We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond the "extra mile"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oyster Box

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Oyster Box
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beyond the "extra mile"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Our top management team was recenly hosted by the delightful and efficient Oyster Box team more particualrly in the person of Fayaaz. The experience exceeded expectations and as a leading South African corporate we are proud to be associated with this prestigious and genteel establishment where every occassion is made spectaculr and every guest is made to feel special. Dr Augusta Dorning - General Manager - Netcare (Pty) Ltd

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrAugustaDorning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your kind note following your recent visit to The Oyster Box.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you found everything to your liking. Our staff are passionate about ensuring every guest's experience here is amazing and that every guest leaves wanting to return.

Thank you for pointing out the staff member that stood out from a service point of view. I will be sure to thank him for you.

I thank you for your valued patronage and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,451
    140
    40
    14
    5
See reviews for
390
767
50
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

My stay at The Oyster Box was supremely wonderful. The hotel decor hints and old colonial and French Riviera. I had a Luxury Sea view room which was delightful. The bed was very comfortable. Quiet aircon meant a good nights sleep to the sound of the Indian ocean lapping at the rocks below. The area is very safe and I had no hesitation walking along the beautiful stretch of sandy beach.

I experienced impeccable service at all times, great cuisine, staff are so friendly, not at all stuffy. The breakfast is amazing and comes with a glass of champagne should you so desire. Staff were welcoming when my sister and her new baby in a buggy came to lunch.

Loved the spa, very tranquil. I treated myself to a facial and hot stone massage; both great.

An exceptional hotel.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend the sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michellesN2273PT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us at The Oyster Box.

I am delighted that you enjoyed yourselves, in particular the luxury sea view room, the location of the hotel right on the beach, exceptional service, delicious full buffet breakfast and friendly, efficient staff.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your treatments in our tranquil, award winning Spa.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

It's almost impossible to fault this hotel. From the receptionist who showed us to our suites; to the suites themselves with their long balconies and wonderful views; to the attention to detail in the furnishings and accessories; to the pool attendants who scurried round to equip our six o'clock swims; and right through to the concierge who ensured that our onward transfers were on time: all showed enthusiasm, commitment, and thorough training.

I would single out the Grill for exceptional food and service, even in the context of the overall high standards. A good wine list coupled with a very helpful sommelier, and a well chosen and varied menu, made our dinners a delight.

Just one thing that the management might consider: our last night at the hotel happened to be February 14th, which is always a busy night for restaurants. We enquired about dinner reservations on our first day, and were told that nothing was available. In the event, we enjoyed an excellent meal on our balcony, and no harm was done; but it's practice at some hotels to retain some restaurant reservations for resident guests on busy nights, and wondered if this might be a good idea to practise at the Oyster Box.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide me with wonderful feedback following your recent stay with us at The Oyster Box.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you were blown away with the wonderful accommodation overlooking stunning ocean views, the attention to detail throughout the hotel and the friendly and efficient staff, especially the exceptional food and service in The Grill Room.

Thank you for pointing out your area of concern regarding the Valentine's evening in the restaurants. As is customary for this event, ample space was reserved specifically for the sole use of in house guests, however, this year we were inundated with dining requests from guests and unable to fulfill all wishes. We will endeavour to increase capacities in the future to avoid disappointment. I am delighted to hear that you were accommodated with a special dining experience on your balcony instead, which you thoroughly enjoyed.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Our luxury room (room 303) had a fabulous view of the iconic lighthouse but I would not describe it as luxurious. It was well equipped but on the small side, with the bed, small armchair and desk squeezed in. Fortunately our suitcases fitted under the bed. The reception and concierge staff were welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was good but we found the restaurant disappointing in comparison to many others on our SA holiday. This hotel is expensive but is no match for the Cape Grace in Cape Town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzieNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on TripAdvisor with regards to your stay at The Oyster Box.

I was both disappointed and surprised to hear you did not find the size of the room suitable, however would love to welcome you back so that you may experience one of our Cabanas or Suites. We have 10 room types throughout the hotel catering for every guest’s needs.
I would be interested to receive further feedback you are able to provide with regards to the disappointment expressed in our restaurant, as this is an area we are often the most commended for due to our extensive menu, high quality of food and creative dishes that are often updated. We also cater to our guests should they wish to order something that can be prepared which is perhaps not on the menus. We constantly ensure we are competitively priced in line with the products, accommodation and service we offer.

Thank you for your kind comments about my Front Office team – I will be sure to share it with them! I would further appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back so that you may experience the high levels of service and comfortable accommodation we have become so renowned for! With this in mind; and should you be able to provide me with more restaurant feedback, please do not hesitate to contact me on wayne@oysterbox.co.za

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Oyster Box.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesbutg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

My daughter and I booked for a day spa and lunch at the Oyster Box in November 2013.
All very professional and pleasant-from the security guard at the entrance, to the receptionists, the therapist at the spa, the restaurant's staff.
We appreciate the high standards and quality offered.
The spa was absolutely perfect in all respects.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyaatMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit to The Oyster Box.

I am delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel, in particular the award winning Spa, The Ocean Terrace Restaurant and the friendly and professional staff throughout.

I trust it will not be too long before you pay a return visit to enjoy further special moments.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

My husband & i stayed for a week in February 2014, We totally enjoyed our stay, we made use of all the facilities, stayed in an ocean view room "wonderful" (highly recommend) from the cuisine in all restaurants, both the lighthouse bar & the Chukka bar to the spa and the pool services we could not fault anything. "everything was fabulous" The staff are friendly and helpful throughout our entire stay. Thank You we will defiantly go to The Oyster Box again.

Room Tip: The Ocean View is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review following your stay with us at
The Oyster Box.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you were thrilled with your luxurious sea facing accommodation, the delicious food in The Ocean Terrace Restaurant and The Grill Room, The Chukk Bar, The Lighthouse Bar, the award winning Spa and all the friendly and helpful staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in February . I like everything - luxurros room, helpfull staff, wonderfull view on Indian ocean , lighthouse, great cuisine, luxury spa...I fell very special, exeptional. I will definitely stay there again ...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalija M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay at The Oyster Box.

I am delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel and that the staff took great care of you throughout your stay.

The spectacular view of the ocean with the iconic lighthouse in the foreground make for a most memorable experience.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umhlanga Rocks
0.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.2 mi away
Aha Royal Palm
Aha Royal Palm
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#4 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Box

Property: The Oyster Box
Address: 2 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Box 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LEGEND LIVES ON… AT THE OYSTER BOX Standing proud on Umhlanga’s beachfront, directly on the beach and overlooking the Indian Ocean, the 86-room Oyster Box, is one of South Africa’s best-loved hotels. Renowned for generous hospitality, attentive service and exceptional cuisine The Oyster Box offers all the colonial charm and nostalgia of a bygone era, but with all the modern comfort and amenities. Dining venues include the casual ‘Ocean Terrace’, serving casual and al fresco fare and a Curry Buffet, to the legendary, fine-dining ‘Grill Room’. The ‘Palm Court’ serves a lavish, traditional ‘High Tea’ daily, with live piano accompaniment. The Oyster and Lighthouse Bars are the hottest spots in town for sun-downers.The Spa is equipped with six treatment rooms, a Hydrotherapy Bath, grooming lounge, plunge-pool, state-of-the-art gym, Infinity pool and Tranquillity Lounge and offers the latest in health and wellness teatments.Facilities include two swimming pools, a private library, luscious tropical gardens and an intimate, 24-seater movie theatre. The Oyster Box is KZN’s premiere wedding and honeymoon destination and the ‘venue of choice’ for the conference and business market.Time spent at The Oyster Box will leave you with magical memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Oyster Box reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Box Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing