We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Teremok Marine
Nearby Hotels
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$171
$166
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Beverly Hills(Umhlanga Rocks)
$355
$344
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sibaya Lodge(Umhlanga Rocks)
$93
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
AHA Gateway Hotel(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
$115
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Palm Hotel(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
$178
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oyster Box(Umhlanga Rocks)
$296
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakers Resort(Umhlanga Rocks)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveler rating
375
18
3
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
375
18
3
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdurban viewhonesty barbiscottiattention to detailfree standing bathbeach bagjuliet roomboutique hotelshuttle servicecoffee machinelittle touchesfree shuttleindian oceanhome from homea wonderful place to stayguest housebreakfast was delicious
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
319 - 324 of 400 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012

As with previous stays the standard was excellent, the hosts went out of their way to assist with our needs. All in all can recommend it to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in Umhlanga. And thanks to Ninnette for arranging for my jersey to be sent back to me in Joburg.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darren2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim D, Owner at Teremok Marine, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

We are very excited and proud to have just been named 10th Top Luxury Hotel in South Africa in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 Awards! We also placed 18th in Top Small Hotel in South Africa, and 20th for Top Service in South Africa.

Thank you so much for you taking the time to review Teremok Marine, and for securing our positions in these prestigious awards - it really is much appreciated.

We hope to see you back with us in the future.


Warm regards

Kim and the Teremok Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We arrived after a tiring flight. Met by a most delightful and helpful man who relaxed us, made sure we understood (the admittedly rather complex) geography of the rooms and we had a fabulous stay. He took us to a nearby restaurant (which he wisely advised), and picked us up later there.

The rooms were quirky in a nice way but practical (so often either one or the other!! not here). Coffee machines everywhere is a nice touch. Setting is nice and the gardens lovely and well kept. Pool inviting.

The breakfast was THE BEST EVER.

Overall the best place we stayed during our 2 week travels in South africa, and up there with the best anywhere, regardless of cost.

Lovely walk on the beach afterwards. We felt so welcome and safe.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Outremer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim D, Owner at Teremok Marine, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

We are very excited and proud to have just been named 10th Top Luxury Hotel in South Africa in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 Awards! We also placed 18th in Top Small Hotel in South Africa, and 20th for Top Service in South Africa.

Thank you so much for you taking the time to review Teremok Marine, and for securing our positions in these prestigious awards - it really is much appreciated.

We hope to see you back with us in the future.


Warm regards

Kim and the Teremok Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The best place to stay in Umhlanga. Well decorated rooms personal attention. We are welcomed and the attention is subtle but you know there is someone out to look after your needs. Look no further when seeking a place to stay in Umhlanga.

Room Tip: Every room is special. Try them all.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shube1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim D, Owner at Teremok Marine, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

We are very excited and proud to have just been named 10th Top Luxury Hotel in South Africa in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 Awards! We also placed 18th in Top Small Hotel in South Africa, and 20th for Top Service in South Africa.

Thank you so much for you taking the time to review Teremok Marine, and for securing our positions in these prestigious awards - it really is much appreciated.

We hope to see you back with us in the future.


Warm regards

Kim and the Teremok Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

With a lot of history behind it we found this place to be a delight. In the perfect location palm trees around the pool, balconies opening up to this wonderful view, with the beach/ sea view in frame as well!
Excellent staff who were welcoming and friendly and very attentive, and willing to offer advise on places to visit and eat out which all were all great recommendations , we thoroughly enjoyed our stay as the food was superb with a great variety of choices and freshly cooked, the room was lovely well decorated and extremely comfortable and very user-friendly ie, the amenities were well made easy to use etc. With own brand cosmetics, everything you needed in one room, situated along the corridor was a tea/ coffee station with biscotti and an honesty bar to have your favoured tipple .
This wondrous place even has a spa area for a relaxing massage or therapy session.
We really enjoyed our stay at Teremok marine and are really grateful to have stayed here.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timt85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim D, Owner at Teremok Marine, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

We are very excited and proud to have just been named 10th Top Luxury Hotel in South Africa in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 Awards! We also placed 18th in Top Small Hotel in South Africa, and 20th for Top Service in South Africa.

Thank you so much for you taking the time to review Teremok Marine, and for securing our positions in these prestigious awards - it really is much appreciated.

We hope to see you back with us in the future.


Warm regards

Kim and the Teremok Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Teremok is one of those rare places that one can easily give the five out of five rating. From my first contact via email to the moment we drove out the gate we were completely looked after, made to feel welcome and shown a fantastic time.

Inessa handled all of my requests on email and was brilliant - no question was too obscure, and with eight beautiful, individually furnished and decorated rooms, I was agonising over which room to choose. Inessa answered all my queries about room sizes and views, and when the room I finally settled on (Milkwood) was unavailable, she kept me on a waiting list, and moved us there when somebody cancelled. On arrival at the hotel, all of the staff came out and welcomed us by name, our bags were whisked upstairs and we were shown around, taking in the beautifully decorated communal areas, the gardens, the spa, the complimentary tea and coffee bar (with espresso machine) as well as the extensive DVD collection, gym and so on.

Our room was beautiful, with a huge bedroom, great view over the ocean from a private balcony, four poster bed, free standing bath, everything necessary for a romantic getaway. I had told Inessa it was my wife's birthday and when we got back from our evening out at 11pm, Stanley the concierge was waiting for us and had quickly lit candles and scattered rose petals through the room as well as setting out a bottle of champagne for us and slipping hot water bottles into the bed.

Breakfast the next morning was a real highlight, with a lovely view over the garden, friendly helpful and accommodating service and delicious and healthy choices. I thought the 'breakfast shots' of blended yoghurt, banana and vitamins were a really nice touch.

Ninette who was the manager on duty was great, and was more than happy to have us stay as long as we wanted on the day we checked out, seeing as no one was checking in to our room that day. We got great value out of the room relaxing until lunch time when we had booked into the spa for a hot stone massage, which was also excellent, and a great end to the visit.

Teremok really deserves the good reviews, thanks to its good position, fantastic rooms, and high class facilities. Ultimately though, its greatest attribute is its staff, whose consistent, unobtrusive and top notch service is what really sets this place apart.

Final notes: pillows in our room were on the overstuffed side - take your own if like me, you prefer a thinner pillow. Also, the skylights in our room were beautiful during the day, but also mean that you will wake with the dawn. Take an eye mask if you want to sleep in!

Room Tip: Choosing a room here is part of the fun, have a good look at the website to see some pictures. I think that the best two rooms are probably Milkwood, where we stayed, and Durban view, both of which are large rooms on the top floor with views over the ocean and ocean and city respectively. Juliet is also on the top floor and has a cute balcony and great view, but is quite a lot smaller. If the top floor is booked out, or you prefer to be closer to the ground, Douglas seems to be the pick of the rest, based on what I read and saw online, although I didn't get to view the room.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lukeandleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim D, Owner at Teremok Marine, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Hi Luke and Leigh

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay at Teremok, and w're delighted that you had such a good stay with us - I am just sorry that I never got to meet you personally. With regards to your last two points, I'd like to provide some feedback.

We do know that our pillows are quite firm and high as they are sprung pillows which bulk up wih the quilted pillow protectors on them. For this reason, we do keep soft (and flatter) pillows, as well as down pillows, which are available on request or should we be aware of any discomfort caused - we will make a note of this for any future bookings.

We area also aware of the light streaming in the skylights in the Milkwood which were a feature of the main bedroom of the house when we purchased it. Based on your suggestion, we have bought two sleeping eye masks to leave in this room for guests battling in this regard. Thanks for the suggestion!

We hope to see you back at Teremok again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kim Davidson
(Managing Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews