We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best!!”
Review of Teremok Marine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Teremok Marine
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I've been to many places in different countries, but this one is special, the décor and service are really nice.. I also recommend their SPA, they are professional.

The working team is friendly, and they make you feel like you are at you luxury home.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZakiShaheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
There are newer reviews for Teremok Marine
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 363 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Teremok Marine over the Easter weekend. We were blown away at the excellent service right from the start. Ninette was extremely helpful and went out of her way to ensure that our every need was met when making our booking. We were greeted with smiles and helpful staff upon arrival.

We stayed in Milkwood. What an exquisite suite! Everything you could possibly need is carefully thought out and placed strategically in the room. There is an eye mask in the drawer next to your bed, a box of matches placed in a beautifully decorated silk bag next to the bath in case you'd like to bath in candlelight and a goodie basket filled with items to enhance your stay. Amongst the items in the goodie basket, you will find: a beach bag, an emergency candle kit (this is separate from the giant candles around the bath tub), a professional hairdryer and a "Soaking Sounds" CD. Each room also has cleanser and moisturiser in both the bathroom and the shower, along with linen gowns, slippers and lovely beach towels. Teremok Marine also has a CD and DVD library - so if you choose to laze in the room, you can watch your favourite film. They also have an array of magazines and interesting books to read.

The breakfasts are DELICIOUS! If they have the Breakfast Tart on the menu, I would highly recommend that you try a slice for breakfast, or you could have a slice later in the day - as they set out muffins and tart for guests to enjoy with a cup of tea or coffee at the complimentary coffee stations. The French Toast is also yummy! And we just loved the “shots” of frulatte with breakfast.

If you are looking for a little RnR - look no further than the Teremok Spa. Kelly and Camilla give mean (yet very therapeutic) full body massages. The girls are friendly and extremely well qualified. What I enjoyed most about Teremok Spa is that although the therapists are professional and experienced - there is none of that snobbery that usually goes with a 5 star establishment. There are lots of smiles and you can even enjoy a little retail therapy. The treatment rooms at Teremok Spa are beautifully decorated, quiet and clean. They also make the meanest cappuccinos.

SO if you are looking for the ideal getaway – look no further than Teremok Marine. It is a five minute walk to the beach and if you are totally neurotic about walking, they will even drive you to the local restaurants and shops.

Thank you to all the staff at Teremok - from the management to the chefs and the cleaners, for The Definitive Experience – we WILL be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandsAden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I spent 4 nights at the Teremok earlier in February. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. The room/suite I stayed in was gorgeous and they all have a little terrace you can sit out on. The hotel is just outside of where the main cafe's and restaurants are,in Umhlanga but the staff at the hotel will happily drop you off and pick you up.
The breakfast was delicious, as was the access to fruit and muffins throughout the day. The only thing that's stopped me giving it five stars, was that there is no restaurant in the evening within the hotel (although you could order food in).
Free wifi and lovely bathroom lotions and potions further helped make a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

A truly wonderful hotel. The attention to detail was just right - every little touch made the visit luxurious; the personalized welcome letter, the well stocked honesty bar and the lovely collection of books, bric-a-brak and furniture.

I would recommend a stay in the Teremok.

Room Tip: The Durban View room had a lovely balcony, a bath and a shower and lots of space.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan_L007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

In fact the Teremok should give lessons in running hotel. The rooms are both practical and beautiful, the attention to detail is brilliant from an honesty bar which allows you to pour a glass from a decent bottle of wine and sit on a verandah to drink it to really nice cosmetics in the bathroom and a huge selection of DVDs to relax and watch in the evening. It's as if Kim the owner has made a list of everything that drives her nuts about a standard hotel and erased it from her own. The garden is beautiful, there's a small but well-equipped gym and spa, a nice pool and a lovely breakfast area where you can sit in front of an open window looking out over the sea and have your meal freshly cooked on the spot.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozziecouple141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Teremok Lodge is really wonderful. Luxurious space, great food, good honesty bar, helpful staff, wonderful little spa (pre-booking is advisable!) The B&B is centrally located, but in a very nice villa-style part of town. We stayed in the Milkwood room which has a small balcony (beware of monkey attacks!) and is a good size room with a very individual design. Apparently Durban View is even nicer with a big balcony and view towards Durban. We had booked the Burban View room, but other guests were already staying in it when we checked in – the only mishap of an otherwise perfect stay.
Umhlanga Rocks was a real surprise. It looks quite ugly with high-rise buildings when driving towards it, but it features some really good restaurants, a long sandy beach, good shopping and many things to do in the area (you need a car). The B&B will drive you to restaurants or into town, as it is apparently not safe to walk at night. Taxis are of course quite expensive for the short distance, but easily available.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N0i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

From the moment that we arrived,we were treated like kings.The staff were extremely friendly and made us feel at home.The rooms are beautifully decorated and quite large.When we asked about restaurants they brought the differnent menus to us to decide what we would like to do and also made the booking promptly.There is also a transport available at no extra cost.We loved this place so much that we stayed an extra night

Room Tip: The Douglas room is a winner
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zorroWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim D, Owner at Teremok Marine, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

We are very excited and proud to have just been named 10th Top Luxury Hotel in South Africa in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 Awards! We also placed 18th in Top Small Hotel in South Africa, and 20th for Top Service in South Africa.

Thank you so much for you taking the time to review Teremok Marine, and for securing our positions in these prestigious awards - it really is much appreciated.

We hope to see you back with us in the future.


Warm regards

Kim and the Teremok Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.6 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,857 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,092 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
351 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
408 reviews
1.0 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teremok Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teremok Marine

Address: 49 Marine Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $143 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Teremok Marine 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Umhlanga, and walking distance from the beach, lies Teremok Marine, an award-winning five-star boutique lodge and spa. All eight suites are uniquely designed and boast extra-length beds, air-conditioning, private balconies, showers, baths, double basins and separate toilets with bidets. Extras include LCD screens and DVD players, iPod docking stations, and complimentary ADSL internet in every room. Teremok also has a Spa facility, gym and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Teremok Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teremok Marine Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Teremok Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing