We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in South Africa”
Review of The Oyster Box

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Oyster Box
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best hotel in South Africa”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Oyster Box is my favourite hotel in South Africa. The location is perfect in the centre of Umhlanga close to the village and a 5 minute drive to Gateway. The views of the beach and iconic lighthouse are spectacular. The service is always impeccable. The breakfast buffet, complete with oysters, is worth getting up early for. Can't recommend enough.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Waynesworld1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments of your favourite hotel, The Oyster Box.

I am delighted you find the location to be absolutely perfect in the centre of Umhlanga, 5 minutes drive from The Gateway Theatre of Shopping and right on the beach overlooking the iconic lighthouse with breathtaking views of the ocean.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon to further experience the impeccable service and delicious food on offer.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,548
    146
    40
    16
    5
See reviews for
438
803
51
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amersham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We spent 4 nights in this fantastic hotel last week and every aspect of of stay was superb. We were personally greeted on arrival by Mr Coetzer and were made to feel very special. Our room was delightful with a fantastic view of the lighthouse and ocean. It was very comfortable and luxurious, tastefully decorated with African/Colonial artifacts. The bathroom was faultless with the most amazing shower. There was the most fantastic array of food available for selection for breakfast, which we enjoyed on the scenic terrace taking in the breathtaking views. Our children enjoyed the pools, the main pool is an infinity pool with views of the lighthouse and sea, whilst the garden pool is in the tranquil setting of the tropical garden. Dinner was taken on terrace and everything we tasted by the award winning Kevin Joseph and his team was fantastic. The freshly prepared and cooked waffles and pancakes were a firm favorite for breakfast with the children. Each and every member of staff were so helpful and friendly ensuring we received exceptional service throughout our stay. High Tea was truly memorable with the pianist playing throughout. The Lighthouse Bar was another spectacular part of the hotel and perfect for an after dinner drink. Well done to Mr Coetzer and his fantastic team for a truly memorable stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review following your 4 night stay with us at The Oyster Box.

I am thrilled to hear that you found everything to your liking, in particular the luxurious accommodation, breathtaking views over the ocean and fantastic dining experiences on
The Ocean Terrace. The High Tea is most popular too with our resident pianist tinkling on the keys for the entire duration.

I look forward to welcoming you back for yet another memorable stay soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Outstanding & world class in every way, from check in to room arrival & breathtaking views, a dinner with special friends was exceptional from the ambience through service & a culinary experience which was memorable, breakfast on the pool deck matched if not exceeded the best of my international travel experiences. All I'm left to say is thank you for the effort the team put in to making our stay one we will never forget...outstanding location & service well beyond world class...kept up the good work you do South Africa proud!! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review following your stay with us at
The Oyster Box.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you were blown away with the entire experience of check in, luxurious accommodation, spectacular views over the ocean and delicious dinner with excellent service.

As your feedback is most important, I really appreciate your fine comments of exceeding all expectations on a world class scale.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I spent 2 days at the Oyster Box recently with a friend of mine from London… the weather was spectacular and we lounged around the pool, drank cocktails and solved the problems of the world. The perfect recipe and break for both of us - complimentary glasses of bubbles, spa treatments, Durban curry and the breathtaking view… Catharsis after a tough few months. The service for superb as always, and the small touches remain as they were when I visited the Hotel annually with my grandparents as child. My happy place. Thank you to Wayne and his team, left feeling relaxed and pampered. See you again soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your memories at The Oyster Box following your recent two day stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you both enjoyed such a relaxing time around the pool, experienceing the fantastic service of cocktails, whilst gazing at the breathtaking view of the ocean.

The award winning Spa too is most definitely the place to relax and unwind and where the therapists will pamper you throughout your visit.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another relaxing stay.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2014

After a couple of visits to the hotel next door Beverley Hills, I must thank them for their two star wait service, which prompted me to find something better for our family reunion dinner. Because without them we would not have found the Oyster Box.
We were absolutely impressed with the amazing staff (six star) service and an outstanding meal that Gordon Ramsey & Jamie Oliver would love to be asssociated with.
Some credit must go to our experienced & friendly wait person Tarin.
Now back in Australia, all we speak to about our holiday the Oyster Box meal is definitely mentioned.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norm73758283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write following your stay with us at The Oyster Box.

I am delighted you found the staff so friendly and were taken great care of throughout your stay. I will be sure to mention your comments to the relevant staff who looked after you.

I am thrilled you found the meal and service to be outstanding. We strive for perfection and your kind words are most appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Level Contributor
120 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Our first Family Holiday in South Africa, in 1965, included a fabulous week stay in the comfort of the OB. Such a STUNNING LOCATION. All the staff were really focussed on ensuring that we enjoyed ourselves. The food was always served on time and top quality. An early sitting was available for the children, if needed. When the children collected a few OYSTERS, the staff kindly opened and served them! Then we realised it was not really the done thing! The OB had their OWN SUPERB SUPPLY!! Although circumstances limited our ability to stay often, EVERY YEAR we still always visit to enjoy the excellent Restaurants, PARTICULARLY THE "GRILL ROOM". One of the delights has always been the EXCELLENT SERVICE from the Grill Room Maitre-de "HENRY".
The hotel was closed for two years for a complete re-furbish. Attended the closing down Banquet when the Managing Director, Wain, who is a true professional, asked us to take away a piece of memorabilia. He managed the transition.
The re-furbishment was FANTASTIC. The new owners ensured the retention of a number of features to retain that special ambience that the family, who were the original owners, had lovingly provided.Henry, was sent to stay in a 5 Star Hotel in the UK and absorb the Excellence that would continue to feature when the OB re opened.
EXCELLENCE, from RECEPTION, ROOMS, RESTAURANTS, COCKTAIL LOUNGES, SPA and, BUTLER SERVICE, with a really DEDICATED STAFF makes this THE VENUE for every special occasion and a never to be forgotten Holiday (or Conference). The swimming pools, views of the Indian Ocean, Lighthouse and adjacent fabulous beaches add to the enjoyment. Being close to the International Airport, the City - Durban and superb Golf Courses, and a rich choice of sports, Casino's and dining experiences, all visitors will find the OB an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: For a sea view, book well ahead to avoid disappointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide me with your wonderful comments following your stay with us at The Oyster Box.

As returning and much valued guests, your feedback is most important and I am therefore thrilled that we have once again exceeded your expectations.

I am delighted to hear that you still find the location to be absolutely perfect right on the beach with spectacular views of the ocean and the excellence in the form of rooms, restaurants, spa and dedicated staff to be outstanding.

I do hope that I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon to enjoy yet another memorable stay with us.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

From the moment you drive into this establishment you realise you have arrived at a destination where your every need is anticipated and met. Situated metres away from the warm Indian Ocean the view is awe inspiring. A truly superlative restaurant in The Grill Room with a choice of dishes that will leave you wishing you had more than one night to try them all. A definite "bucket list" addition!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nonnins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments following your visit to
The Oyster Box.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you were blown away by the care and attention of the staff, together with the location of the hotel on the beach with awesome views of the ocean and the wonderful fine dining restaurant, The Grill Room.

Our staff are passionate about ensuring every guest's experience here is amazing and that every guest leaves wanting to return.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the not-too-distant future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umhlanga Rocks
0.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
302 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Box

Property: The Oyster Box
Address: 2 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Box 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LEGEND LIVES ON… AT THE OYSTER BOX Standing proud on Umhlanga’s beachfront, directly on the beach and overlooking the Indian Ocean, the 86-room Oyster Box, is one of South Africa’s best-loved hotels. Renowned for generous hospitality, attentive service and exceptional cuisine The Oyster Box offers all the colonial charm and nostalgia of a bygone era, but with all the modern comfort and amenities. Dining venues include the casual ‘Ocean Terrace’, serving casual and al fresco fare and a Curry Buffet, to the legendary, fine-dining ‘Grill Room’. The ‘Palm Court’ serves a lavish, traditional ‘High Tea’ daily, with live piano accompaniment. The Oyster and Lighthouse Bars are the hottest spots in town for sun-downers.The Spa is equipped with six treatment rooms, a Hydrotherapy Bath, grooming lounge, plunge-pool, state-of-the-art gym, Infinity pool and Tranquillity Lounge and offers the latest in health and wellness teatments.Facilities include two swimming pools, a private library, luscious tropical gardens and an intimate, 24-seater movie theatre. The Oyster Box is KZN’s premiere wedding and honeymoon destination and the ‘venue of choice’ for the conference and business market.Time spent at The Oyster Box will leave you with magical memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oyster Box reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Box Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing