We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply excellent !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Teremok Marine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Teremok Marine
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“simply excellent !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

We stayed at the Teremok Marine Lodge for 4 days/3 nights, and we felt utterly pampered during our entire stay. The lodge is a very relaxing place to be, decorated with taste, and with a very "zen" feeling to it all. We just loved our room, it was just so beautiful and cozy ! We stayed in the "Zodiac" room.
Paul at reception made our stay that much more special, he gladly drove us to and from restaurants, cinemas, etc - even though we were quite willing to take a taxi - nothing was too much for him, and every question we had was met with a genuine smile.
Service at the Teremok Marine is quite unique as well.. we had been travelling the country for over 3 weeks, and we had quite a bit of laundry to do, Teremok Marine took care of that for us, free of charge, and delivered everything back washed and ironed the very next day - we were very happy about that !
Breakfast at the Teremok is out of this world - absolutely everything we tried was just beyond delicious.. The homemade cakes and breads, the fruit salads/fruit skewers, the smoothies, the coffee, the cooked breakfasts...the "wow effect" was definately present at breakfast.
My partner and I have travelled quite a bit, and we both agree the Teremok is our favorite place so far - if we ever go back to the Durban area, we will go back there, no question about it.
Umhlanga Rocks is a nice place not too far from Durban, but out of the big-city rush so it is quite relaxing but it does offer entertainment if you feel like leaving the hotel (which, by the way, most of the time you won't want to do), but it is not a "dormant" village either, so you don't feel completely isolated like you would in Ballito for instance (which is far too residential to be interesting).
For those who like to do some sports, the gym is great (treadmill, bike, weights, etc), otherwise there is a boardwalk on the beach, which is great for running or walking. You can reach the boardwalk easily on foot from the hotel.
All in all, a great stay, great people, great food !

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMandGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    14
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
36
167
30
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Knowle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

Four of us stayed at Teremok for a relax week following game drives at Kuname River Lodge, drive to White River (Olivers) and drive to Ladysmith (Three Trees at Spion Kop). Bit difficult to find but then we had been driving for nine hours and Umhlanga Rocks was much bigger and busier than we expected. Teremok was everything in other reports and on website - beautifully furnished with every attention to detail. The staff are excellent, notably Paul who drove us to and from restaurants (this is a service provided by Teremok though it is supposedly safe to walk in the evenings) TK and Martia served us superb breakfasts. Teremok has an excellent manager in Minette. The rooms are gorgeous but I personally disliked ours, which was Zodiac. As we were there for seven nights I just found it too dark but as soon as Minette realised she moved us to Vladikin which was much better. I had a lovely body wrap in the beauty room and the products were gorgeous - the ambience though not as luxurious as the hotel but the gym apparatus looked first class (didn't try them - too energetic for me!). Though I was tempted to take exercise with the Springboks when we walked in on them doing their press-ups in the grounds of the Beverley Hills Hotel! We chose not to stay there when arranging our holiday on reading the more negative reviews on TA. We are glad we chose Teremok instead, it is a classy boutique type hotel with superb staff and service. Only negative is the sun disappears from the pool by 3.00 pm.

The best restaurant we visited was Il Maurice.

Wish we were there now!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon&Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
128 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2009

This was another visit by us to Teremok Lodge for business in the area.

I have to write another review on the establishment , as it deserves every compliment posted and written. The individually decorated rooms (as I was booked into a different one than my previous visit) are exotic in every sense. Huge by comparison to other establishment, with everything you can think of. All amenities are thought of in the smallest detail with even a goody bag underneath the basin with torch, matches and other usefull stuff. The beds & linen is of the best quality and huge.

Breakfast in the morning is also wonderful with everything being made fresh in the breakfast area in the open-plan kitchen. This truly makes you feel at home, as it feels as if you're in an old friend's home. The view onto the massive tree outside always makes me smile. The food is excellent.

I must compliment the staff and management of this establishment for everything their doing to make every stay there special. It is definitely a place to go to if you want to stay in the area.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitxcoac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2009

The design and attention to detail of this gem of a hotel makes it stand out from the crowd. We loved the location, views ( including the ships !), the quality of the furnishings and the breakfast. The Spa is a special treat. If you go to Durban don't miss this place.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaworsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2009

It has taken me a while to write this review as I felt like I wanted to keep this place a secret and all to myself.
There is virtually nothing left to say about it that hasnt already been said by the previous reviewers.
Unbeatable, wonderful, luxury!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy_acacia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2008

Simply awesome. Lovely setting, lovely people, lovely rooms.

Staff here are amazing. There is not one sign of anything less than 5 star in this place.

The rooms are tremendous, with every inch signifying luxury.

Breakfast again top draw!!! made to order, with a fantastic setting.

The only little catch is that food isnt cooked there in the evening, so had to get food on order, but these guys do that for you as well. To be honest that food was great that was delivered as well.

People should come here. Its not on the beach, but its totally stunning.

  • Liked — The staff and service
  • Disliked — No 24 hour room service.. I am spoilt
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank spudLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2008

Such a great hotel! Loved everything about it. The rooms were gorgeous, we stayed in Durban View which was great. Breakfast is amazing and staff very friendly. Very cool hotel, with nice touches like binoculars to watch birds and sketch pads and pencils in the rooms.
Loved the fact that they would send a car out to pick you up from the local town when you went out for dinner. I stay in 5* hotels allover the world and this compared really well. Loved it...
close to the beach too....

  • Liked — Cool, chic, fashionable, but not too expensive
  • Disliked — Might be building work going on next door for a while, check when booking.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Oscarlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.6 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aha Royal Palm
Aha Royal Palm
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teremok Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teremok Marine

Property: Teremok Marine
Address: 49 Marine Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Teremok Marine 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Umhlanga, and walking distance from the beach, lies Teremok Marine, an award-winning five-star boutique lodge and spa. All eight suites are uniquely designed and boast extra-length beds, air-conditioning, private balconies, showers, baths, double basins and separate toilets with bidets. Extras include LCD screens and DVD players, iPod docking stations, and complimentary ADSL internet in every room. Teremok also has a Spa facility, gym and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Teremok Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teremok Marine Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Teremok Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing