We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely astonishing”
Review of The Oyster Box

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oyster Box
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2010

absolute top notch hotel, superb service, everything has been newly refurbished, food is perfect, rooms great and the view and site right at the beach are smashing. loved every bit of it!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tututueu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,940)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,837 - 1,843 of 1,942 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2010

I have been a regular visitor to the Oyster Box hotel for many years. I always loved the ambiance and the quaint character of the hotel. I paid a visit last week as it has always been a hotel close to my heart. I was thrilled to see that with the upgrade the feeling of the original hotel was not entirely lost. I was overwhelmed by how beautiful the decor had been done. All the beautiful colours and fabrics were amazing. I also found the service and the staff friendly and attentive. The rooms have been renovated amazingly and are very comfortable and spacious. It was a wonderful experience and I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of my stay. I also visited the spa and found it true five star treatment! I would advise anyone staying at the hotel to visit the spa. I also found Wayne Coetze the general manager very courteous and attentive. I loved my visit and would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashram_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne020, Public Relations Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

My fiancé and I spent 3 nights at the Oyster Box Hotel in December 2009, we had a fantastic stay with first class service and excellent food. The view from our sea facing room with its spa bath was out of this world! The room was decorated beautifully with all attention to detail taken into account, not to mention the luxuriously big comfortable bed.

The lighthouse bar was exceptionally vibe and full of fun, the high tea in the afternoon was a fantastic treat! The service in the Grill room was also impeccable.

Unfortunately I didnt manage to get to the spa but I have heard only positive reports about it.

All in all our stay made us choose the Oyster Box as our venue for our Wedding in November 2010! We can't wait to get back there!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikkiEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your honest comments.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

My wife and I spent an absolutely exquisite sojourn at the Oyster Box Hotel for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. The service from the staff was impeccable and we were overawed with the hotel and the ambience that it exudes. It was an extraordinary weekend for us.

On our arrival we were greeted with a welcoming smile, promptly checked in and then given a personal tour of the Hotel. Our room was beautifully decorated and more than comfortable. The sea view was outstanding. The dinner/dance in the Grill Room was very romantic with an excellent Sommelier which resulted in a superbly chosen wine which was thoroughly enjoyed with the superb cuisine. All in all a world class experience.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Forder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne020, Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thank you for your valued comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Although the sea front location of this hotel is suberb, it is outrageously overpriced. We stayed in a twin, Classic Sea Facing room which was in the modern extention. The decor was good but it was very small and cramped. If one of us was sitting on the chair or at the dressing table, there was no room for the other to get past in order to reach the bathroom or the door. The eats which should have been in the mini bar were placed in the dressing table draw, because there was no room in the mini bar. The TV was visble from only one of the beds. We had a suitcase each, which gave the small room the appearance of a left luggage depot.

The bathroom was good.

The breakfast was good but the rest of the food extremely disappointing. Most of it came with spicy sauces or swamped in mayo. It was difficult to find anything simple and fresh. Again it was exhorbitantly priced. We were charged R250 for two toasted cheese and tomato sandwiches and two teas which was near enough £25.

We go abroad every Christmas and stay in equivalently priced hotels and this was the worst value for money that we have ever experienced in terms of the bedroom and the food.

We went up from the pool to have lunch on the terrace on our first day and found that it was fully booked, mostly by non residents, which we thought was bad. Nobody told us that we needed to book and it was the same with the high tea.

The staff were helpful and courteous at all times. The hotel was very well presented and with very comfortable sun beds and large umbrellas. The pool again was small and it was not really possible to swim. It was fine for getting wet, but that was all.

Unless you have money to throw away, I would not reccomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Uk-lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne020, Director of Sales at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments have been acknowledged.

Many Thanks

Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2010

We've found our own gem in South Africa. The hotel and service are amazing, with beatutiful sea views and an idyllic beach front location, looking out over the lighthouse.
Our young children didn't feel out of place and with exemplory service from all the staff who were always friendly and courteous, we had a fantastic time.
I can highly recommend the Buffet menu and the Durban curry is 'divine'.
We'll be back soon - even the BA strike and snow couldn't stop us!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redmikasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne020, Guest Relations Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thank you for your valued comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

My wife and I spent 1 night in the Buthelezi Suite, wow, the most beautiful room we have ever stayed in (And we travel extensively).
The service at the hotel was out of this world. We had dinner at the Grill Room, outstanding.
If you want luxury combined with exceptional service, then try the Oyster Box

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanG14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Your honest comments are truely appreciated.

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
428 reviews
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
386 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel
Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Box

Address: 2 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $343 - $1,313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Box 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LEGEND LIVES ON… AT THE OYSTER BOX Standing proud on Umhlanga’s beachfront, directly on the beach and overlooking the Indian Ocean, the 86-room Oyster Box, is one of South Africa’s best-loved hotels. Renowned for generous hospitality, attentive service and exceptional cuisine The Oyster Box offers all the colonial charm and nostalgia of a bygone era, but with all the modern comfort and amenities. Dining venues include the casual ‘Ocean Terrace’, serving casual and al fresco fare and a Curry Buffet, to the legendary, fine-dining ‘Grill Room’. The ‘Palm Court’ serves a lavish, traditional ‘High Tea’ daily, with live piano accompaniment. The Oyster and Lighthouse Bars are the hottest spots in town for sun-downers.The Spa is equipped with six treatment rooms, a Hydrotherapy Bath, grooming lounge, plunge-pool, state-of-the-art gym, Infinity pool and Tranquillity Lounge and offers the latest in health and wellness teatments.Facilities include two swimming pools, a private library, luscious tropical gardens and an intimate, 24-seater movie theatre. The Oyster Box is KZN’s premiere wedding and honeymoon destination and the ‘venue of choice’ for the conference and business market.Time spent at The Oyster Box will leave you with magical memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oyster Box reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Box Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing