We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best lunch at obh”
Review of The Oyster Box

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Oyster Box
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“best lunch at obh”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

im a local that stays in durban it was my 1st time ever at the obh for lunch at the ocean terrace we had the curry buffet it was fabulous my wife and i enjoyed the service the view was just amazing and our waiter by the name of meshack and idian chap was really amazing product knowledge was to the T he made us feel really welcome and 4 the record im definitely going to be back and will definitely inform my freinds to join you guys for lunch at the oyster box would just like to say thanks meshack from mark for making us feel so special.

Room Tip: wouldnt know just had lunch on the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARK b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your visit to The Oyster Box.

I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the delicious Curry Buffet on
The Ocean Terrace and that our staff took great care of you.

We really appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,604
    151
    40
    18
    5
See reviews for
471
821
52
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have stayed at the Oyster Box Hotel a few times - I can only say from the moment you arrive until you leave everything is excellent! Attention to detail is also world class. I highly recommend this very homely Hotel!

Room Tip: Sea facing room is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyD163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at The Oyster Box.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, in particular the attention to detail.

I look forward to being able to welcome you back to your 'home away from home' soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Have spent 10 nights here across two business trips in the last year. A beautiful hotel that oozes 20th Century class and outstanding attention to detail. All staff are welcoming, friendly and extremely professional. Aside from ridiculously intermittent WI-FI connectivity the guest rooms are also comfortable and quiet. Make sure you get a 1st or 2nd floor room with Ocean views and pack your swimmers to utilise two great pools.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJSophieSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide me with some feedback following your stay at
The Oyster Box.

I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed yourself, in particular, the attention to detail and the friendly and professional staff. Our staff are passionate about ensuring every guest's stay here is amazing and that every guest leaves wanting to return.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Recently spent a wonderful weekend with my better half. The hotel oozes class and the attention to detail and service is world class. The rooms are well equipped (if somewhat on the small side) and superbly decorated. The food and general ambiance is of a superior standard. We will certainly be back!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your wonderful review following your weekend stay at The Oyster Box.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the excellent service and the attention to detail. Our staff are passionate about ensuring every guest's experience here is amazing and that every guest leaves wanting to return.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My wife and I have just spent 3 nights at this classic establishment and can't stop raving about the experience. I was celebrating a big birthday and the staff certainly made it an unforgettable experience. The service and special attention we received was unsurpassable. Our sea-facing luxury room was very spacious and comfortable and our every need and request was attended to promptly and efficiently. The breakfast spread each morning was delicious, as was the famous curry buffet. Dinner in the Grill Room was also very special, with impeccable service. The only false note was the fresh oysters ordered as a starter, which were way below par. Otherwise a flawless performance. The spa was another highlight, with a relaxing back, neck & shoulders massage as a birthday treat to myself.

Room Tip: Sea-facing is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind note about your recent stay at The Oyster Box to mark the occasion of your special birthday.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time here and that the staff took great care of you throughout your stay.

I hope that at some point, I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for yet another memorable stay.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

What an enjoyable stay! Elegant but not stuffy hotel right on the beach. A flute of Champagne on check in sets the mood here. We ate at the hotel 3 nights and had good meals every time. I really enjoyed eating outside on the porch at night. The gym is small but has floor to ceiling windows looking out onto foliage which makes it feel a bit larger. Still I was able to get in good workouts with their free weights and cardio machines. I had an excellent massage in the spa, wonderful High Tea in the beautiful lobby and slept to the sound of waves crashing. I seriously enjoyed my stay here. We had an ocean facing, ground floor room with outdoor sitting area. It was lovely.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodtrips01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide me with some feedback following your stay at
The Oyster Box.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves, especially your room, dining experiences in the restaurants, the delicious High Tea and excellent Spa treatment.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
484 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Had tried to stay here before but refused on principle as the hotel operated a double pricing policy – one for people from SRA and those from abroad. However, I managed to get a very good rate and stayed for a couple of nights. The hotel is really very nice with extremely well trained and accommodating staff. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. Sadly, I couldn’t get one with a seaview but perhaps next time. The public areas are large and imposing and on most evenings, have a great buzz about them, especially the Lighthouse Bar which has fantastic ocean views and equally fantastic cocktails! Anything negative? This is obviously a place to be seen in and consequently, has many pretentious wannabe’s staying here. Having said that, I very much enjoyed my stay here and would come again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Malim27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide me with feedback following your stay at The Oyster Box.

I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed yourself, in particular the efficient and friendly staff, the spacious and well appointed rooms and public areas, including the Lighthouse Bar with breathtaking views of the ocean.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,064 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
336 reviews
1.2 mi away
aha Royal Palm Hotel
aha Royal Palm Hotel
#9 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
267 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Box

Property: The Oyster Box
Address: 2 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Box 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LEGEND LIVES ON… AT THE OYSTER BOX Standing proud on Umhlanga’s beachfront, directly on the beach and overlooking the Indian Ocean, the 86-room Oyster Box, is one of South Africa’s best-loved hotels. Renowned for generous hospitality, attentive service and exceptional cuisine The Oyster Box offers all the colonial charm and nostalgia of a bygone era, but with all the modern comfort and amenities. Dining venues include the casual ‘Ocean Terrace’, serving casual and al fresco fare and a Curry Buffet, to the legendary, fine-dining ‘Grill Room’. The ‘Palm Court’ serves a lavish, traditional ‘High Tea’ daily, with live piano accompaniment. The Oyster and Lighthouse Bars are the hottest spots in town for sun-downers.The Spa is equipped with six treatment rooms, a Hydrotherapy Bath, grooming lounge, plunge-pool, state-of-the-art gym, Infinity pool and Tranquillity Lounge and offers the latest in health and wellness teatments.Facilities include two swimming pools, a private library, luscious tropical gardens and an intimate, 24-seater movie theatre. The Oyster Box is KZN’s premiere wedding and honeymoon destination and the ‘venue of choice’ for the conference and business market.Time spent at The Oyster Box will leave you with magical memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oyster Box reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Box Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing