We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly, dirty and not welcoming at all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Loggia B&B and Gateway Apartments
Ranked #19 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We arrived at 7pm and Ingrid was very stressed. She gave us the key and showed us our room (with the atmosphere of a big, unclean russian house of pleasure) in less than 3min, than she disappeared to her veranda to sat down - problably with her husband - and gave us an annoyed look.
We felt very unwelcome and were happy to leave early the next morning. We wouldn't want to use any of the facilities, esp. the pool, which looked as if it had not been cleaned for months.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Svenja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 102 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Although the room was lovely the breakfast option was lacking. As a vegetarian I was not catered for.
But the lay out and general decor of the property was just stunning.
We'll definitely return. The pool area was very colourful as was the outside couches.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at La Loggia in July 2013. Expectations were great, experience did not meet them at all!
Swimmingpool more than dirty. Reception not friendly. Floors not clean. Bathroom worn out and in great need for some necessary maintenance. Not to mention, again, not clean.
We stayed in two rooms and for one room we can mention that the sheets were dirty and the mattress had BUGS! One little tip: less sheets, blankets, cushions etc etc: it helps avoiding dust.
It might be an idea to also clean the fridges outside at the honesty bar. Oh and fill them!
Ingrid does not understand the job of hotellier. Not polite, eating her breakfast while receiving our payment, staying seated when we arrived etc etc. Her husband did not greet at all and hence did not really contribute to our welbeing.
And we can go on. To wash away the experience we decided not to have breakfast at La Loggia (as we could imagine how it would taste) and allow us to have a decent one at a good place elsewhere in town.
Four stars from tourism grading council? Not at all!
Hans, Freek, Karin and Dominic

Room Tip: Go to another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dominic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

After a bad experience in Port Elizabeth at a Guesthouse which had amazing reviews and an excellent website with a virtual tour and pictures, I was not sure what to expect at La Loggia. We had booked for 10 nights and paid the 50% deposit as required by Ingrid. I was a little nervous driving up the drive way as I now knew from my PE experience that pictures are not always what they seem.

We had chosen the self catering apartment with a balcony and sea views which was Suite 4 and in the pictures on La Loggia website it looked amazing. Well... We were not let down; the apartment was exactly as the pictures on the La Loggia website show. The apartment was fresh, clean, spacious and comfortable. When we arrived the beds and rooms had Hibiscus flowers thrown around which was a sweet added touch.

We then decided to stay an extra 3 nights more and we were moved to The Cottage apartment for the duration of our stay.

My only complaint about our 11 nights stay in the sea facing apartment with balcony which was Suite 4 was that the balcony was a communal balcony of two other rooms and also the smoking area as the rooms have a no smoking policy. We had our doggies with us as the Guesthouse is pet friendly, we could not keep the doors open as smoke would waft into our apartment. Also we could not leave the curtains open to experience the beautiful sea views as people would be sitting at the tables provided and be able to look into our entire apartment as well as the bedroom and take away our privacy. The stairs leading up to the apartment are VERY steep, I felt bad for my mum who does not do well with stairs. None the less, the apartment was cleaned once a day and linen changed every 2 or 3 days. I noticed that the staff’s uniforms also changed every 2-3 days which is nice to know as then you know it’s clean and Ingrid looks after them. I had wifi internet for the duration of my stay at no extra cost, we opted to have breakfast once or twice at an extra cost, we asked Ingrid if my sister could join us sometimes if we have breakfast and her fiancée once as well if he could join us and we pay the extra she said this was fine and had no problem with it, we just had to take not of how many breakfasts we had during the duration of our stay.

It was great to have breakfast outside under the thatched roofing and next to the pool, there was also an honesty bar for some drinks if you needed on your stay. Ingrid provided all the needs for a braai ( barbeque) the charcoal, firelighters, utensils etc at no extra charge. There is complimentary coffee and tea all day at the pool, you just help yourself. Also if you want to have a dip in the pool, towels are provided just ask the staff.

After 11 nights we then moved to The Cottage which was not sea facing and was near the main parking area above the guesthouse, the parking area is very squashed, there is 8 rooms and only 8 parking bays, 5 above and three below. The above parking you battle a bit to turn your car around or you have to reverse down the driveway. The cottage was a lot darker than the sea facing apartment and was also very clean and just as the pictures on the website show. All rooms are air conditioned which helps in the humid Durban summers. Both apartments had all the necessary utensils needed for a self catering apartment. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at La Loggia and will definitely go back if we ever in that part of town again. Thank you Ingrid, Jane and team for a wonderful 2 week stay.

Room Tip: Suite 4 has amazing sea views but note balcony is shared with 2 other rooms and is the smoking area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chefsam77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Thank you for a perfect stay. This B & B can only highly recommend it. Rooms are exactly like the catalog, cleaned daily, the entire staff do their best to stay more enjoyable. Obviously there was also ensuring excursions, advice what to see in the vicinity, as well as the provision of transport. really thank you Mrs. Ingrid Gelman and team.

Room Tip: Guests will have a really wide variety of rooms with balcony and an ocean, and apartments. Ideal for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julius3543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

La Loggia is not worth staying there. It is not easy to find a place to stay in Durban / Umhlanga during the peak season. Still, this place it not worth staying. The pool was very dirty with old leaves fallen from a tree. The manager is just rude but the staff nice. The rooms are tiny, clean tough.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

A sweet, cosy, basic, well-located bnb. When there were problems, the hostess offered quick solutions. The place is probably priced the way it is on the basis of its location. The pool area was fun in the evenings.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umhlanga Rocks
1.1 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
366 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
414 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Regal Inn Umhlanga
#1 of 1 in Umhlanga
8 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coastlands Umhlanga
Coastlands Umhlanga
#9 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
355 reviews
0.7 mi away
HoneyPot B&B
HoneyPot B&B
#6 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Loggia B&B and Gateway Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Loggia B&B and Gateway Apartments

Address: 57 Herrwood Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $50 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Loggia B&B and Gateway Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your La Loggia B&B and Gateway Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing