We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal Business Accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sylvan Grove Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sylvan Grove Guest House
Ranked #6 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
1 review
“Ideal Business Accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Well appointed, comfortable, desk + light, strong Wi fi, friendly hosts, beautiful area, just what a business traveller needs, close to local shops with a wide selection of eateries, 20 mins from the airport

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    34
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
38
11
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Was in Durban for business, what a nice place to stay for the night. The room was in perfect state with a lovely big bathroom. The most friendliest of hosts and the breakfast is to die for.
Thanks for the stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dezso S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richards Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I bought tickets to watch a show at the Barnyard Theatre and decided to spend the night in Umhlanga Rocks. We stayed at the Sylvan Grove Guesthouse, and I must say it was a pleasant night.

The guesthouse is located in a very nice area of Umhlanga, and is only about 10 minutes away from the Gateway Mall.

It was a pretty quiet area. We were a bit worried at first because we heard a neighbor's dog barking early evening, and we hoped it wouldn't continue that way, like some dogs would. But by the time we came home from the show, it was all quiet.

The room was very clean, smelled clean too. It was not very big, but spacious enough for us to move around with ease. The bed was comfortable, and the white sheets were so nice and soft.

The bathroom and shower were also very clean and were also pretty spacious, though the shelves available were very narrow, we didn't have space to put our personal stuff.

The room had a view of the sea, so we watched a few boats out at sea, and at night, we could sea the lights coming from the boats, which was an interesting sight.

The breakfast was ok, nothing fantastic. There was a cold selection of fruits and yogurt and cereals, flap jacks, cheese, and the usual coffee and fruit juices. And then a hot breakfast selection of toasts, French toasts, croissant, bacon and eggs. Jill, our host, was there, personally attending to the guests. She was really nice.

The only thing we found problematic was the dining area. We didn't have a problem at breakfast because we were up early and there were only 2 couples (us and another one) in the dining area at that time, so we didn't feel so cramped. But by the time we checked out, the dining area was full, and people had to stand up and make some space so we could pass through to get out. We had to pass by the dining area to get to and from our room. It was a squeeze with our bags.

There was also the smell of cooking at the stairs, because it was near the kitchen. Good thing it didn't get through to the room, otherwise it wouldn't be pleasant. I really don't like the smell of cooking in a room.

Overall, it was a nice stay and we would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 which has a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stillfromthesouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Excellent place to stay, with great attention to detail. Jill & Chris are warm and friendly hosts and are very willing to share their great personal knowledge of the area. Breakfasts are excellent, and the Wi-Fi works and is free. I think its my 6th visit, and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our motor camper tour of South Africa was brought to a sudden halt when my husband developed a heart problem and was admitted to hospital and I needed urgent accommodation close to the hospital. Jill and Chris were so helpful and supportive even providing a hug when needed. Lovely clean accommodation overlooking the garden and pool, the best omlettes possible for breakfast, the free internet was a boon for keeping in touch with family. We didn't see as much of South Africa as planned. If we ever get the opportunity to return I would certainly re-visit Sylvan Grove.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizLes426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Jill and Chris have offered us the most warm-hearted reception we could imagine, making us really feeling we were at home. Cleanliness and equipment of the room was perfect in every way. Breakfast was excellent and internet was free. we could not imagine of a better way to discover Durban, where we never had been before, I would heartly recommend the place to anyone who goes there. Only flaw maybe was the location, a bit far from the beach and city center by foot (ca 15 mn walking), but this was easily balanced by how pleasant and friendly the house was.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Clean, professional, friendly and can highly recommend it. Beautiful area and 5 min drive from the beach and lovely restuarants. Ate at Olive and Oil and can highly recommend that to. Family room was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MarkU639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manaar House
Manaar House
#1 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvan Grove Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvan Grove Guest House

Property: Sylvan Grove Guest House
Address: 49 Sylvan Grove | Herrwood Park, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sylvan Grove Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sylvan Grove is a 4 Star Guest House situated in a quiet residential area of Umhlanga Rocks, with a tranquil tropical garden, inviting swimming pool and prolific bird life facing the Indian Ocean. Our double rooms have en-suite bathrooms, air-conditioning, ceiling fans, complimentary tea & coffee facilities, hairdryers, bar fridges, safes, telephones, wireless internet & satellite TV. Secure parking on the property. Night guard on duty every evening. The swimming beaches with lifeguards on duty, Gateway Shopping and Entertainment Centre and an extensive choice of restaurants are within a few kilometers. For the sports enthusiasts there are numerous facilities nearby, tennis, bowls, gym, nature walks, deep sea fishing, scuba diving and micro light flying are activities which can easily be arranged. Our coast is renowned for its scenic and world class golf courses. Dolphin and Whale watching, deep sea fishing and scuba diving launch from our local beach. We are a 15 minute drive from the Durban CBD, International Conference Centre, uShaka Marine World, Sibaya and Suncoast Casinos. Umhlanga and La Lucia Ridge Business Parks are close by. The World Heritage Sites of the St. Lucia Wetlands and the Drakensberg Mountains and The Big 5 Game Parks are a 2 hours drive. Children over 5 year welcome. Local and national sight seeing tours arranged. Onsite parking. Airport (20km) and local transfers by arrangement. Major credit cards welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sylvan Grove Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing