We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous way to end holiday”
Review of Teremok Marine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Teremok Marine
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Treating myself to three nights at the end of my trip was a great idea and proved to be just the ticket. As the previous reviews have mentioned Teremok offers a thoughtful, friendly and high quality experience. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela200111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim D, Owner at Teremok Marine, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

We are very excited and proud to have just been named 10th Top Luxury Hotel in South Africa in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 Awards! We also placed 18th in Top Small Hotel in South Africa, and 20th for Top Service in South Africa.

Thank you so much for you taking the time to review Teremok Marine, and for securing our positions in these prestigious awards - it really is much appreciated.

We hope to see you back with us in the future.


Warm regards

Kim and the Teremok Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
There are newer reviews for Teremok Marine
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 363 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2012

This hotel was my hub during a 6 week stay in South Africa. It suited my needs perfectly.

When I got off the plane exhausted from work, jet lag, etc., I slept for much of my first stay. This guest house does soundproofing and privacy better than any other guest house I stayed at in South Africa. It was the only guest house I stayed at where I thought it was possible to have sex without disturbing the other guests.

The second time I stayed I was coming back from a month in the bush. I arrived in a cyclone and they handed me a big umbrella that I used for the rest of my stay. An umbrella seems like a small thing but, after a month of being subject to the weather's every whim, being able to stay dry was really a delight. When I arrived, all of my clothes were so dirty I was considering throwing them out. But Teremok offers free laundry service and by the next afternoon, I had clean laundry.

I never had any problem getting spa appointments. Their skin care services are phenomenal.

They think of everything down to the last detail from the muffins available 24/7 in the eating area to the well stocked honesty bar to the beach towels WITH a beach bag. Not only are they thoughtful, but they make everything easy and that is my favorite part. The beach towels are in your room not available upon request, the wi-fi is free and available everywhere, the laundry is free, you don't have to check out the umbrella, and the furnishings are lovely but you never feel like you can't sit down on them.

Staying in 3 different rooms that had very different feels definitely made it fun, but it is the relaxing vibe they create that just can't be beat.

Room Tip: I stayed in Juliet, Vladykin, Douglas. Juliet is on the top floor and has better views but Douglas w...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brusheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim D, Owner at Teremok Marine, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

We are very excited and proud to have just been named 10th Top Luxury Hotel in South Africa in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 Awards! We also placed 18th in Top Small Hotel in South Africa, and 20th for Top Service in South Africa.

Thank you so much for you taking the time to review Teremok Marine, and for securing our positions in these prestigious awards - it really is much appreciated.

We hope to see you back with us in the future.


Warm regards

Kim and the Teremok Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

If you want to sample the best lodge in Umhlanga (for that matter South Africa) then you must treat yourself to a stay at the Teremok Lodge. It is personalised service at its best. Your hosts Kim, Ninette and Inessa always make you feel welcome and cater to your every need. The spa has two top beauty therapists who will make sure that you leave feeling pampered and relax. Don't take my word for it just go and sample service at its best.

Room Tip: each room is totally unique my favourite is Milkwood
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOUISESouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim D, Owner at Teremok Marine, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

We are very excited and proud to have just been named 10th Top Luxury Hotel in South Africa in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 Awards! We also placed 18th in Top Small Hotel in South Africa, and 20th for Top Service in South Africa.

Thank you so much for you taking the time to review Teremok Marine, and for securing our positions in these prestigious awards - it really is much appreciated.

We hope to see you back with us in the future.


Warm regards

Kim and the Teremok Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Good plce to go to coming from the airport. Beautiful room and nice breakfast. They even order a pizza for you if you want!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inepien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim D, Owner at Teremok Marine, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

We are very excited and proud to have just been named 10th Top Luxury Hotel in South Africa in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 Awards! We also placed 18th in Top Small Hotel in South Africa, and 20th for Top Service in South Africa.

Thank you so much for you taking the time to review Teremok Marine, and for securing our positions in these prestigious awards - it really is much appreciated.

We hope to see you back with us in the future.


Warm regards

Kim and the Teremok Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

My husband and I arrived in Umhlanga after a trying drive from King Shaka Airport (torrential downpour + outdated GPS system + first experience driving on the "wrong" side of the road = a frazzled couple!), but boy did we receive "the definitive experience" upon our arrival at Teremok Marine! From the graciousness and helpfulness of the staff (Kim, Stanley, Ninette) to the ample epicurean delights (scrumptious breakfast spreads featuring power smoothies and flower pot muffins!), there's a stylish spark to every Teremok Marine touch. We stayed in the Douglas suite -- loved the open floor plan of the room with Marilyn Monroe watching over us. Ms. Monroe would definitely have approved of the deep soaking tub, fragrant bath products, and spa robes! We left Teremok Marine to explore Durban, but honestly you could while away your time at this chic hideaway and enjoy every single second -- have a massage at the spa, flip through design books or high-fashion periodicals, lounge poolside, sip on sherry or cognac -- the possibilities are endless! Of course, if you want to see the sites ask for Kim, a native of Durban, and she will give you a jam-packed itinerary. Absolutely, positively, wholeheartedly recommend Teremok Marine to those travelers looking for a laid-back, fresh and personalized experience.

Room Tip: Location, location, location! The Douglas room (on the first floor) is steps away from the pool and...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim D, Owner at Teremok Marine, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

We are very excited and proud to have just been named 10th Top Luxury Hotel in South Africa in the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 Awards! We also placed 18th in Top Small Hotel in South Africa, and 20th for Top Service in South Africa.

Thank you so much for you taking the time to review Teremok Marine, and for securing our positions in these prestigious awards - it really is much appreciated.

We hope to see you back with us in the future.


Warm regards

Kim and the Teremok Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

My wife and I treated ourselves to an anniversary break at Teremok in November 2011. It exceeded all our expectations! The room was stunning and the staff were superb - nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was always a highlight of the day especially with the sea view which greeted us each morning. Thank you too for the special surprise laid on for us on our second night!! If you are looking for something really special....look no further!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Milkwood Suite which had terrific views and great facilities.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dazzler1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

All the positive comments made in prior postings are valid. Our abiding impression will be of the outstanding levels of service that Teremok delivers. The guest's every need has been anticipated and exceeded. Nothing is too much trouble and there are so many differentiating additional touches - offers of transportation to and from restaurants and other local facilities, tourism and dining advice that is based on first hand personal experience, every staff member aware of every guest's circumstances and needs, and absolutely dedicated to ensuring that every need is met, a wealth of thoughtful features and extras in the rooms - I could go on. The fascinating, highly individual decor, the wealth of reading materials at hand, the super cleanliness of the every inch of the establishment, the distinctive and innovative breakfasts, the extraordinary level of dedication and personalised training that is evident in the demeanour of owners, management and staff alike. I doubt that service can get any better than this. Note that Teremok's pricing is not positioned at the lower end, but it does represent extraordinary value. If it fits your budget (which it is well worth stretching a bit), there is no reason to stay anywhere else. This is a truly extraordinary place - right at the top of a personal list that reflects 40+ years of international travel covering 48 countries. We shall most certainly return.

Room Tip: We stayed in Milkwood, and would recommend it and Durban View over the others because they offer the...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.6 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,857 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,092 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
350 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
407 reviews
1.0 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teremok Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teremok Marine

Address: 49 Marine Drive, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#4 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $143 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Teremok Marine 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Umhlanga, and walking distance from the beach, lies Teremok Marine, an award-winning five-star boutique lodge and spa. All eight suites are uniquely designed and boast extra-length beds, air-conditioning, private balconies, showers, baths, double basins and separate toilets with bidets. Extras include LCD screens and DVD players, iPod docking stations, and complimentary ADSL internet in every room. Teremok also has a Spa facility, gym and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Teremok Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teremok Marine Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Teremok Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing