We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Christmas to Remember”
Review of The Oyster Box

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Oyster Box
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Christmas to Remember”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Christmas with the family, away from home in a hotel in a foreign country does not sound like everyone's dream. The Oyster Box made ours outstanding. There is no shortage of things for the family (especially the kids) to do (beach, pool, cinema, town a short walk away). The food was out of this world and we all ate way too much! Christmas Day lunch was a special treat and will be a talking point for many years to come.
Everything was fantastic - the service, the friendly staff, the location. If you are going to South Africa I highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Villas are more spacious for families and although there is no sea view, you do get your own plunge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your most memorable stay at The Oyster Box and in particular your Christmas Day lunch experience.

I am delighted to hear that you all thoroughly enjoyed yourselves, including the children with all their activities and found the food, service, friendly staff and the location to be fantastic.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Oyster Box on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,548
    146
    40
    16
    5
See reviews for
438
803
51
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was lucky enough to have stayed at the Oysterbox hotel at the beginning of December, and loved every minute of it. The service, staff , food and festivity of the hotel during this period was outstanding. We booked an ocean view room, which was decorated superbly and enjoyed an wonderful breakfast the next day. I found the staff to be very attentive and made my husband and I feel like royalty. Even though this hotel is quite expensive, we felt that it was worth every penny and just wish we could have stayed longer as it really was a top class weekend.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are stunning to watch a beautiful KZN sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay at The Oyster Box.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves and in particular the service, staff, food, sea facing room with beautiful decor and holiday festivities.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2013

What a fabulous holiday we had this year at the gorgeous Oyster Box Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks!
We were welcomed by smiling, efficient staff who knew exactly who we were and what our holiday meant to us as we were celebrating our son's first Christmas. So special and thoughtful are the staff that they sent a mini Christmas tree to our room to decorate!!
The vibe on Christmas day was amazing, so traditional and happy. A beautiful display at the reception with a sleigh and snow machine just made it all more fun! The food was outstanding in the Grill room on Christmas day, with cheerful staff always around to top up our drinks and who kept the food coming!

Apart from dining in the wonderful restaurants we spent most of our time around the pools, taking in the spectacular views and enjoying the complimentary fruit and ice-creams which was delightful!

Although the hotel is pricey, it is more than worth it. The outstanding service, gorgeous food, spectacular location and the wonderful staff who are always willing to help with a smile I will recommend this hotel to everyone.

We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkiEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed Christmas at The Hotel, and all the festivities we offered over this period.

The Grill Room is a very special restaurant and Both the Executive Chef and I were delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2013

A seafacing room at the Oyster Box is the ultimate in luxury and style. The service, decor and sheer beauty defy imagination. As you arrive, the liveried porters whisk away your luggage which reappears in your beautful room. As you absorb the stunning decor, you just have to open the sliding shutters over the ocean - oh yes, the sea breeze and smell of the sea take your breath away. People fishing on the beach, a view up to the harbour entrance some kilometres away, the beach and promenade are all part of your first impressions. The village with bars and seafood restaurants vie for attention with the cocktail bar on the roof and the in-house dining. The staff were charming, humorous and welcoming. Lovely outfits!
We had a fabulous weekend, wish we could have stayed a month, the pool sublime...and the sheets...like a dream...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julefost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Ms. Fost,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay at The Oyster Box.

I am delighted that you were completely blown away by the location, luxury and style, service and decor, together with the immaculate uniforms of the hotel. The views over the ocean are indeed quite breathtaking too.

I do hope that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit to Mocambique.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Oyster Box soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballito
2 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our stay at The Oyster box was the highlight of our trip. The Hotel is beautiful with wonderful views of the ocean and a very welcoming atmosphere. The meals were excellent and the service very good, friendly staff. Overall enjoyed it very much and will definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLBuyze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to get in touch and provide some feedback following your recent stay at The Oyster Box. I am delighted to hear that it was the highlight of your trip and that you so enjoyed the entire experience of the views, the excellent food, the friendly staff and excellent service.

I have no doubt that whoever you recommend the hotel to, they will be just as delighted by the experience as you were.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Oyster Box in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
2 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

It was a friend's birthday and the dinner was to be held at The Oyster Box and so we decided to treat ourselves to a stay at The Oyster Box.

The Oyster Box is my favorite hotel, and I had previously been there to the Spa (heaven is the Oyster Box Spa - to de-stress, to treat yourself or just because you want to - it is HIGHLY recommended) and have been for High Tea, dinner in the Grill Room and have delighted in various meals on the Ocean Terrance many times. But I have never stayed the night.
We were not disappointed! The room was beautiful, and the view was to die for! The joy of being able to sleep whilst listening to the sea was very soothing.

I loved the private beach. It made me feel so important and looked after, and I can honestly say I have never been served drinks whilst on the beach, and as i am not a beach person, being able to sit in comfy seats and not on the sand was the best! I am told though that this is only done for the Christmas season, but it was a wonderful touch. I must commend The Oyster Box on the awning on the Terrace, for the hot Durban Summer, it's absolutely perfect!

The birthday dinner that night was on the Ocean Terrace. My partner and I are huge Curry Buffet fans but I must admit to feeling food envy when I saw my friend's langoustines. Luckily she shared them with me and I can honestly say that they were every bit as delicious as they looked, and i got to enjoy the curry buffet too! I highly recommend the Chicken and Prawn curry and the lamb vindaloo. My partner's favorite meal (butter chicken) did not disappoint and as usual, he ate way too much. :)

Our heavenly stay ended with the breakfast buffet in the morning. That is a whole experience on its own. I will definitely be back with friends for that treat!!

To all the staff at The Oyster Box, not only on this stay, but on all previous visits, you certainly do live up to your reputation! The service is always friendly and welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble. You guys are amazing. THANK YOU.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ruth971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne020, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review.

It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed so much of our festive season program.

We take great pride in offering the very best possible service, I am delighted you found the staff and service so good.

Thank you for dinning in our restaurants, we do appreciate your fantastic comments.


Kind Regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the oyster box hotel, was an amazing holiday that we will never forget! Very impressed in the exceptional food and service. With very efficient and friendly staff. The room we stayed in was beautiful with breathe taking views. No request was to big or too small, and skabanga just made our stay extra special. Will be back soon! Thank you.

Room Tip: Sea facing to the magnificent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britt V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your unforgettable stay at The Oyster Box. We are delighted to know that you were blown away with our service levels and the friendly staff, exceptional food and service, not forgetting the beautiful room with breathtaking views of the ocean.

Our resident cat Skabenga is certainly a favourite to all!

At the Oyster Box, we all strive for "No Request too Large, No Detail too Small".

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umhlanga Rocks
0.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
398 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
302 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Box

Property: The Oyster Box
Address: 2 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Box 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LEGEND LIVES ON… AT THE OYSTER BOX Standing proud on Umhlanga’s beachfront, directly on the beach and overlooking the Indian Ocean, the 86-room Oyster Box, is one of South Africa’s best-loved hotels. Renowned for generous hospitality, attentive service and exceptional cuisine The Oyster Box offers all the colonial charm and nostalgia of a bygone era, but with all the modern comfort and amenities. Dining venues include the casual ‘Ocean Terrace’, serving casual and al fresco fare and a Curry Buffet, to the legendary, fine-dining ‘Grill Room’. The ‘Palm Court’ serves a lavish, traditional ‘High Tea’ daily, with live piano accompaniment. The Oyster and Lighthouse Bars are the hottest spots in town for sun-downers.The Spa is equipped with six treatment rooms, a Hydrotherapy Bath, grooming lounge, plunge-pool, state-of-the-art gym, Infinity pool and Tranquillity Lounge and offers the latest in health and wellness teatments.Facilities include two swimming pools, a private library, luscious tropical gardens and an intimate, 24-seater movie theatre. The Oyster Box is KZN’s premiere wedding and honeymoon destination and the ‘venue of choice’ for the conference and business market.Time spent at The Oyster Box will leave you with magical memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oyster Box reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Box Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing