We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful wedding anniversary weekend away!”
Review of The Oyster Box

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oyster Box
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The weekend started as we got into the car in Jhb and zoomed off to Lanseria airport. We whisked through onto our Kalula flight having pre-checked in, and we were off to King Shaka airport where 45 minutes later we were promptly collected as a courtesy by the friendly Oyster Box Hotel driver Brian - we slipped out of the hot and humid north coast air into the air conned Veto and barely had time to sip the complementary welcome drinks before we had arrived, checked in and were seated on the pool terrace having a wonderful bottle of Bouchard Finlayson Sauvignon Blanc watching the ocean and waiting for a delicious lunch of fish and chips to arrive.
This was how our anniversary weekend started, and it set the tone for a wonderful weekend of comfort and luxury which allowed us to completely unwind and relax away from it all, and reflect on our 10 year anniversary.
We were so well looked after. My wife thoroughly enjoyed the complementary spar treatments (although she nicked both massages), we loved the hot languid days by the pool with attentive pool side bar staff. We enjoyed all the live entertainment at the hotel from the live singer in the oyster bar singing our requests, to the band in the Lighthouse bar on the Saturday night. The food was always top class, and of particular note was the curry buffet (10 curries to choose from and yes I did have some of the vindaloo, and no it wasn't murderous but probably better than any curry I have ever had before). Breakfasts were a treat and we were cared for by Nigel who after day 1 had memorised not only our tea/coffee order, but our entire breakfast routine to which he merely confirmed a repeat on each morning and proceeded to deliver this to our delight - never getting even a bit of it wrong.From the grill room, to the terrace, to the pool bar and back - the catering was top class.
The room was extremely comfortable, and had all that we required and more ... including a safe that could accommodate a Mac (if required). Wifi connectivity was complementary, but was erratic from the room at times (this would be my only complaint).
We had a wonderful weekend away, and felt thoroughly refreshed after our 3 night stay. We would like to thank Bea Tollman for inspiring such a wonderful place, and all her staff under the direction of the GM Wayne Coetzer for continuing to make it such a special experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick_van_der_Merwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments following your stay at
The Oyster Box to celebrate the special occasion of your 10th wedding anniversary. Congratulations!

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves, in particular your wife's treatments at the award winning spa, the lazy days beside the pool, the entertainment in both The Oyster Bar and The Lighthouse Bar, the delicious curry buffet boasting a selection of 10 curries and the luxurious accommodation.

Your kind words that the staff are exceptional are most appreciated and I will ensure that this is shared with the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,923)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,384 - 1,390 of 1,924 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

The décor, the service, the comfortable bed, the breakfast and dinner meals as well as the view overlooking the lighthouse from our balcony was superb. The service too, was excellent. Two areas did not live up to 5 star standard: the bathroom floor next to the toilet should have been spotlessly clean. The hairdryer supplied was of no use as the plug could not fit any of the wall sockets or extension cord available in the room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for talking the time to write such a fabulous review about your stay with us.

It was great to read that you loved the décor of the Hotel, but even better that you found the food and service outstanding!

With regards to hairdryer plugs all our rooms are fitted with plugs that fit the hair dryers, I have asked maintenance to check all the rooms on your floor, and they have confirmed that all hairdryers fit the relevant sockets, these are located behind the desk and near the pedestals.

Again thank you for your wonderful comments, I am delighted you had such a wonderful time with us.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Where to start? Any small criticisms were totally outweighed by our upgrade to a fabulous suite with terrace and plunge pool.

One of the best things about the Oyster Box is its position on the beach, facing the lighthouse and above the 6km walkway. You look straight out to sea and cannot see the ghastly and extensive redevelopment that has ruined Umhlanga Rocks (last visited 50 years ago!).

The hotel retains its old world charm but has been renovated internally to a high standard. The gardens are exotic and there are 2 swimming pools (use the one at the rear of the hotel if you want tranquillity). There is direct access to the beach.

The staff are amazing: smiling, friendly, helpful and courteous at all times.

The fitness centre was well equipped and spotless. The restaurants are excellent and room service is superb, prompt and efficient.

Our only real criticism is that the hotel does not differentiate between residents, and day trippers who tend to cram the terrace and the bars and ignore the dress code (if there is one....not enforced). One particular raucous party took over the terrace, drank aggressively and played their own loud music at their table, drowning out the featured musician! Not a word from management.

That aside, it is a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hesiod58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay at the Oyster Box.
I was delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of this wonderful Hotel. It is indeed a hidden Gem, and remains an oasis is this fast developing "Village".

The Hotel enjoys High occupancies and has a huge following from the locals, who enjoy using the restaurants and bars on a regular basis, it is very difficult to distinguish between resident guests and "outside local guest", we do try though to ensure our resident guests are spoilt "a little more"

With regards to the music playing, I recall the guests and they were playing music on there cell phone/mp3 player, we did in a very discreet manner ask them to "switch off" which they did. Again my Humble apologies that we didn't get to them faster.

Thank you again for your wonderful comments about your incredible stay with us.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

This is the most beautiful place I have ever stayed
We stayed here for four days on our honeymoon - just gorgeous
The bedroom was clean the food was amazing in every restaurant and pool was lovely the location was beautiful the weather was perfect
I love this place

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sophieknoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review about your stay with us at
The Oyster Box to celebrate your honeymoon. Congratulations!

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves, in particular the luxurious accommodation, the delicious food in The Grill Room and The Ocean Terrace and the relaxation of the swimming pools.

I hope it will not be too long before you plan your next visit.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

where do I start, we had deliberately planned the holiday so that each venue was a shade better than the last, Oyster box was our last stop, 4 nights of heaven, from the doorman to the pool attendant I cannot find fault, G and T in a bar that reminds you of Raffles with its in line fans, all the staff are immaculately dressed, not sure if this is very PC but it is what I imagined the colonial era would have been like, no politics intended. Food is fantastic, oysters and champers for breakfast anyone? it's all there for you, or they will just as happily boil you and egg if that is all you want, had my first 90min massage, I reckon I kind of flopped out of the Spa, none of my muscles wanted to work. If you are in Durban try the OB it is top notch

Room Tip: at the front overlooking the Indian Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msg101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments following your recent visit to The Oyster Box.

As your feedback is very important to me, I am thrilled to hear that we not only met your expectations, but exceeded them, from the efficient and friendly staff in their immaculate uniforms, through to the delicious food and luxurious accommodation.

I look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay with us.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I've rated the Oyster Box Hotel as 'Excellent' in the past. Our recent stay at the hotel was just as good as previously.
Every aspect of the hotel from the beautiful rooms to attentive service to the most exquisite library are truly extraordinary.
The Oyster Box sets the bar when it comes to luxurious and relaxing hotels.

Room Tip: The views from the sea facing rooms are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryE_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest

Thanks so much for your lovely comments about the Hotel, I am delighted your stays have been wonderful. We certainly enjoy having your parents stay, and particularly love seeing Mr Eckstein zooming around in his "Ferrari" with personalized number plates!

We look forward to welcoming you all back for his special birthday celebrations.

In the meantime, take great care, and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards


Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This place is spectacular,beautiful, elegant and breathtaking. The food is amazing and meals are offered daily(there is a Hooters across the street-lol) I would not miss a meal - I feel in love(and still crave) South African food. The staff is incredible - my mother actually passed away during my stay at the Oyster Box and the staff offered their condolences with the most beautiful Lisianthus flowers. I will never forget there warmness and compassion. Not to mention the lined in marble(passage ways) ,the hotel is sitting on the Indian Ocean , there are beautiful cabanas overlooking it and the light house sitting outside your balcony-the beach feels like your own personal beach. At night the water blows in through the passage ways and it feels amazing and dreamy (but be careful walking the passageways are marble) Oh! The dolphins- when they pass by they ring a bell and you are just taken away by there beauty....oh I could go on forever....

Room Tip: Get a cabana if at all possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments following your recent stay with us at The Oyster Box.

Please accept my heartfelt sympathies on the loss of your beloved Mother. I wish you much strength over this difficult time.

Your kind words regarding the friendly staff, delicious food and comfortable accommodation overlooking the Indian Ocean are truly appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,157 reviews
0.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
424 reviews
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
382 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel
Royal Palm Hotel
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Box

Address: 2 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $342 - $1,144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Box 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LEGEND LIVES ON… AT THE OYSTER BOX Standing proud on Umhlanga’s beachfront, directly on the beach and overlooking the Indian Ocean, the 86-room Oyster Box, is one of South Africa’s best-loved hotels. Renowned for generous hospitality, attentive service and exceptional cuisine The Oyster Box offers all the colonial charm and nostalgia of a bygone era, but with all the modern comfort and amenities. Dining venues include the casual ‘Ocean Terrace’, serving casual and al fresco fare and a Curry Buffet, to the legendary, fine-dining ‘Grill Room’. The ‘Palm Court’ serves a lavish, traditional ‘High Tea’ daily, with live piano accompaniment. The Oyster and Lighthouse Bars are the hottest spots in town for sun-downers.The Spa is equipped with six treatment rooms, a Hydrotherapy Bath, grooming lounge, plunge-pool, state-of-the-art gym, Infinity pool and Tranquillity Lounge and offers the latest in health and wellness teatments.Facilities include two swimming pools, a private library, luscious tropical gardens and an intimate, 24-seater movie theatre. The Oyster Box is KZN’s premiere wedding and honeymoon destination and the ‘venue of choice’ for the conference and business market.Time spent at The Oyster Box will leave you with magical memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Oyster Box reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Box Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing