We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious Beach Setting”
Review of The Oyster Box

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Oyster Box
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
JOHANNESBURG
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Glorious Beach Setting”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

For locals and overseas visitors this is a charming Hotel with old colonial feel. The decor is unusually tasteful. We stayed there with four teenagers and husband. From the minute you walk into the reception you are treated like Royalty. We ha a Ground floor suite Sea Facing famous light house, it was beautifully decorated and very spacious. The teenagers had sea facing rooms with balcony which were once again spacious. The breakfasts ate world class as is the dinners in the grill room. Lots of lovely restaurants around in walking distance which is ver safe. Beach good for swimming

Room Tip: Sea facing Ground floor suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUESUEJOHANNESBURG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with your family at
The Oyster Box.

I am delighted to hear that you all thoroughly enjoyed yourselves, in particular the intrinsic character and charm of the hotel, the spacious accommodation and delicious food offered in the various restaurants.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,582
    149
    40
    17
    5
See reviews for
458
814
51
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Oyster Box Hotel is one of the very rare and unique hotels in South Africa. It makes you feel at home yet at the same time you feel like royalty. The pleasant staff and breath taking view makes your stay a memorable and unfogettable experiance.
Thank you to The Oyster Box Team for your phenomenal dedication!!!

Room Tip: Superior Garden Villa has privated heated pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide me with some feedback following your stay at
The Oyster Box.

I am delighited to hear that my dedicated staff took great care of you and that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The location of this hotel is amazing! Overlooking the famous lighthouse as the sun rose was the highlight of my stay here, absolutely stunning! Meanwhile the opulence yet timeless atmosphere of the Oyster Box makes you feel as though you have been transported back in time. The staff are amazing and I could not fault a single thing! Sleeping with the doors open listening to the waves break was the best night sleep I have had in a long time.
http://www.karryon.com.au/karryon-opens-the-doors-to-the-oyster-box-hotel/

Room Tip: Definately book a room on the ocean side, with a balcony for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWriterKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at The Oyster Box.

I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your room with spectacular views of the ocean and the famous lighthouse in the foreground.

The staff are passionate about ensuring every guest's experience here is amazing and we all look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Oyster Box is the go to place for locals wanting impeccable service whether it be casual drinks on the deck overlooking the lighthouse or in the bar upstairs, high tea in the colonial palm court or dinner in style. Of course the place is hugely popular with overseas visitors too and as you stroll through the reception and lounge areas you will hear many different languages and accents.

The entire hotel shows mindfulness of the minute details in creating the ambiance of luxury.
High tea is a truly beautiful experience at the Oyster Box - from the attentive staff, to the delectable eats, to the black and white flooring, elegant palms and softly whirring fans overhead. It's a place to relax and enjoy some respite from the madding crowd.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providng me with feedback following your visit to The Oyster Box.

I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves, in particular the impeccable service, the relaxing bars and restaurants.

I really appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading, England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I took a group of friends for afternoon tea at the Oyster Box at the end of a memorable holiday in Kwa-Zulu Natal and it was just amazing. Having long been a fan of afternoon tea at the Mount Nelson in Cape Town, I didn't think it could get any better but the Oyster Box just blew me away. The setting is glorious and the food divine. The service was impeccable, friendly but unobtrusive in a distinctly colonial style. At less than £15 per head, this is a must for anyone visiting Durban and beats tea at the Ritz in London hands down.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meadwaytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing me with some feedback following your visit to The Oyster Box.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you were blown away by the wonderful atmosphere, delicious food and impeccable service at The High Tea held daily in The Palm Court.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Again, I have been fortunate to stay at The Oyster Box in Umhlanga and again it was a simply incredible experience. Congrats Wayne and the team for running such a first class show. The rooms are beautiful, the food is delicious and the staff are the friendliest and most efficient around. Taste the Beef Short Rib on the Terrace - sublime. This hotel is comparable to the best in the world. I will be back.

Room Tip: I stayed in a Sea Facing Cabana.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind note about your recent stay at The Oyster Box.

I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your time here and that the friendly staff took great care of you throughout your stay. I am delighted too that you enjoyed the delicious Beef Short Rib served on The Ocean Terrace which boasts spectacular views of the ocean.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for yet another memorable stay.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We attended a wedding at the The Oyster Box Hotel over the weekend, I am at a loss for words to describe the food, the service and the setting not to mension the view overlooking the lighthouse.
I would go out of my way to recommend this hotel to anyone, I really can't fault them.
Well done guys, we will definitely be back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bruigom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide me with some feedback following your recent visit to
The Oyster Box on the occasion of a wedding celebration.

I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves, in particular the delicious food, the efficient service and the beautiful setting overlooking the lighthouse.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umhlanga Rocks
0.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,047 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
281 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
330 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
303 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Box

Property: The Oyster Box
Address: 2 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Box 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LEGEND LIVES ON… AT THE OYSTER BOX Standing proud on Umhlanga’s beachfront, directly on the beach and overlooking the Indian Ocean, the 86-room Oyster Box, is one of South Africa’s best-loved hotels. Renowned for generous hospitality, attentive service and exceptional cuisine The Oyster Box offers all the colonial charm and nostalgia of a bygone era, but with all the modern comfort and amenities. Dining venues include the casual ‘Ocean Terrace’, serving casual and al fresco fare and a Curry Buffet, to the legendary, fine-dining ‘Grill Room’. The ‘Palm Court’ serves a lavish, traditional ‘High Tea’ daily, with live piano accompaniment. The Oyster and Lighthouse Bars are the hottest spots in town for sun-downers.The Spa is equipped with six treatment rooms, a Hydrotherapy Bath, grooming lounge, plunge-pool, state-of-the-art gym, Infinity pool and Tranquillity Lounge and offers the latest in health and wellness teatments.Facilities include two swimming pools, a private library, luscious tropical gardens and an intimate, 24-seater movie theatre. The Oyster Box is KZN’s premiere wedding and honeymoon destination and the ‘venue of choice’ for the conference and business market.Time spent at The Oyster Box will leave you with magical memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oyster Box reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Box Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing