We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great apartment - great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fleetwood on Sea

Fleetwood on Sea
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Umhlanga Rocks
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fleetwood on Sea
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great apartment - great location”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed at Fleetwood with my father and we were both very impressed. I had booked one of the un-refurbished apartments as they were cheaper, but - although some of the fixtures were a little dated - the apartment was top quality and clean. The kitchen was well equipped.

The balcony was very spacious and included a braai (BBQ) and an outdoor shower.

The view was wonderful and access to the beach is very easy. If you like running or walking, there is a safe and level path along the beach outside the apartment to do a 5km round trip.

Access to restaurants in the area is very easy by car or on foot. I would stay there again in a flash.

The only 2 things that I would have liked would be free wifi (there was wifi, but not free) and a later standard checkout time (checkout is 09:30).

Thanks to the Fleetwood team for a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robveezed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Traveling as a family of 4 we wanted self catering accommodation with separate bedrooms for the kids. This accommodation fit the bill and threw in stunning ocean views!
We opted for apartment 62 which being on the top floor meant we didn't get any sound from other tenants and had a huge balcony (runs the length of both bedrooms and lounge). The kitchen had everything we needed for our 4 night stay and being able to use the braai on the balcony resulted in us eating in for 3 of the 4 nights (a light on the balcony would be useful).
Apt 62 is let as a renovated apt. I would suggest it isn't a recent renovation, but aside from occasional chips in paintwork and sink skirting being loose, it was very livable.
You are advised to keep the tv on permanently as switching it off results it it having to retune. It was a little weird having it on when we weren't watching, but as it was in the lounge this didn't impact us. If you select a room with the tv in a bedroom this may not be the case!
We took advantage of a service wash whilst there. Very reasonable cost and everything was returned beautifully clean and ironed :)
We loved our stay here and would definitely book again if we return.

Room Tip: Go for full sea view in a refurbished unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Watkinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansbaai
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend and enjoy the stay very much.The location is very good as you are at the beach not to far from shopping and you can go and visit Ushaka also.
We can recommend it to anyone on a budget.
If you can afford the front rooms go for it you wouldn't be disappointed init.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fritz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were fooled by the pictures on the website expecting luxurious accommodation having booked a luxury unit however it was a very simple unit. I must admit that it was very clean, good location, easy access to the beach and the staff are quite efficient. There is also a washing machine and drier on the premises (which I did not use). This is a great place for a short stay but don't expect luxury. Maybe they should put in some proper sofas and add colour to brighten up the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We visited Fleetwood on sea, and while we opted for the cheaper room, we did not expect what we fond. One would expect that in the heart of Umhlanga, a certain level of quality would be maintained. We did not find this. We had a tv that was not allowed to be turned off 24/7 (facing the bed, no real reason why given) no main light, and a broken lampshade. The other rooms that we walked past seemed on brief glimpse much better, but our room was horrid. For the price we paid for a two night stay, all these issues could have been sorted out. Why were they not? Otherwise, a reasonable enough place.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Wesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

The unit was a great surprise as we were anticipating no sea views and older furnishings. The unit did half a sea view from the South facing balcony, albeit a small view. The complex has easy access to the beach and is delightful.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ABoodoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 week holiday to South Africa. We stayed here for the 1st week. The apartments are spotless, spacious and well equipped. The apartments are situated in a lovely position overlooking the beach with large balconys with sun loungers and table and chairs.
There are lovely walks on the prom, and about a10 min walk to the village centre. But there are a couple of bars/restaurants closer.
The only negatives are on arrival the property does not look very appealing and looks run down. Also in general the whole property could do with up-grading, especially the bathrooms, and in particular the en-suite.
However we very much enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view unless you pay less for a side sea view. Worth paying extra for full sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz52_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
254 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,686 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
980 reviews
0.1 mi away
uMhlanga Sands Resort
uMhlanga Sands Resort
#5 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
627 reviews
1.2 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fleetwood on Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleetwood on Sea

Property: Fleetwood on Sea
Address: 50 Lagoon Dr, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Umhlanga Rocks
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Fleetwood On Sea Hotel Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing