

Very pleased you enjoyed your meals.

Kind regards,
Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Angelo's”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Fabulous food. Massive portions. Best to book or you'll get a table tucked away near the kitchen instead of in the breezier outer area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FionaJeanWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre d, Owner at Angelos, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Fiona,
Thank you for your review, much appreciated.
Regards,
Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Value, Great Food, Great Service”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I found this restaurant from Trip Advisor. It did not disappoint or let me down. I ate here over a 2 night period and both times the food was well cooked, well priced and delivery very efficiently. I did not have any issues with the place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edvard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre d, Owner at Angelos, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your review.
Very pleased you enjoyed your meals, and hope to see you back again on your next visit.
Regards,
Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Not as good as previous visits”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We have been to this restaurant on a few occasions over the years when in SA and were keen to visit once more when we arrived in Umhlanga Rocks.

Unfortunately our experience this time was rather poor. I ordered the seafood risotto which contained very little seafood - just a big load of rice. My partner ordered Kingklip which was overcooked.

We were disappointed and have not returned during our 6 week stay in Umhlanga.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre d, Owner at Angelos, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
It is a pity that you did not bring this to my attention at the time as I would have rectified it immediately. This is an owner run restaurant so there is someone there every night. Unfortunately posting on this forum after the event (without me being aware that you were not happy) - leaves nothing that can be done. It is also a pity that after numerous enjoyable meals at Angelos you would chose to let one 'experience' tarnish your opinion of my establishment.
Regards, Pierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelos also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Angelos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing