We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of The Oyster Box

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oyster Box
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Took an elderly friend here for lunch recently in the terrace restaurabt as she had not visited since the refurbishment.. Perfect service, great food and everyone so friendly when we had a look round whilst she remembered the days when her daughters had their wedding receptions there a good few years ago.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garboSurreyWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your visit to The Oyster Box for lunch.

I am delighted to hear that both your friend and yourself thoroughly enjoyed your visit, especially the perfect service, delicious food and friendly staff.

We have a number of guests returning who reminisce and exchange wonderful stories of family and friends who have passed through The Oyster Box doors many years ago to celebrate special occasions.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,973)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,510 - 1,516 of 1,973 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

My wife and I recently spent un unforgettable 12th wedding anniversary at the Oyster Box. Wow we were blown away by this unforgettable experience.We were made to feel like royalty , yet still felt comfortable and at home in our surroundings . The friendly , super efficient staff are clearly very well trained and valued by their employer. This is reflected in the manner in which they go about their daily business , be it welcoming guests , dealing with a tricky guest or mopping the floor. We were welcomed into our luxurious see facing room with succulent fresh strawberries and dips of chocolate , whipped cream and icing sugar with a bottle of champagne . Bed time was a romantic surprise of rose petals scattered tastefully throughout the room and candles in the beautiful bathroom. We were so sad to leave.
The Oyster Box experience is without doubt a Bucket List experience .

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide me with some feedback following your recent stay at
The Oyster Box on the occasion of your 12th wedding anniversary.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you both thoroughly enjoyed yourselves and that everything exceeded your expectations, in particular the efficient and friendly staff and the luxurious accommodation offering a romantic turndown.

Our staff are passionate about ensuring every guest's experience here is amazing and that every guest leaves wanting to return.

I look forward to welcoming you back for yet another memorable stay soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I have been lucky to have been a guest to some of the best hotels around the world; the Oyster box easily tops the list. The staff are excellent (smiles and eager to help without having to ask). I booked a Villa (suit); what a experience! Classically decorated and we'll noise insulated. Private - heated jacuzzi came handy. The food, at the Grill House, was excellent.

My overall experience at the hotel was exceptional, I can't wait to bring my entire family for the experience alone. Do yourself a favor, book your stay, you will not regret it!!!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank Ronnie_RSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review following your stay at The Oyster Box.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time here and that the efficient and friendly staff took great care of you, all in all, exceeding your expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you back with your entire family to experience everything
The Oyster Box has to offer.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I recently arranged a group stay for my company - 60 guests half of which were from other countries at the Oyster Box. Nothing could have prepared me for this unforgettable experience. In my 12 years of arranging various trips all around the country, I have never been to a place where I actually felt confident in every single staff members ability to do their job well. From the front desk staff, to the waiters - every single staff member provides service above excellence. My conference, dinners, drink and even room allocations all ran 100% smoothly. Every single one of my guests could not stop sommenting on how the Oyster box truly made them feel special during our weekend stay. As 2 of my guests put it - they felt like Royalty.
I am very meticulous, and often look for fault when I visit a venue. I honestly could not fault one single thing at the Oyster Box, in my room (which had the most magnificent view), the restaurant, the bar - nothing. Everything was absolutely on point.
A very special thanks to angela Venniker - your service was outstanding. And to Claude and the rest of the staff at the front desk - Your eagerness to help was a breathe of fresh air. I cannot wait to visit the Oyster Box again, and this time will do so with my family so we can really enjoy everything the Oyster Box has to offer.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with your pets - go for a ground floor room, as there are some with a private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanniJSanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at The Oyster Box.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you all thoroughly enjoyed yourselves, in particular the efficient and friendly staff and smooth running of your group stay. Our staff are passionate about ensuring every guest's experience here is amazing and that everyone leaves wanting to return.

Thank you for pointing out the staff members that stood out from a service point of view, you can be assured that they will be thanked for looking after you.

I look forward to welcoming you back with your family to enjoy a most memorable stay with us.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is what I was looking for, on arrival I wanted to be met and received by somebody, a welcome cocktail, escorted to the Lighthouse Bar. Then met by close girlfriends for a surprise high tea with teas,coffees and wines. Platters of Asian and French starters, birthday cake, blowing of candles,singing and each friend having something to do and say. The presents were too much to carry and the service was just too professional and excellent. Of course this was planned beforehand by writer and Oyster Box

Seelan Naidoo - Food/fBeverage Manager and his team were magnificient, and therefore because of the excellent service I have confrimed the Oyster Box for our end of year departmental lunch . What I admired most most was the personal touch, care and comfort which was tops. Seelan Naidoo a true ambassador of Oyster Box. I will ask all my friends and family to visit and stay at the OYSTER BOX.

Room Tip: It was a High Tea, but definately woth a stay the next time round.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Prem R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide me with feedback following your birthday celebration
at The Oyster Box.

I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed a High Tea experience with all the delicious sweet and savoury items on offer. Perfect for a birthday celebration!

Thank you for pointing out the staff members that stood out from a service point of view, you can be assured that they will be thanked for looking after you. Thank you too for making The Oyster Box as your venue of choice for your departmental year end lunch due to the exceptional service you received during your birthday visit.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I had the pleasure of checking into this fine establishment. Way before one even arrives the service excellence begins, arrival preference forms are emailed to you and upon your arrival it is done , ready and waiting....

All staff that one interacts with,whether it be personally or over the telephone, make you feel as though you are truly valued as a guest at their establishment

The bed itself along with the luxurious linen lends itself to a great nights rest.

I thought I had enjoyed spa treatments, but never before had I experienced a spa, such as the OBH. I could quite easily spend a whole day there next time...Words do not do the spa justice.

My short stay to the hotel has definitely left me wanting for more.....

Room Tip: Any sea facing room is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbnguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at The Oyster Box.

I am absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your time here and that all the staff took great care of you throughout your stay. Our staff are passionate about ensuring every guest leaves wanting to return.

I look forward to being able to welcome you back for yet another memorable stay when you will again be able to experience further treatments from our award-winning Spa.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Oyster Box - My husband and I had the most wonderful stay. Everything is for your comfort and enjoyment. The thickest towels, softest tissues, crispest, most comfortable linen. Everything is just beautiful!

Room Tip: If you come to Durban you have to see the sea from your bed. Insist on a sea facing room, you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review following your visit to The Oyster Box with your husband.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here and found everything to your liking including the soft, thick towels, soft tissues and exceptionally comfortable linen.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to experience more of what The Oyster Box has to offer.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#3 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,205 reviews
0.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
#9 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
437 reviews
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
399 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel Marriott Durban Umh...
#13 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Box

Address: 2 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: $313 - $1,059 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Box 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LEGEND LIVES ON… AT THE OYSTER BOX Standing proud on Umhlanga’s beachfront, directly on the beach and overlooking the Indian Ocean, the 86-room Oyster Box, is one of South Africa’s best-loved hotels. Renowned for generous hospitality, attentive service and exceptional cuisine The Oyster Box offers all the colonial charm and nostalgia of a bygone era, but with all the modern comfort and amenities. Dining venues include the casual ‘Ocean Terrace’, serving casual and al fresco fare and a Curry Buffet, to the legendary, fine-dining ‘Grill Room’. The ‘Palm Court’ serves a lavish, traditional ‘High Tea’ daily, with live piano accompaniment. The Oyster and Lighthouse Bars are the hottest spots in town for sun-downers.The Spa is equipped with six treatment rooms, a Hydrotherapy Bath, grooming lounge, plunge-pool, state-of-the-art gym, Infinity pool and Tranquillity Lounge and offers the latest in health and wellness teatments.Facilities include two swimming pools, a private library, luscious tropical gardens and an intimate, 24-seater movie theatre. The Oyster Box is KZN’s premiere wedding and honeymoon destination and the ‘venue of choice’ for the conference and business market.Time spent at The Oyster Box will leave you with magical memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Oyster Box reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Box Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing