We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Oyster Box
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$171
$166
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Beverly Hills(Umhlanga Rocks)
$355
$344
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sibaya Lodge(Umhlanga Rocks)
$93
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
AHA Gateway Hotel(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
$115
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Palm Hotel(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
$178
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garden Court Umhlanga(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
$131
$111
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakers Resort(Umhlanga Rocks)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,074)
Filter reviews
2,074 results
Traveler rating
1,838
171
42
18
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,838
171
42
18
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscurry buffetthe grilllighthouse barhigh teaoysterswayne coetzerocean terrace restaurantoyster barresident catgarden villaattention to detailour waitersea facing roomcolonial styleindian oceanbucket listtreated like royalty
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,810 - 1,815 of 2,074 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2012

WOW! What a magnificent experience. The Oyster Box is old colonial splendour at it's best. The service was outstanding - champagne on arrival. The view, the bar with the underground wine cellar with a glass ceiling. The pools and not to mention the best spa I have ever seen. I felt like a queen during my one night stay and woudl love to go back again one day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ericksons4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Ms. Erickson,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at The Oyster Box. We are delighted to hear that you were completely blown away by the service in particular, in addition the view, the fantastic pools and our award winning Spa.

We do hope that you will be able to spend a holiday at The Oyster Box on your next visit to Umhlanga Rocks, affording you more time to enjoy the hotel to the full.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Wayne Coetzer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Outstanding friendly and capable service from every staff member.
Sea facing rooms spacious well appointed well designed and well serviced.
Food very good our birthday breakfast function a total hit.
We won't look further for our next getaway than Oyster Box Umhlanga where every T is crossed and every I dotted.

Room Tip: if you like the roar of the Indian Ocean front room is the place
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandhirons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Irons,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay at The Oyster Box. We are delighted to hear that you experienced fantastic friendliness and service from our staff and that you completely enjoyed your holiday, including a wonderful birthday breakfast.

We are proud of The Oyster Box and the experience of "home away from home" provided for our guests and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next getaway.

Kind regards,
Wayne Coetzer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

I would readily recommend this Hotel, if you are looking for a blissful relaxing indulgent and a nothing is too much trouble Hotel at the sea. Loads of atmosphere and really superb service from warm and friendly staff

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisatonini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay at The Oyster Box. I am delighted to hear that you found the hotel relaxing and the service superb.

With my warm and friendly staff, I trust that it will not be too long before we will all be able to welcome you back to your 'home away from home', The Oyster Box.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel is quite quaint as fas as five star hotels that we have stayed in and is definitely one of South Africa's best! Excellent food, linen quality and bathrooms which is what expect from five star! Service is intense and although very good borders on intrusive at times (hardly a major complaint)! Very well situated ! High tea is excellent but the chairs are so uncomfortable that it is difficult to relax and we were not the only ones complaining about this! Grill Room serves superb dishes and buffet breakfast is sublime! Lighthouse Bar perfect for sundowners! Nice pools Currently undergoing maintenance which could be off putting to some guests but we were not really impacted! ONLY REAL COMPLAINT IS INTERNET CONNECTIVITY IS SO POOR AND THE HOTEL COULD NOT FIX IT! Not good enough really for 5 star and they really should investigate better lines for the hotel is frequented by business people who need this service!

Room Tip: All rooms are fine with excellent linen but do not all have sea views!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryandGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review.

I was delighted to read you were happy with so may aspects of the the hotel, including the cuisine and service.
I am sorry the Internet was slow, I have addressed this with our service provider and we are making changes to ensure are guests are not inconvenienced again.

Kind regards

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Although a fantastically relaxed atmosphere this was a real 5 star experience. We recently attended a wedding which was superb, the food, the decor, the atmosphere were all wonderful as well as the rooms, the attention to detail the friendly staff, awesome food and incredible position. An absolute must if you get the opportunity

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful my brother stayed with sea view but we had garden view and all were gorgeous
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBHumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time in providing feedback following your recent stay with us at The Oyster Box on the special occasion of a wedding.

I am delighted to learn that you were completely satisfied with every aspect of the hotel, including the friendliness of the staff and the attention to detail.

I hope that I will have the pleasure of welcoming you all back to The Oyster Box soon.

Kind regards,

Wayne Coetzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews