We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view is just amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oyster Box

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oyster Box
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The view is just amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel is right on the beach, and you can leave your doors open at night, and hear the crashing of the waves!!

We stayed here for my wife’s 3 night birthday weekend. The thing that really stands out is the service, which was really amazing, extremely helpful to try and meet your needs. Secondly the food is just fantastic, every meal (breakfast, lunch and dinner), was just excellent! My wife is also vegan and often battles to get any variety, and she loved the food and the variety. Malcolm the Food and Beverage manager helped with other options as well and was always helpful and around the entire weekend.

They have a "old style" dinner dance on the Staturday evening, which I would highly recommend. Again fantastic food, and good music. You also can give the band requests. And they gave my wife a huge slice of cake with her name on it for her birthday dinner, and at tea the next morning again, so really special.

Another nice option is to order a picnic basket for the beach. We were having some family over, with a number of small kids, and the hotel prepared all the baskets (really nice spread) and carried and set up everything. We thus had a lovely relaxing afternoon and the kids could run wild!

The spa is also well worth it.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room, sea facing. Which was awesome. The great part was you could leave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon C, Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at The Oyster Box. I was delighted to hear you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards Wayne Coetzer General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,491
    143
    40
    15
    5
See reviews for
412
782
50
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I spent one night here and wished I could have stayed longer! Beautiful colonial decor and an amazing location right on the ocean. Absolutely wonderful customer service everywhere in the hotel. Delicious food (don't miss the afternoon tea and the curry buffet!) Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abritabroad_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon C, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at The Oyster Box. We take great pride in providing the very best service and nothing makes us happier than knowing the guest had a wonderfull time. I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards Wayne Coetzer General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

If your travels take you to the Durban area, this is a great place to stay. Convenient to King Shaka airport , wonderfully situated on the beach in a very upscale resort community. The Oyster Box has great rooms, great food, but even better service. Sydney at the front desk, and Stehen, the concierge could not have been more helpful in solving an iPad connectivity issue for us. The Ocean Terrace is well managed by Danny Govender. We would stay here anytime. I wish this hotel could be transplanted to the West Coast of the U.S.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vqdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon C, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear guest thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at The Oyster Box. I was delighted to hear you enjoyed many aspects of the hotel. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Lind regards Wayne Coetzer General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
180 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This upmarket hotel is situated in Umhlanga, about fifteen minutes drive from Durban.Serves lunch on the terrace with amazing seaviews. High tea is served in a lounge with a musician on the piano in a lovely surrounding!! Very colonial decor.

The Spa is situated close to the pool area surrounded by trees and chirping bird life-very tranquil! The reception and change rooms are on the ground floor. Treatment rooms are on the first floor. Jacuzzi and beautifully circular cutained restrooms are on uppermost floor ovelooking the hotel and pool from dark wooden Slatted windows. A turkish style steaming hamaam room is also available for treatment and exfoliation.

Lindiwe the masseur was excellent! Your feet are first washed in basin of warm water into which is inserted a stone incribed with "be enegised" or "be loved" for therapeutic value! Luxurious towels are provided everywhere as well as on the treatment bed. Lindiwe has strong hands and uses her arm, from hand to elbow to massage the back. Her hand then glides into your hands and into your leg. A very traditional African style massage I'd say.

A complementary snack buffet with fresh cut fruit, juices, water, cashew and pecan nuts is available on the first floor. Books and magazines are laid out on tables. Different flavoured teas with honey are also complementary in the relaxation room.

Ideal for whiling away a leisurely day, morning or afternoon.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ProudlyDurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon C, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear guest, we take pride in providing the very best service and nothing makes us happier that knowing you had a wonderfull experience. Our Spa is truly magnificent and we are very proud of it. I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards Wayne Coetzer General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Being upgraded to a suite is always a good start, but putting this bias aside this still has to be the best stay ever. If you are rolling in it go for a suite, if not any room will do - some may be small but are perfectly formed and the spacious public areas more than make up for it. Indoors and out - 2 pools, lush gardens and a stone's throw from the beach. Staff from cleaners up are a delight and the service friendly with a laid back vibe that permeates this classy hotel. Next time hopefully I can afford two nights!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dalearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon C, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at The Oyster Box. I was delighted to hear you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards Wayne Coetzer General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howick, KwaZulu Natal
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

What a luxurious experience spending a night at this beautiful hotel. We were treated royally from the moment we were picked up by the driver in Howick until we were dropped off again the next day. Wayne Coetzer is an amazing GM and leader. His professionalism filters across his entire team which manifests itself in superior service. The sea facing rooms are beautifully decorated, very, very comfortable and have superb views of the sea. The food is beautifully presented in abundant quantities. The screening of movies in the hotel's private cinema is very special and popcorn and sweets are available!!! The attention to detail is amazing.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyBenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon C, Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear guest thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at The Oyster Box. We take great pride in providing the very best service, and nothing makes us happier than knowing the guest had a wonderful time. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
kind Regards, Wayne Coetzer General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

A group of us spent an evening at the Oyster Box Hotel and the service was impeccable and the staff members outstanding. The food and wine consumed were fabulous. All in all an experience that we will always remember and hopefully we can do it again and again. Highly recommended !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieWils0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon C, General Manager at The Oyster Box, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear guest thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent visit to The Oyster Box. We take great pride in providing the very best service, and nothing makes us happier than knowing the guest had a lovely time. I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards Wayne Coetzer General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.1 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban Umhlanga Ridge
Protea Hotel By Marriott Durban ...
#13 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aha Royal Palm
Aha Royal Palm
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Box

Property: The Oyster Box
Address: 2 Lighthouse Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Box 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE LEGEND LIVES ON… AT THE OYSTER BOX Standing proud on Umhlanga’s beachfront, directly on the beach and overlooking the Indian Ocean, the 86-room Oyster Box, is one of South Africa’s best-loved hotels. Renowned for generous hospitality, attentive service and exceptional cuisine The Oyster Box offers all the colonial charm and nostalgia of a bygone era, but with all the modern comfort and amenities. Dining venues include the casual ‘Ocean Terrace’, serving casual and al fresco fare and a Curry Buffet, to the legendary, fine-dining ‘Grill Room’. The ‘Palm Court’ serves a lavish, traditional ‘High Tea’ daily, with live piano accompaniment. The Oyster and Lighthouse Bars are the hottest spots in town for sun-downers.The Spa is equipped with six treatment rooms, a Hydrotherapy Bath, grooming lounge, plunge-pool, state-of-the-art gym, Infinity pool and Tranquillity Lounge and offers the latest in health and wellness teatments.Facilities include two swimming pools, a private library, luscious tropical gardens and an intimate, 24-seater movie theatre. The Oyster Box is KZN’s premiere wedding and honeymoon destination and the ‘venue of choice’ for the conference and business market.Time spent at The Oyster Box will leave you with magical memories to last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oyster Box reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Box Umhlanga Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing